Watching a Seagull Nest: Part 5

0 11
Avatar for Ghostcat
3 years ago

Let´s give it up for week 5 of my Seagull Log. I got really excited for last week´s events on my favorite bird nest. As always, if you´re new to this series here are the previous entries so far:

So, I got a surprise for you readers out there, one of the chicks managed to fly for a few seconds in the air! Granted it not a proper flight, but it was really cool watching it try. As you can see below:

She´s beauty, she´s grace....

The seagull in question is from the twin's nest, as I mentioned earlier there a bit more developed than the triplets nest, as they were born earlier. They spend most of the afternoon making more attempts.

Now the triplets nest hasn´t been all that active when it comes to flying, or maybe I just missed something. But here´s what they look like now:

Meanwhile back at the twin's nest. The two little ones have seemed to become more obsessed with grooming when they´re not feeding or trying to fly. I assume this helps them get rid of some of the leftover baby feathers to make way for proper adult ones.

They are almost never far apart from one another

There was also this one moment where one almost practically slide to other side of the roof.

Sometimes they can be found trying to fly in pairs:

I actually managed to see them interacting with their parents, this allows me to make a perfect size comparison. Look how big they are!

Despite their size they still pretty much act like babies, still dependent on the adults for food. I guess you can say the same thing about any teenager, too old to be considered a child, but too young to be considered a full adult.

Last but not least, here are some of the shenanigans that the chicks been up to:

How cute, sibling love.
Third Time´s the charm.

Thanks for reading and if you like my content feel free to support me here or you can tip and follow me on other sites through  Cointree


7
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ghostcat
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ghostcat
3 years ago

Comments