Watching a Seagull Nest: Part 4

0 15
Avatar for Ghostcat
3 years ago

This part 4 of my Seagull Log series. Where I show off photos and documents by observations on a seagull nest. If you´re reading this for the first time feel free to read the previous entries to be up to speed.

I wasn´t really kidding when I said early on that it takes them at least a month to be fully grown. I mean look at them:

There are getting closer to the size of their parents, their flight feathers are almost grown. They are also not as clumsy, although I have seen on them tripping and getting up again, it´s really cute. I showed this to my Mom, and she jokingly started calling them the Three Stooges, well the Triplets nest at least.

However, one thing that I´ve noticed is that the chicks of one nest (twins) are actually larger than the other nest. I believe that those Seagulls were born a week earlier, hence the size difference. Although it can be harder to see here because of the distance.

What are you looking at?

And here´s a really fun treat. Their wingspan has grown. So, much so that I think they are really this close to start flying. They are flapping their wings, not just to help them balance but out of observation of other birds. This sort of wing movement actually helps them strengthen their wings. They also made a few small jumps, nothing big but it´s a start.

We are in the flight phase now folks. I hear that we´re gonna have a windy week, which is perfect for these pilots in training. Stay tuned for next week, when you´ll get to see their flight attempts.

Thanks for reading and if you like my content feel free to support me here or you can tip and follow me on other sites through  Cointree

10
$ 0.16
$ 0.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ghostcat
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ghostcat
3 years ago

Comments