Watching a Seagull Nest: Part 3

0 10
Avatar for Ghostcat
3 years ago

This is now week 3 of this series, where I share photos and document my observations on a seagull nest. If you are reading this for the first time, check out my previous entries:

So, at the start of the week, they are still kinda small, with a lot of that baby fluff that is characteristic of seagull chicks.

I also noticed there is a tendency for the chicks to hand around the windows in the roof. I don´t know it if becomes they are curious about what is on the other side of the glass or they just like the warmth. This place can get a bit windy and chilly during certain days.

Another interesting event I managed to see, was the protective and territorial instincts of the parents. There was this other seagull who try to land on one of the nesting roofs. But the mating pair proceeded to cry loudly as if to say that it´s not welcome there, so the outside left quickly. Unfortunately it happened so fast, that it was gone before I got my camera out.

They also seem to show similar behaviour towards humans.

The seagull always start crying out whenever one of the building´s inhabitants show up. I don´t know if it´s because it sees them as a potential threat, or they know that humans always leave out food. Speaking of which, if you read my previous post I mention a feeding dish that is left out for the cats. I haven´t seen it this week, and if I did it seems that one of the owners now takes it out as soon as possible. maybe they noticed that it´s attracting seagulls.

I also got to see them during feeding times. This is always the highlight of my day, watching the parents interact with their offspring.

But the best part of this week? Well, it´s this:

After watching one of the parents fly, the two chicks tried to imitate them. Their flight feathers haven´t completely grown in, yet they have already have a headstart on practicing their abilities.

At the end of the week they already this size, and have started to lose some of that fluff and have started to grow proper feathers.

That´s it for last week´s observations. Thanks for reading, and if you wish to see more of my Seagull entries, don´t forget to subscribe, upvote and comment, as I always love hearing about readers feedback.

Besides read.cash you can also follow and support me on Cointr.ee

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Ghostcat
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ghostcat
3 years ago

Comments

Your article made me rememberabout my birds and the birds on our attic hehe and chimneys also

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What birds do you have?

$ 0.00
3 years ago