Random article: George and Food.

43 44
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

I gave up on writing today but someone came to my rescue, I had a topic right in front and wasn't seeing it because I had something else in mind.

I couldn't resist what nature was offering me, I slept for 4hrs today and no one woke up because they knew it is usual for me to sleep that long. Immediately I woke up, I had to rush to the farm because there was electricity and it was an opportunity for me to change the pond water since I don't know when next there would be electricity again.

I was lamenting when a friend on the platform told me to write about @JonicaBradley prompt word for the week, it was a better offer for me since I couldn't develop what I had in mind.

What comes to your mind when you talk about food?

It is something we fill our belly with just to have strength, stay healthy, and others. Without deliberating, we will all agree that food is one of the basic needs in life but it hurts to know that inflation is making feeding a bit difficult these days.

Aside from the benefits, it does to the body, would you have believed that food can do more even though it might just be a coincidence?

I remembered a story my dad told me a very long time ago, it has to do with food. He said when he was younger, not skipping meals saved his life.

How is that possible? The event took place on a Sunday.

After service, the church had a program somewhere far from his town and he was selected among those who will represent the church.

He was excited because it was a long trip and he would be able to see places. The church had a small vehicle then, it would be used to transport them.

He was standing by the vehicle when his dad called home and asked if he has eaten, he said no. His dad instructed him to go and eat first before going for the trip, he became sad because there is a big probability of him missing the trip.

He felt reluctant but had no choice because he can't disobey his dad, he rushed home but when he got back to the church, the vehicle had left. He was angry and left the church in anger, he wasn't happy with his dad because it looked like he intentionally prevented him from going on the trip.

Those who went on the trip didn't return that day, on the second day a group was asked to go to the other town. They returned with sad news, the vehicle had an accident and no one survived it. The news spread like wildfire, it got to my dad's area and it was hard to believe. He ran to the church to confirm it and it was true, he ran back home in tears to beg his dad because he could have been in that same vehicle.

The death of others didn't make him happy but he couldn't imagine himself among them. After that day, he never joked with his meal and he passed that idea to us.

I remembered when we were younger, he would ensure we ate at home before going to school even though we were late. It became part of us but as we grew, we started seeing the other side of the story because obedience was what saved his life.


Enough of the story...

I don't write about food content because a lot of people don't fancy it, I wouldn't say I am good at cooking but I love sharing my cooking experience a lot. People who know me from Uptrennd can testify to that, I share my cooking almost every week because I find so much happiness in doing that.

Learning how to make my meals didn't come easy and I will surely share what made me learn how to cook at all costs, some events happen in life and it made us make some quick decisions in life. Today, I can confidently make foods I never thought I would be able to prepare.

Vegetable soup.

At a point, I became the chef during the school day because my roommates were always reluctant to cook. I gather money, go to the market and make the food, they usually don't know I don't get to pay for my share since I was doing the stress and it saved me a lot of time.


Questions I have been asked due to my love for cooking.


Don't you find cooking stressful?

A lady once asked if I don't find cooking stressful because I do cook every night when I returned from work.

Making snacks for the family.

My answer was simple, I don't find it stressful because I find happiness in it and if I have my way, I would eventually own an eatery for local meals.

Wheat meal and vegetable + egusi soup.

Why don't you eat from food vendors?

I am more concerned about personal hygiene and it is what discourages me from eating from vendors, most of them are not what they claim to be. The big vendors are not excluded, I prefer making my meal.

It is one of the reasons why I usually invite my girlfriend mostly to my house and I make the meal on special events. That doesn't mean I don't go to eateries, I just do that once in a while.

Plantain

What is my favorite food?

I don't have a favorite food but there are some food I can't go a week without eating. Those foods are my favorite and it includes our local meals, my body demands them whenever I don't have them for just three days.

I love rice or spaghetti with spicy stew and fried fish or meat, I have a long list of meals so I would just stop there.

Ekuru (white moimoi)

I think I am done writing on this, feel free to ask me whatever question that has to do with food and I will definitely answer it.

To be part of the prompt, check this article below.

https://read.cash/@JonicaBradley/writing-prompt-20-food-dbe8b015


All images belong to me and it has been used in different articles before now.

Thanks for reading.

14
$ 7.79
$ 7.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 10
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

I’m almost always too lazy to cook, but at the same time I want my food to look appetizing, even if it’s not very healthy.

$ 0.00
2 months ago

I seriously need to learn how to cook soups, see as that vegetable soup of yours got me salivating 🥺

You got good culinary skills boss, the foods you posted looks like it was made in one top restaurant in Lagos 👏

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I made them inside my small kitchen, those people are not doing anything special. They use packaging to extort us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm telling you, it's not like they add any special ingredient

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So rice, spaghetti and fish or meat are your favourite foods, but I am glad to hear the story of your dad, his obedience saved his life. Food is what we can't stay without and I am glad you love to do cooking.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, I am sure you love cooking as well. Obedience is a very good thing we must keep as our habit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please where's your house located..I need to eat those meals you posted.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I stay in ikorodu and you are welcome if you want to have a taste of my food.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Benin to Lagos

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is one challenge I know you won't struggle to write on hahahaha. Cooking comes easy for you. I couldn't write about this prompt because the only thing I would write about would be Plantain and eggs 🤣🤣😂🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lolz, I don't believe that you can't cook except you don't find it fun.

Plantain and egg??? You are a master chef sir.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Stop mocking me 😭😭😭 master chef for plantain and eggs?

That's true... I just don't find it fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your wife would really enjoy you. The ekuru is making me hungry ooo. I love it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lolz, why do women like men that cook????

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know at times a ladies love to be pampered. It's kind of romantic having your guy doing the cooking for you at times, while you relax.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think guys(we🧐) that love cooking deserve a special place in heaven, maybe the heaven kitchen for continuity. Lol. I just love cooking right from time and it has saved me a lot especially in my school days, it's more economical to buy food stuffs and prepare than going to restaurants.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true but people don't understand that eating from the restaurant consumes a lot of money.

Aside from that, you are not sure of the hygiene so that made me avoid eating outside as much as I can.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The food made me starve.. I need to grab some 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am coming to Philippines with some recipes, we are having a feast.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are like my husband who likes cooking. He is a wanna be chef and he loves cooking for the whole family whenever he is on vacation.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's cute, honestly cooking makes a man romantic. Do you admit that?

I have seen women admire men because of their ability to cook.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have this thing of food in common, I don't see cooking as stress at all, but can you consume like I do cos I dey eat trailer ooo😅😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I do eat a lot when I was younger but my belly can't hold much these days, I don't know why.

Maybe we should just host a food challenge.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We need to host ooo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cooking is not stressful one because u will find it to yourself that u give love what u cooked.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, you don't find things stressful when you have passion for what you are doing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Trueee. The passion though🥳

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to be like you😂 i hate cooking and every attempt i made before failed. I've started learning though, i hope it pays off

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Seriously, you don't cook at school? I believe it would be nice if you put your mind into it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I cook but it's always noodles or Concoction rice, and it's just to pour everything together and wait.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's the basic if you can do that, you can cook any meal in the world 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am curios of that plantain sir ,is that a banana?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is fried plantain, I love it a lot but it is expensive now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really?? Cooking isn’t stressful I’m a girl and I find it stressful I really do not like to cook very much

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It sounds funny when females say cooking is stressful, well I am used to it. Been doing it for about year's now and I am always excited doing it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How on earth does a guy not find cooking stressful, really George??

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't know, I just enjoy what I am doing. That's all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My appetite has been aroused by these photos..they sure do look nice and worth eating!

I noticed that you mentioned changing pond water. I am aquaculture student and I have fishes too. I would love to see how yours are doing!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nice to meet you bro, I will be sorting on Saturday so I will definitely make a video. I actually learned how to do this on the street, I am willing to learn from you if you allow me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will be looking forward to it. I am a girl though!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's cool, we can exchange contact right? Just asking if you don't feel cool with it, there is no issue.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have no problem with it! That's okay with me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

08188195709 whatsapp

$ 0.00
2 years ago