Cold city

10 16
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

These days have been giving me the opposite expectations especially the weather. For more than a week now, it has been cold days and nights without a serious rainfall. The rain has been falling and thanks to nature for that, but that is not how we want it. We prefer a serious rainfall that will fall heavily at a time rather than the one that keeps falling a whole day without seriousness, thereby limiting people's movement and spreading cold over the city.

This month of July is not known for this kind of rainfall anyways, it is always attributed to the month of August where the rain pours slowly and continuously for a week. I have just noticed that there are some adjustments to nature, though a little draw back in the adjustment but still close to the belief.

One Of them is "August break". This august break of rainfall happens annually. During August, there is a break in rainfall. The rain is expected not to fall for a long period of at least two or more than two weeks. These days, I don't think nature follows the calculation anymore. There has been a sudden break this July and elder people are calling it "August break". Well, I have no problems with that break but my little concern is the too much cold we would face by August. The cold is not funny now and by August it won't smile at all .

A lot of people have been battling with headaches and fever since last month and it keeps increasing. Sometimes, I wonder how people in the arctic region live in the cold. It read 19 degrees here and we are all complaining, what about some places that read minus? I wish to be there one day but not without my chinchilla jackets, lol!

From unsplash

A friend visited last week, when she came she was sound and healthy. We talked and had fun but during the evening, she began to feel blue. She started having a cold and was shivering on my bed. I was so surprised but when I recall how the weather was, I had to understand and do the needful. She was taken to the pharmacy who helped her out before going home. By the next day, she was recovered and when I was speaking with her on the phone, she was sound. She told me that before she visited the previous day that her sister was sick and treating malaria and typhoid (a common sickness in my country). This was happening after her mom and her elder brother treated the same malaria and typhoid that same week.

This evening as I write this post, I am fully wrapped up with my clothes. It's so cold outside right now, even the trees are cold because they aren't moving their branches. This must be another level of it. The worst experience for me now apart from mosquitoes is that there is no light. Unbelievable yes! There's no damn light now that we need it but we are way used to that anyways. Our solar panels are always there for us.

This is the best time to spend with my grandma in her hut. She has a modern house and a hut at her compound. During cold days like this, she stays in her hut mostly to keep warm with fire. She makes fire at the centers of the hut that lights up everywhere and produces warmth. This traditional method of dealing with cold is so perfect. Everyone loves it and wants to stay with her in the hut whenever she lights her fire.

Another thing she does is prevent cold, cough and fever by cooking herbs in her clay pot. She gets some leaves and barks which she cooks together and serves them hot. In her presence, everyone must take a cup and that's her rule. It doesn't matter how bitter or sour the herbs taste, it is compulsory for her household. According to her, she doesn't want anyone to suffer from a cold, cough or fever. It works for her because no one becomes sick during the rainy season. She's my herbalist forever.

Conclusion

Every weather comes with its good and bad side. We always want the best for ourselves even when seasons come with a difference. We should know what favors us and what causes harm to us. Right now in the part of my country, it is cold and freezing to some people. We need to take care of ourselves and counter the unfavorable weather for it must surely come and go and we will remain.

Thanks for reading lovelies and have a beautiful time. See you in my next article and bye for now.

Copyright Šī¸ Gianna-B, 2022 and all rights reserved.

Lead image taken from unsplash.com

7
$ 1.45
$ 1.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
$ 0.02 from @Bisolammy
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

Comments

I can feel your grandma because herbs are really effective when it comes to colds, cough, and fever. We experience cold nights here as well but not as cold as yours.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed, every season makes a different effect on our life. So whatever comes in our way, we should always be ready and take care of ourselves especially to our health.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're right that every season has it's a good and bad effect on everyone, depending on our health issue. For me, I don't like harmattan period because I'm asthmatic.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh, sorry to hear that. Rainy season happens to be my favorite too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Here too, we experience cold nights and I love it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Here too, we experience cold nights and I love it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sorry for the weather in your country, I also discovered your country is an endemic region for malaria. I hope your friend gets to do some test, so she will be sure of what she is treating for.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for the advice. It really important and I didn't even ask her about it. Thanks for reading dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is always important not to practice self medication

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for this

$ 0.00
1 year ago