Lost in Realm of Darkness.

23 76
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

I do dream a lot but it was the first time I got stuck in the dream world and it looked like the passage to reality has been shut on me.

I could feel myself struggling to stay alive in reality while I was in hard combat with this bizarre creature in my dream. I could hear my siblings trying it hold me down, everyone was screaming "wake up, George" but I was out-powered by this scary creature since it moved like the wind.

I could feel its claws tearing down my neck because it strangled me hard.

Suddenly, a huge light appeared from the sky and this silly creature disappeared into the thin air. I was relieved and was there trying to catch my breath with my head bowed.


The light approached me and I took off thinking, another monster was here to finish the job but all effort trying to run was a waste. Despite the speed and strength applied, I didn't leave the same spot until the light got to me.

The light reached me and became a human figure but it was too bright and I couldn't make a perfect look at it. I could hear it talking and it made me terrified because the words were too heavy for my ears but it told me to pay good attention to everything he said.

We started a conversation after I was sure it wasn't there to kill me.

It said, "I am the light god" and I have chosen you to prevent darkness from entering the world.

I started laughing because a lot was going through my mind, how would a weakling like me be chosen for such a task. Moreover, I am not a soldier or someone with the super ability, I am just an ordinary farmer trying to make ends meet.

I can't confidently kill a cockroach especially the flying ones, it drives me crazy so why would someone think of me as a protector of the world.

I was about to speak out my thoughts when the god of light said that he heard everything running in my thoughts and his presence got scarier.

I went on my knees to beg for mercy, I made it clear that I wanted to just return to my family.

The god said, the only option I had was to defeat this darkness and I asked why?

He continued, this demon escaped from our planet and we have been tracking it for some time. We discovered it wants to come and dominate the earth, it needs to overcome a body here in the dream world because it would be its passage to the world.

This demon will wreck the world, it would take down the economy within three days and the only way to stop it is by defeating it before Halloween night.

A portal from our world to the earth opens on Halloween night every hundred years and it would be the demon's passage after it has conquered the soul of the protector.

All these things looked like someone was narrating a story to me, I wish I could just wake up to reality so that everything would be over.

He continued...

You can't return to the world until you defeated it because it has sealed your passage back to reality. You should accept the challenge now before it gets too late, you won't only get stuck here but there won't be a world you will be returning to.

He dropped a staff as a guide for me and told me what to do if I needed to see him again, I was in deep tears because everything was confusing.

I was about to ask another question when the light move towards the cloud again, I was at the same spot for God knows how long.

In reality, I could see my siblings rushing me to the hospital but I couldn't tell them what was going on in the world I found myself in. The doctor told them I was in a coma and they should pray very well while they give me treatment to keep my body alive.

I could hear people crying, I wish I could tell them I was fine but it wasn't possible. I felt the need to do as instructed by the god of light, I set out immediately to search for the demon before it attacks again.

I picked up the staff and felt a special strength immediately, the first thing I observed was that the staff took me anywhere I thought of and it helped my movement very easily and fast. I checked everywhere but the demon was nowhere to be found, I didn't give up until I got to the top of the mountain where you can touch the clouds.

I was carried away admiring the clouds when I noticed the strange movement in the air, I challenged whatever is out there to come forward and this creepy creature came forward, seeing it gave me goosebumps because it was scary.

I was trying to control the effect of its appearance on me when it attacked, I took me out in one strike and I had to play dead so it could let me be but my plans failed. It kicked me into the ocean of dead and I struggled to get out.

I could hear voices screaming my names but I didn't let them get into my head.


I called on the god of light again and he came around, I narrated what happened and the disappointment in his voice said it all.

god of light: How could you have let that happen, you have just put humanity at risk. Don't you care about your loved ones, you don't care about anything out there, your mom, brothers, wife, friends, unborn kids, and everyone out there.

Your forefathers fought and conquered, I expected you to be stronger.

The word forefathers rang a bell, I asked with tears and mouth trembling. Do you mean my forefathers also fought this demon?

He replied, "yes they did and conquered, they become the earth savior and they must be disappointed in you as we speak".

Everything got me more emotional, I was cold and tears were flowing from my eyes into the air.

god of light: Tears won't do anything, you have only one option left to save the world.

I quickly lifted my body, what is the way out? I asked.

god of light: You have to sacrifice yourself into the portal when it opens, your soul would occupy it and prevent darkness from going into the earth.

George: Do you mean, I will die in the real world?

god of light: Yes, you will.

I was shocked because he sounded like giving up one's soul was that easy.

You can't do this to me, sir, my family will never get out of the shock if I don't wake up.

He responded, the choice is yours to make and he went high into the sky again.

I wish I could tell someone a story in the hospital but it wasn't possible, I even overheard the doctor saying I was aging. How is that even possible, I have only been in this dream for maybe three days.

A few moments later, I saw a tiny hole forming in the sky.

It was getting bigger every second and I heard a loud voice shouting, "the hour has come".

It didn't bother me because I wouldn't give my life in exchange for anything but on the second thought, what would happen to my loved ones in reality when the demon takes over.


The hole was big enough now and I could see the dark demon from afar, it wasn't in haste because it thought I was dead. I said to myself, you have to do this and immediately I thought of the portal, the staff took me there.

I entered and that was all, the portal started shutting down. I could feel my spirit traveling through it and I felt consciousness in reality but the god of light was there before me.


He said, " that was a brave move" the portal was your passage back to the earth and if you had been selfish, you will be stuck in that dream while darkness roam freely in reality.

I didn't believe it, what if I didn't decide to save the world?

He continued, you will be shocked when you fully gain consciousness but you still have the strength of youth. You must have grown older in reality because you have crossed realms you weren't suppose to reach but don't panic.


After those words, he stood up and entered into a wall right in front of me. Immediately, my eyes opened. I was able to shift my body from the spot it has been for days, it felt like I had sores all over my body.

My mom was the first to notice, she hugged me while others were running from one end of the hospital room to another.

She kept asking, what happened? You have grown gray hair in just four days.


George was about to open his mouth when he realized that he couldn't remember anything from the dream.

I can't remember anything mom, they were both in tears. She said, "You look exactly like your father, twenty years before he passed away. I am happy you came back to us regardless of what might have happened".

The doctor walked in with a smile, he checked my vitals and was surprised. He asked how it happened but no one could explain, all he could say at the end was happy Halloween.


This is my entry to @Theblackdoll Halloween contest. To know more about it, visit the link below.

https://read.cash/@Theblackdoll/day-20-of-31-days-of-halloween-halloween-contest-392d1d7e


I wasn't prepared for this but I felt inspired because I haven't written a fiction story for some days now and the rewards are cool, I want your honest review about the story...

#Halloweencontest2021

Click on the images to see their sources...

Lead image...

Thanks for reading.

15
$ 15.93
$ 8.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 7.04 from @Theblackdoll
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 12
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

You DID it it George... Congratulations :)

$ 0.06
2 years ago

Are you serious? I saw the tip notification now and I feel really happy about it, God bless you abundantly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your post made it for you, you should be very proud of yourself :) your thought process is amazing :) Bless you too

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Just that picture already brought chills to my body! So spooky...I just hope I don't get scared when it gets dark.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Man Just reading this made me feel like I'm stuck in like a 90's fantasy-horror movie........ actually worse the I felt like I was trapped in an episode of the twilight zone.......... that's soooooo freaky man really really freaky.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looks like in the movies.. That was great. Goodluck to you 😁 I'll post mine later

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There is a deadline but I know you will catch up but you will end up winning 😲, promise to split the reward with me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is actually one of the best entry I have seen so far. Nice one boss

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot, I am yet to read other entries but I will surely do that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This story is just too perfect; I could imagine the scenes and felt like ones in the story. I think this should be made into a movie.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Are you serious man? I came up with this idea in less than 10 minutes but I was delayed writing it out.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dreaming isn't reality,some are true and can a prophecy of things to come soon

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I really don't want this coming through, it would be really stressful and I don't like stress.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Feels like I am watching an horror movie and it is so interesting. This is really creative of you George.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am blushing, I never thought it made sense while I was writing it but I really appreciate your review, it means a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my goodness!! This is creativity at its peak. I'm I watching a movie??? this is so entertaining and i must say that I enjoy reading this.

My mind was just skipping and I was like what will happen, will you be able to conquer the demon so that you'll return back to your family? What of if you don't return, what will happen, i kept asking myself different kind of question while reading your article and put on grin on my face when you took the brave step to defeat the demon. That's the sweetest part of the story, the other parts are just so scary...lol

Of course, your relatives will be surprised when you came back to life and it will indeed be a great joy for you to see the world. At Least the Halloween will be celebrated happily.

Thumb up for this ...πŸ‘

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's dear, I feel excited about your review. It was not easy putting the pieces together, what do you think about the aging part? Does it make any sense?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The aging part is strange anyways, but I just wish you remain like your are before without any changes. But since the god of light assured you That you'll still have the strength of a youth , I don't think it gonna be a big problem but you'll definitely feel disturb why it's like that.. That's just my own thoughts about that one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Brilliant... just brilliant... I thoroughly enjoyed your post.. thank you so much for participating and good luck to you :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for hosting this, it should definitely drill out to do something outside the box.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is scary especially with the images you added. I'm not a fan of horror movies or stories so I'm not in the right place to judge,but i must say this is a wonderful piece.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for your honest review.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😱😱nice write-up

$ 0.00
2 years ago