Responsibilities: Reason why you should be grateful.

38 45
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

I was having an interaction with @KennieKing through a post on noise cash and we somehow switched into a discussion talking about responsibilities, @Princessbusayo also stated what she was facing with responsibilities. My mind went far thinking about those things but I think we aren't looking in the direction we ought to be looking at.

Responsibilities can bring delay to one journey in life, I have been there, I am still there and I know what it feels like to have so much to do within the family.

Early last year, I talked to one of my old-time friends who is a big boy living on the island. He got my number from another friend saying that, he had been looking for me for a very long time.

I was happy, we spoke a lot and he promised to help me financially to start a business since I had no job. After the discussion, he asked about my family and I said we were living together since I got a three bedroom flat in Ikorodu.

He started vomiting nonsense, when will you stop being too concerned about family?

Why would you live with them?

Don't you know responsibilities bring setbacks?

In the end, he said, "Dee, you are too young for this. I have known you for over a decade and you have always been this family guy, you need to think well about it so that you can grow in life".


I was shocked, I didn't want to have issues with him, not because of the help he promised but because I wanted my story to prove him wrong.

Little did I know that he bluffed about everything he promised and he wasn't looking after his family, that didn't hurt me but everything he said that day still rings in my head.

Is it possible to ignore your family when they are in need?

It is easier to look away but someone with a good conscience won't do that. As simple as the word is, it means a lot to me and whenever I refer to someone who we are not blood related a family, my siblings know I can go to some lengths in helping such a person.

Leaving your family to go through shit while you are living fine doesn't make sense to me because there is no point in you living a better life when they are not.

The most annoying part is making your parent look like they wasted their efforts raising you, I have seen parents who give everything in life to give their kids a good life and it hurts when the child chooses that he doesn't want to be around them because of their responsibilities.


I was young but I see everything when my mom usually sells her clothes to these people they call "paro", she gets money and uses it to cater for me and my siblings. I believed that she see those kids as her cloth in the future that's why she did all of that.

How does it now feel when the child chooses to stay away from her just because he doesn't want to cater for them?

I wouldn't deny the fact that there are days I wish I could run away from the responsibilities because it is too heavy for me but I remind myself about how far we have come together and now is not the time to quit because our struggles are almost over.

There shouldn't be regrets when taking responsibilities because there is a beautiful reward at the end of it, it doesn't have to be from the members you have helped directly.

What if that's one of the purposes why you are sent into that family?

This is one thing I have always thought about because I am of a strong belief that God brought me into the world for a purpose, he could have made me a rich man son but he knew that my family needs someone like me and he gifted me to them.

I have seen people who choose to have fun with their friends when things are getting smooth for them, they go about doing one for the DJ one for the hypeman forgetting the people who were with them when they couldn't afford a bottle of coke.

They have forgotten that these friends won't be there for us when things aren't as good as they should be for us.


I once mentioned a guy who was arrested by EFCC because of internet fraud, only his mother and siblings were running up and down to help him out. Where were the friends he was balling with?

Since it was God's plan, why would I run away from it?

Not doing it would be a sin so I just have to remind him always that, he planted me here for a purpose and he mustn't forsake me and I bless him because he has always been faithful.

Some people have this responsibility and can't cater for them so if you have it and can handle them even though not 100%, you are favored, and instead of complaining, you should always be grateful to God. In my case, I will never be ungrateful to God because he always meets my needs and never disappoints me when it comes to my responsibilities as the first son of the family.

If you can take care of your responsibilities, you should be grateful to God instead of complaining about them.


There is no point in doing what doesn't make you happy because your happiness is what matters a lot, if helping your family doesn't make you happy then don't do it and if it does make you happy, keep on doing it.

It is funny seeing myself giving a life I never had to the ones behind me but it gives me the joy to see everyone happy and that inspires me a lot in life.

I hope you all had a good day, it is raining here and I am enjoying the cool weather.

I made this earlier today and you might want to know why...

So just connect with me on noise cash.

https://noise.cash/post/18n3znrw, I might be coming to prepare this at your house.


Lead image.

19
$ 8.94
$ 8.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
+ 17
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

Words! Words!! Yours are the words of cowries placed on the essence of responsibilities. I would love to meet you, my friend. My dad equally stays in Ikorodu. Although, I'm a fresh graduate of the University of Benin, currently working in Benin. We should meet up someday.

Some guys deserve serious spanking. Well, I won't waste bandages of wisdom on the wounds of cowardice. One thing is sure. You reap what you sow. Someday, when they become parents, they will eat the same Egusi soup they gave to their parent(s).

" Na breakfast. Them must collect"

Thanks for this content. It's an amazing piece.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Only cowards run away from responsibilities. When you take care of your family you will be rewarded for sure. So you arr a good cook too.👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whoops, this your soup is tempting...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Responsibilities are part of our human life, we all have responsibilities that we shoul be great that we have it, like being a responsible daughter, a responsible student, etc... Being a responsible person is one thing that we should be proud off.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes I feel tired of helping and providing for my family. I feel like I am leaving myself behind because I prioritize myself. But then again, I think of the sacrifices and culprit they have given so all of my anxiety and doubts wash away. They are the reason why I'm striving hard so I am forever grateful to them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Conscience is really matter for being irresponsible children. Thats what a tradition as a filipino.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I sometimes wanted to ignore my responsibilities to my family .. But my conscience is eating me up.. So even if it's exhausting.. Still.no choice but to continue.. Sigh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it's great that you find joy in helping your family though as a son it's not really your responsibility, but rather it's a give back to your parents/family. Are you a first born? That's a first born mindset usually.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Family is everything for me. I don't even have an option. The sacrifices they made for me is countless. I will be an ingrate if I forget them...This article makes me want to write about the sacrifices my siblings and parents made for me at different times.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can understand all that you have written because as a first son of the family,it's not easy. Many times I look at my brother and shake my head that ha, na man this guy be. He is always there to cover up the space of my parent and that's why I can never forget him in my life. We are nothing without our family, if we are billionaire today and we do not remember our family, we are nothing but just a paper. Family is what makes us who we are and will forever be part of us. The person who forget his or her family will surely regret it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Being the first child is not easy, you are just like a small parent. Our family spent their lives building us for the future, when the future comes we mustn't let them down .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right about this brother, hmm. They have truly invested in them and except a great return.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seeing as I am the first child of my parents, responsibilities followed me right from birth 😂 I still can't fathom how some persons are able to abandon their family and leave them to suffer while they live large, it's one thing I will never do in this life.

But boss, how come you just display egusi soup for us at the end? It's like you want to take responsibility for my stomach this night 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is cross for almost all the first child and they shouldn't worry because they were made to lead.

No vex bro, I hope you enjoyed the meal after reading the article? 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I enjoyed the meal sir, I even drank water after reading the article 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha please come and prepare this at my house o... I might not let you go again if not for your wonderful cat fishes hahaha.

Responsibilities... Hmm... No one is too young to bear it because life has its way of making an adult out of a young boy and responsibilities can make that happen.

I heard and even saw of a lady many years ago when I visited my cousins in Ogijo. She used the latest Blackberry then and you need to see the way she dressed... Eye catching and you would want to either be her friend or date her. If you see the house her parents were living... In fact, she was living in the same house with them and yet she couldn't even help them fix the roof because it leaks when it rains. She was determined to keep up with her appearance rather than help her family out.

I got to know of her story when she came to my cousins' house and I said hey to her. We both struck that eye connection thing and got her number. I chatted her up on BBM then and the first thing she told me is she needed 20k to fix her phone. Na so I run. Told my cousins about it and that was how they narrated her story to me. I was shocked.

If only many people would think like Esther in the Bible that said, "Maybe I was here for a time as this..." Like you said, maybe that's why God sent you into your family... Most people don't see past themselves... They allow social standards to rule them and it's sad.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the point bro, this social standard of a thing is misleading them. They care about what people say about their appearance while they have nothing back at home.

I can bring the pond over sir, we just need space to place them. That's all

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🤣🤣😂😂😂😂😂😂 bring the pond, please... As long as I get to watch and feed them too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is fun watching them feed.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely. I love when they rush to eat 😍😍😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This guy, you still put this your egusi soup here 🙆

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Not everyone saw it on noise, who knows maybe you might give me a contract just to prepare egusi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Leaving your family to go through shit while you are living fine doesn't make sense to me because there is no point in you living a better life when they are not.

Absolutely agree. Not sure why someone would choose not to accept there are responsibilities and simply allow others to suffer, while just their presence alone could help on some occasions. I guess it depends on the kind of upbringing a person may have, still I find it not right in my mind.

$ 0.07
2 years ago

Some people are just cruel, I have seen these things very well when children go out living large and their parents are suffering somewhere... To bad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with all you said but the only thing I'm interested in is that beautiful delicacy of Egusi soup with pomp. Where in Ikorodu do you stay? I wanna come for mine.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lolz, in all this one wey dey ground na only egusi you see. No wahala. How are you feeling???

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have too many responsibilities on me that I'd rather not talk about as I mostly prefer to take my mind of them; being without parents is really tough and having to stay strong to put things in place is even tougher.. I'd rather talk about the Egusi in the picture... my health is better now.. I repeat Where in Ikorodu do you stay o..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very close to itamaga, sorry about your parent. I know-how heavy the burden can be and you should be happy that God has been helping you lift the weight.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One thing I am so sure of is that when you help your family, God will keep blessing you. I don't see a reason why I shouldn't cater for my family when I have it with me. Why am I then brought into their midst? My Joy is to see my family happy with what I do for them.

The prayers alone I get from them is enough for me to keep going. Just keep doing what you have been doing George and God will definitely keep rewarding you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

God will continue to bless others who put their family into consideration, we won't let the responsibility weigh us down instead we should be grateful and tell God to never let us down with our responsibilities.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Responsibilities are just too much for us but that shouldn't make us run away from our family who made us who we are today...we just need to stay with them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We have to fight through with them, we were once dependant on them and we shouldn't pay back with cruelty.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have been going through that phase too but I have now am in my 30s and things are going slow and painful too. I think responsibilities are fine but people trying to take advantage of you is not good though :(

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I wouldn't take it if someone takes advantage of me but I do a lot of things willingly, 30 years is a long way. I am close and I hope things get very good before that time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is someone who has no conscience that can leave his family behind in their time of need. The truth is that only your family that can ever love you truly.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The love between members of the family is strong and we mustn't break it because of responsibility, God placed us there for a purpose.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It makes no sense when it's my time to take responsibility of my parent and I will now avoid it . Even though it is not easy for you , try and do your best. They are the reason we are alive today

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They have sacrificed a lot for us and we mustn't hesitate to do the same as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago