Watching a Seagull Nest: Part 6

2 14
Avatar for Ghostcat
3 years ago

So, we´re now into week 6. Some interesting things have happened last week with these seagulls. As usual, you can click on my previous entries to catch up on my bird diary:

I´ve been keeping more on an eye on them as they practice their flight, especially since it has been really windy these past couple of days. Great climate for the flying beginner. So, far I haven´t gotten some luck because a) it was usually too dark when they did it, and also my battery had to be recharged ( tip, always have a spare one), so I missed some cool moments. But my patience paid off.

It actually flew at a much bigger height! I´m no talking like lifting from a small distance from the roof. I´m talking about the kind of flight that would allow it to fly to another building if it could.

Although, their still a bit clumsy, they have a tendency to fly with their feet lowered unlike the more experienced adults, which kinda affects its balance. But they're getting there. Also, one of them flew down to the next roof and up again.

Speaking of flying, I have lately seen different seagulls landing on this roof. It has been really chaotic, they been chasing each other. The parents don´t really like it when others land on their spot. But because it was so windy, a lot of exhausted gulls were desperate in trying to find places to land.

The funniest thing was watching their feeding time. One of the parents just regurgitated an entire fish, and not just bits and pieces of food.

One the gulls picked the biggest part of the fish and even almost swallow it itself if weren´t for the other sibling wanting its fair share too.

The parent came and took the rest because even adults need to eat too. I know I mentioned something similar before but here you can see it in action. It quickly gobbled up the fish and flew away from their demanding offspring.

The second nest has been pretty active too.

One thing that did worry me though, was one of them pecking on some wires that are attached to the antenna. they didn´t do it for long, so maybe it was a one-time thing.

There was actually a point where I practically saw all of them flying, it was very confusing, I couldn´t tell which was which since it was really dark. But they seem to have fun doing it, it made me happy watching them so.

Anyway, that´s it for today I really do hope to get an actual flight. Stay tuned for next week!

Thanks for reading and if you like my content feel free to support me here or you can tip and follow me on other sites through  Cointree


6
$ 0.09
$ 0.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Alther
Sponsors of Ghostcat
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ghostcat
3 years ago

Comments

You made sure to observed the seagulls without disturbing them. Nice shots

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it helps that i was watching from a big distance. having a zoom lens help

$ 0.00
3 years ago