2 People Died after an Elevator Collapsed

33 53
Avatar for Grecy095
1 year ago

July 8, 2022

This is such a tragic day for the family of the two people who died when an Elevator collapsed in Burgundy Tower Makati City. It was early morning at work when I found out about this incident. Two out of four died and the other two were injured. Two out of four person will not going home for today because they are already gone.

As I was reading that report online, I prayed for the soul of the departed and praying also to let the other two live. Accident happens anytime anywhere. The location is just our office and I happened to see the fire truck who are retrieving the victims.

I am scared of elevator

I am scared of elevator. I think this is because of too much watching of action film where the elevator collapses and end the life of the thugs, living the lead actor to have bruises, but alive. I experienced before riding in an Elevator and had a brownout. That was one of the building in Pasig. We were trapped for more than 30 minutes. I can't breathe there. I thought im going to die. When the crew open the door of elevator, the elevator was in between 6th and 7th floor. They carried us out and just like in the movie, we were all scared because anytime the elevator will move because anytime the electricity will come back. Imagine the scene in the movie like Final destination where the bodies of the extra are cut in the middle because the elevator moved, yikes!! Omgee I am starting to see that in my imagination now. Stop!

I don't ride elevator

We have an Elevator at work but the floors are only up until 4th. I can ride the elevator and I can use the stairs also if I choose too. However, if the floors are more than seven, I don't ride an Elevator.

When I was applying job in Makati before, I always ask what floor is the location of the office. We all know the buildings in Makati could reach 60+ floors and some of the BPO industries are in the highest floors located. When the HR says that it is located on 20th floor, 15th or even 12th floor, I hesitate. I go to the day of interview and ask the concierge if I can use the stairs. If they allow me, I go for the interview, but if not, I go home and turn down the offer.

Why? Because when I am riding an Elevator and it is going to the highest floors, I collapse. If I stayed in the elevator for more than 15 seconds, it is difficult for me to breathe. I have fears of closed spaces, and it gets severe when one incident happened to me. I never thought I have problems in riding elevator.

It was year 2013 when I rode an Elevator at PBcom Tower in Makati City. I have to attend the interview at 24th floor. In that building elevators are divided. There are elevators for 1st to 10th floors, to 11th to 20th floor and 21st floor to the highest floors, and so on. I rode the elevator that will go to 21st to the highest floor since the location of the office is on 24th floor. While inside, with some of the people there, as soon as the elevator closed nad started to move upward really fast, I felt that my head was about to explode. I was near of passing out that I click the 6th button, but it didn't open there because the floor should reach 21st floor and will not be stopping on the lower floors. Good thing a lady notice me getting weaker that she push the emergency button and I don't remember anything.

When I woke up, I was in Makati Medical Center with an oxygen on my mouth. It was traumatic as the nurses was waiting for me to woke up. They told me that I was just revived. I don't remember if I died because I was revived, but the nurse said that I almost lose my life. I went home when I felt okay and my family didn't know it.

Since then I never ride an Elevator. When I need to a building, I need to ask the many floors or if the emergency stairs can be use. I always let the concierge of the building to know that I am not riding the elevator that they allow me to use the stairs and even accompany me once.

I even tried to ride an Elevator in a building that has 17th floor. It was 2015. I thought i already moved on from the experience, but as soon as I enter the elevator, the trauma started to come back. I can't breathe, I felt dizzy. I was holding on my neck and started sliding down with my back in the wall. An Elevator passenger panicked when she saw me almost passing out, then they push a button, it stop. What I remember was, I felt my head is getting bigger. I can feel my nerves on my nape and neck will about to get break. I hold my neck to stop it. I cannot talk anymore, because I cannot breathe. Since then, it is always negative for me to ride an Elevator.

I am not sure if this something to do with my ear surgery when I was young. It was bleeding so it was fixed. The surgeon sliced certain skin beside my tympanic membrane. Since then I have problems with balance. I didn't get deaf but it became sensitive. It doesn't bleed anymore but I feel there is something wrong. It was late for me to identify that there is a long side effects to what happened to my ear surgery. I am suspecting that my elevator problems came from it, or maybe I have some nerve problems.

I became cautious. I think this will make it hard for me to ride an airplane too. I will continue the elevator story on my future article.

Images are mine and Unsplash

Sponsors of Grecy095
empty
empty
empty

11
$ 3.80
$ 3.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
+ 4
Sponsors of Grecy095
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Grecy095
1 year ago

Comments

Oh its so sad to hear about two died because of that accident. It is also sad to hear your story and we dont know exactly its causes. Hopefully no more incident like it to you.

Me? just rode an elevator once and just one floor distance hehehe. I don't have a chance to ride on it here since i went to a mall just once in a blue moon hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope there is nothing like that could develop on you sis because it is very difficult if you are in my situation

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is so sad, this is one of the reasons kaya I prefer to use the escalator over the elevator. parang hindi kasi ako makahinga/

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pareho tayo, Di maka hinga. Di rin pala ako makasakay NG elevator na puno. Orkung puno, dapat ako yun nasa pinto

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's really heartbreaking incident, may their soul reside in peace. I'm also afraid of elevator because I feel that it's hard to breathe in elevator

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes truly it is hard since we cannot breathe freely and my head feels like I'm about to explode.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di mo tlga masasabi Kung hanggang kelan Lang and buhay. Kaya dapat enjoyin na natin at maging mabuti.

Meron din akong nameet dati sa Facebook na kapwa ko planner user. Takot din sa elevator. Parang di daw Kasi sya makahinga

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pareho kami, ako talaga naman parang tumitigil ako sa pag hinga na pag matagal na ko sa elevator like 15 seconds ganun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May tawag Dyan . Nakalimutan ko lang ung sinabi nya 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sad news about the death of these people, may their souls rest in perfect peace. I have to admit high elevator scares me too. The movie Final destination is a no no friend. I can't think about it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't watch that kind of movie because I always remember the gruesome scenes there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have seen it all and sadly I can't help the images.pheew

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Before I was so excited to experience how does it feels when you are inside the elevator, but after hearing some issues like this well actually this is not the first time but this scares me huh. Now I think it's better not to experience tho. So scary

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, we cannot avoid this to happen, there is always a malfunction when it comes to any type of machine. But I hope it will never happen again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya takot na takot din ako sa elevator. Di talaga ako mapapasakay dyan. Magtiis nalang ako sa hagdan. Dami kong naiisip noong once na sumakay kami. What if di na magbukas, or masuffocate kami, or bumagsak. Ay kaya ayaw ko talaga huhu. May their souls rest in peace.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dati wala akong issue na sumakay, kaso yun nangyari saakin sis, di talaga ako pwede na sa elevator, saka dagdag pa sa anxiety ko yan nangyari sa mga taong yan, nakakatakot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's better to have a sore foot going up stairs than feeling overwhelmed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is what I do, I am safer when I will just use the stairs rather than risking my life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yiiikes ear thing nga plus claustrophobia... Aww grecy!

Everytime i hear about elevator crash, I get a little shaken up for a while.

I used to work in pbcom and man those elevators there are as old as the building i guess. It works but it also conks out .... There were numerous incidents of getting stuck or experiencing the elevator go on free fall. Thank God I never experienced that. Shivers.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One thing that I don't want to happen again is to get stuck while there is no light inside the elevator. I thought Im going to die when I experienced that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Waaaahh adds to the stress no? Huhu. Hope nga na hindi mo ever na ma experience yun

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Anlaa grabi, halatang di talaga mabubuhay yaan base sa picture oi. Kawawa naman family nilang naiwan. Tsk. Bat ganon nalang kabilis mawala ang buhay ng tao tsk. Anyways nakasakay na din ako dito before. Dalawang palapag lang naman ata un. Madali lang, ayos naman first experience ko .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay lang ako sa mga 2nd flr to 6th flr, kaso pag mas matagal pa dun di ko na talaga kaya, nag papassout ako. Kaya kahit 31st floor yan, hinahagdanan ko na lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Luhh gusto ko maranasan 31st floor huehue kaso wala nyan sa amin aguy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, you are really allergic to elevators truly with all your experiences. I am not scared of the elevator at all, I enjoy riding on it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good for you and I pray that all elevator you right will be safe. I am just avoiding it due to my health issue.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amen, thanks for the prayer dear. It's good as you have avoided that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

kaya ngayon nasa escalator lang ang kaya ko sis, takot talaga ako sa elevator.. kawawa naman yung mga namatay..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya ko yun escalator. Di ko talaga kaya yun sobrang lakas na pataas, yun ganun kabilis, parang sasabog ulo ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Napanood ko to sa news, nakaka awa Yong PAmilya kasi sobra silang nasaktan sa nangyari, Sana magkaroon ng linaw lahat at mabigyang ng karampatang tulong.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Surely mabibigyan ng tulong sila sis kasi nag wowork sila nun nangyari yun accident. Nakakaawa lang kasi ang taas ba naman ng nilaglagan nila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am sad to hear about elevator collapse as it took the life of two people. I also hardly use elevator.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

me too, I really don't want to use it at all because of my health issue

$ 0.00
1 year ago