Just about me.

22 50
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

It was a beautiful Sunday, I didn't believe that I was stuck to Kdrama all day. The previous week hasn't been the best for me, I lost motivation to write not because of the market condition but there wasn't this will to write. I wasn't completely offline, the motivation to write wasn't stable so I write when in the mood and engage with other things when the mood is gone.

There wasn't much to share today so I made up my mind to share some questions I answered somewhere over the weekend.


From your childhood, are there experiences that stand out?

There are lots of childhood memories for me and I do be writing about good and bad memories I can't forget so easily.

Bad Experience

I lived in a rural community after the Ikeja cantonment bomb explosion in early 2000, my mom and siblings had to relocate. It was the first time living in such an environment so everything amazed me.

There was a time I heard some adults talking about smoking a hole to kill a rabbit, it was weird so I decided to try it out. There were lots of dried farms because it was the dry season, I saw a hole on a farm while passing so I went to take matches to start a fire.

It was meant to be a small thing but the fire accidentally got out of hand and I had to run away, the fire became huge and it attracted attention.

I told my mom, she dragged me back and we met people trying to contain the first. I was beaten and warned never to do that again, it was a scary experience because my heart was pounding seeing the fire grow.


A good experience.

My primary school graduation party came with lots of gifts for me and my mom fulfilled her promise by marking my birthday for me.

It was a great day because she did it out of nothing to fulfill her promise and make my only celebrated birthday a memorable one.


My favorite holiday.

My favorite holiday was the last time I spent with my dad, it was during December and we were on holiday.

He came from abroad during his leave, we went to spend a few days outside the City. It was a great reunion because I haven't seen him for a long time before that holiday and unfortunately, it was the last so I still cherish the moment a lot. I have enjoyed more holidays after then but it is hard to let go of that last beautiful moment.


The food I had no choice than to eat.

It is called Abacha, the first experience I had with it wasn't good but I later loved it. The first time I ate it was in 2011, I usually go to work at a factory on a new site with a friend.

There are no food sellers around because the place is far from town so a woman volunteered to bring something for us that day, we were expecting something huge and it turned out to be Abacha, I found it hard to eat it but I didn't want to feel like an ingrate so I and my friend force ourselves to eat it. Many years after I told an Igbo friend about the food while discussing and she promised to prepare it for me again. It was different this time because it looked like Jollof and I enjoyed it.


How does "knowing too much" benefit or harm you?.

I learn more than I talk because I am a slow learner so it is hard for me to express myself easily except I am writing. I don't know too much, everything I know isn't enough and it is pointless to show off when I can learn more.


Is it better to forget the past?

The past is part of me and it is had to let go of it because there aren't just sad moments there, letting go means I am doing away with the beautiful memories as well.

Another thing I cherish about the past is the lessons life has taught me before now, they have been a guide all through my journey. Doing away with them will hurt me in the future.


What are the three best things about you?

I am obsessed with cooking:
I really don't know if this defines me but I love to cook a lot. It is one of the things I love doing even when I am down, it is not a great deal about me but I love doing it every day.

If I have my way, I would own a food brand one day.

I write stories a lot:
Story writing is something I love doing from time to time and it is sad to know that a lot of people including myself do not like to read stories especially when it is approaching 10 minutes to read.

I have written a lot across different platforms and even did a collabo with some of the platforms, I sometimes don't think about it but it just flows naturally.

A man with a big heart: I was diagnosed with an extra-sized heart, isn't that weird. A lot of people have these conditions but they aren't aware of them and the way to know if you have it is how much you help.

I love to help people when I am in the position to do so because it is one of my purpose in life.


The lead image is a throw picture of myself, thanks for reading.

16
$ 2.79
$ 2.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JustMyRambles01
$ 0.05 from @Pantera
+ 8
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Comments

You have a beautiful heart George, and knowing you is a blessing. I have been absent for too long and it is so good to read your articles again. I love sharing your memories and journeys, our lives are very different but also so much the same.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I actually opened your post on a new page and reserved it for the night, I feel good seeing you around.

Thanks for always putting a smile on my face.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha oh boy... That farm issue must be really scary. Funny enough, that bomb blast, we were at the beach when we heard it because we came to visit my Uncle at Ojota that time. That was when we heard it as we left his place. His roof, some part even came down, according to him.

You were really lucky with the farm thing. It could have been worse. Those rabbits, their heads must be strong hahaha.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That day was hell, I was still a kid but the memories are still very clear. People died in our street then and it wasn't an easy thing.

Those rabbits had powers, I wasn't even sure if there was anyone there but I knew that there is a hole and there could be rabbit. It could have been a snake, I was so dumb.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂😂🤣🤣😂😂 you wouldn't have known either because you were small. It's totally understandable.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have asked my mom many times to prepare abacha for me cos I had not tasted it then and she kept saying she would until I had to eat it out one day and I liked it. Since then, I've been buying from time to time until I ended up eating one that was bad and it left a sour taste in my mouth

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lolz, not everyone prepares it well. Sorry about the bad one, you should learn to prepare yourself. That would be very great.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're right, I have not really thought about that. I will learn to do it and soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You would have hated the food forever, if the lady you met didn't prepare it again for you, I know she prepared it more than, the one you ate in the first place. Bad memories are easily remembered, because it's always a red letter day.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

First impression matters a lot, I am glad someone eventually prepared the meal for me the right

$ 0.00
1 year ago

some of what you tell is your past, so make your past a lesson, a lesson so that we can be better in the future. let it be a memory.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The past is a lesson we must hold on to, the lesson learned will definitely have an impact in the future.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That bad experience of yours really got to me, thank goodness no life was lost. Abacha is actually a really nice meal, I guess that woman just didn't know how to properly prepare it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

My heart stopped multiple times that day, I really wished I didn't do it but curiosity landed in that trouble.

I guess she just prepared it in a wuruwuru way

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i feel the same way everytime I watched a korea drama. I tend to focused on what I am watching to that point that I forgot to write an article haha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The series are always interesting you wouldn't want to stop watching it until you seen it to the end.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omg...the experience of fire exploding out would be really bad. Good to know that you are best in cooking.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am not the best at cooking, I just love cooking. The fire incident really scared me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Despite the bad past I guess there is still some good memories that we should keep

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's true, no matter what have been through in life there will still be memories that we can let go and it can be good or bad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

what kdrama are you watching right now? i, too was struck to kdrama lately. i am watching "tomorrow".

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I actually went back to restart Jumong, it is an old series.

$ 0.00
1 year ago