Rumors: My reaction

7 21
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

"It not about what they throw at you, it what you do about it" John Ramirez

I bet that some of us have had rumors about us. In our street, school or even our workplace. How did you feel when you heard the rumors about you for the first time?. Pissed off I guess, even though it was a false rumor. What did you do about it?

Just like people have professions like doctor, lawyer, teacher and so on, so do people also have gossip as profession. These gossip will always claim to be a source that saw or know it all. They sometimes stand bold in spreading these rumors and sometimes too, they hide their face to throw their mouth missile.

Rumors are disgusting but how we react to them matters, not just to people around us but also to our mental health. Even rumors that isn't about us need be treated as the same as if it were to be us.

Humans react with what they hear. If a person calls your name while walking in the street, you will have to look back because it is your name being called, but what if it was another person that has the same name with you?

You'll still respond to the calling but then on knowing that it not you being called, you'll have to continue walking. What we hear drags our attention wether directly or indirectly and just in exact the same way is rumors. Wether true or false, good or bad. Once directed at us, it calls our attention.

I have heard just few rumors about myself. All these rumor experience happened at school, none of them happened outside the university. It was all started by people that knows me, people I call my friends and not enemies. These experiences have made me strong and I have learnt so many lessons of life from them.

The most outstanding rumors I ever had in school was that of me and one of my young lecturer. I was just a common course rep that gets every information and class update from him and deliver them to my fellow classmates. Just all of a sudden, it went on a low key viral that I have a thing with the young lecturer.

The first time my close friend told me what was going on, I thought it was just a talk, not knowing that it has gotten to another level of rumor. It was the second day she told me about it and kept asking me suspicious questions that I decided to hear her out and read meaning to what she was telling me. Honestly, after he stories, I laughed out loud that she was surprised at me. I remember telling her that she should adjust her hearing from gossip about me. I told her that she knows everything about me on campus and that if the man in question had for once attempted to advance on me, she would be the first to know. As simple as that, she waved all she has heard and told me who the long mouth that has been spoiling my name was.

I still wonder how a big talk like that would exist without me knowing, had my friend not told me anything, I wouldn't know a single thing while I am in the same classroom with them. How magical does this rumors skipp the ears of the subject?

This is my reaction to rumors

When I hear gossip about me, at first I don't take it serious until maybe someone tells it to me the second time. When I eventually know the rumor, I feel less concerned because it actually a waste of energy to fight it. People can believe whatever they want to believe, and say whatever they want to say. One thing that always happens is that the people that know you will always come in person to ask you about what they have heard or rather hearing about you.

When I am innocent of what people say, it shakes no part of me. I stand firm to myself and continue with whatever I am doing. If I hear rumors about anyone else close to me, I take it to the person directly and ask them about it. One thing I found out is that people love twisting what other people said. They rephrase what they heard to the language that suites them and spread it like fire. There's absolutely no gain in doing that.

Rumors have caused fight and quarrel, it has caused depression to so many people out there.

Whatever people say about you that is untrue, never mind, continue with your hustle. This is me to the world right now. I have just heard a rumour about me in my street. It concerns me because it my name. I am the one whose name is mentioned, but what else can I do if not get along with my life while what is being said isn't true.

Thanks for reading lovelies and have a beautiful day.

Lead image credit: Taken from unsplash.com

Picture taken by me

6
$ 0.91
$ 0.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Bolaa
$ 0.01 from @TeacherLynlyn
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

Comments

People will always say what the like without thinking of the repercussions. When I hear rumors about myself, all I do tell the rumormonger is, if that's what makes you happy, then continue spreading it.

But there is this rumor am hearing on this site about you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For real.. that makes me more popular.. thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We should live the life we want and just don't care about the sh*t they are talking behind our back. We shouldn't let anyone affect us sis, they won't do any good.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We shouldn't let anyone affect us sis, they won't do any good. We should live the life we want and just don't care about the sh*t they are talking behind our back

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for this. If it were something needful, they would have said it to my face or in my presence.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a great article my friend, never let yourself be bothered by the rumors, just live and always choose to be happy all the time.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much for this. My happiness means so much to me 💖

$ 0.00
1 year ago