Could it be love?

16 47
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Love

It was just like any other day, I woke up bright and early feeling so enthusiastic about what the day had in store for me. It was the holidays so no classes to attend. I stepped into the living room and saw that my Aunt was still awake, she had come to visit, she happens to be a big fan of the Zee-World series, we knew when she was around, that's going to be the channel we would be seeing all day (unless the power cuts out or she goes to bed).

We had a roaster for chores at home, there were a lot of protests which led to voting spearheaded by my sister who used Dad's love as an advantage to cheat. That was how the roaster came to be, I didn't exactly like it since as the firstborn, I'd been doing the house chores single-handedly for a long time before these naughty siblings came to be.

You know how annoying it can be when you are about to do something, let's say wash the plates and then you hear mom say - "Great, go and wash the plates"? At that moment you would not want to do that chore again, yep, I can see you're smiling, you can relate.

Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Check out my amazing sponsors 

Anyway, I decided to do my chores to avoid such drama. When I was done, I got a call from my friend that there was a party going down and we should go together. Well, you guessed it, I agreed to go, why wouldn't I? I felt like if I had to stay one more day with my aunt screaming and insulting the Zee-World movies characters, I would lose it.

So, I fed my dogs and went to freshen up, wore my nicest shirt and jeans and I was out. Most people might find this weird but I think Black is the best color, hence why I mostly use black wears.

We got to the venue of the party, there were a lot of people my age there, every time I felt like I had the perfect conversation starter, I lost it again, so I just sat down in a corner, going through some funny Tiktok videos. Then I heard a voice behind my head laughing at one of them, I turned around and that was when I saw this beautiful lady.

"Can I sit" - she said with a voice so gentle, it made my heart settle, "by all means, please do" - I say to try and sound cool so she wouldn't notice just how nervous I was. Suddenly making conversations wasn't so difficult anymore, we joked and laughed around. It felt so free, could she be the one? Is this what they portray in movies as love at first sight? Is this love?

We didn't spend the day just staring at the phone, she forced me out of the corner to dance, we danced and we danced, it was very beautiful, a part of me didn't even want the party to end. I didn't even get her name, where are my manners.

"May I know your name" - I asked, "Elizabeth, but you can call me Lizzy", "my name is Great, but you can call me Great", this made her laugh out loud, oh those dimples, I later joined in. We exchanged numbers as we parted way that evening, a day to remember if you ask me.

You can imagine my disappointment when I was sharing this experience with my friend later that night and he told me she had a boyfriend. It felt like my heart had been shattered into tiny little pieces.

That would mean she was just being friendly with me and I on the other hand assumed something else. How do you go one being just friends with someone you love eh?


Would you say I fell in love too quickly, would you call that love? I still don't have an answer to this. The line that separates love from just being nice is so thin. Boys like myself can easily misread this as love. I think we should normalize being nice to one another (if that's even possible), there is no love in the street they say.

Thinking back on it, I would say it wasn't love, after all, how could you even love someone you barely know, I might be wrong as Disney is so rightfully portrayed in children's cartoons and fairy tales but what do I know?


This article was merely a work of fiction with a pinch of reality to portray a very serious issue that is spreading through society like a plague. It's not uncommon for a guy to even take a complete lack of attention from a girl as an indirect love message these days, it's so bad that it's alarming, you can share your thoughts on the matter.


Lead image source: Unsplash

6
$ 2.53
$ 2.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Lhes
$ 0.02 from @Freedom007
+ 3
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Love

Comments

I like black too, most of my tshirts are black.

I don't believe in love at first signt Great for me loved was develop as the days goes by. Well maybe you were only attract to her, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My favorite color is black also, I don't think is weird 😅. I definitely trying this next time I meet a new girl “ my name is freedom but you can call me. Freedom" .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it's attraction something that leads to Love but then one of the painful things one can experience is when you've got the wrong perception towards actions made by others. It's like going left when the person is heading towards right.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's one of the major issues youths are dealing with today when it comes to relationships.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can totally relate to that chore statement, sometimes if I know my mom would want me to do something, I would do it way earlier than necessary just to be able to say to her I've already done it when she eventually asks me to do so. I do agree with you, the signals are all mixed up and misread these days, we do need to normalize being nice to each other even when it comes to the opposite gender, it doesn't always have to have to be romantically intended actions all the time. Your story was really nice, its not easy finding people who are genuinely nice these days

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's what is really happening nowadays both guys and ladies are coming up with such reaction, but this really confuse people sometimes because it's so difficult to detect the fake and the real love. But most of them act this way when they normally have feelings for each other without voicing it out.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Love is a complicated subject

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the fact that she came to you and asked nicely .. honestly I know this is a work of fiction but I enjoyed thinking of it as real… they don’t make love like this anymore

$ 0.03
2 years ago

They don't make love anymore bro

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is love at first sight my brother and you know say you na fine boy na that is why she dey die for you o but no dull sha my man😉

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Person wey get boyfriend, ah no wan risk my heart

$ 0.00
2 years ago

False hope ahhkk hate those people including myself haha I used to be like that being friendly towards everyone who shows interest me then sometimes they misinterpreted my friendliness and thought that I have feelings for them haha.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah, this character is common these days and it's on both genders. But that's how love starts though, little by little friendship grows and before you know it...🙌

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are motivating me to take me chances eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My man, it is nothing order than love o hahahaha...otherwise, ho could she had just asked to sit beside you after watching your tiktok funny videos when it's obvious both of you had come with a different perspective entirely hahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

People like to see what they want to see, it's good for their ego. That's the only way it would make sense to see rejection as an expression of indirect love

$ 0.03
2 years ago