If I could travel back to stop time.

14 45
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Recently, I made an article for a contest about my first love. I said in it that some things aren’t just meant to be in life and it is best when we get over them quickly and move on with life but it definitely wouldn’t hurt to take a glance at the past, beautiful memories can’t be removed from the brain so quickly.

If I could stop the time at a point in my life, I will travel back in time to 1999. It would interest you to know that I was barely 5 years of age but I still have scrambled memories of some beautiful moments I would have loved it lasted forever, this isn’t just about me; it has to do with my family.
I was born into a happy family, my parents were the best in the world, and the love they shared made life beautiful for their kids. As young as I was, I grew up seeing them do things together; the family was a happy one.


Dad was full of energy and my mother dedicated her life to being a good wife and mother at the same time, they were always supporting one another. I saw my dad do house chores then just like I love to do them now, we weren’t rich financially but we had love and happiness in abundance. I have seen them engage in heated arguments but it doesn’t last long before they got back together, I didn’t know how I was able to understand a lot of things back then but there was much transparency in the family.

They supported each other from time to time, dad worked at a company while mom owned a cold room. The whole family was always at the shop on Saturday, we do our homework together and there was this great bond in the family. We spend lots of time together and we usually feel the absence if either dad or mom is away for some time, we were just like the croods.

Dad got the opportunity to travel out and I could remember us going to the embassy on different occasions, it was meant to be a family thing but we couldn’t go due to financial reasons. Mom disposed everything she had to support him, it was a good thing for the family but it turned out to be the first step at ending the love in the family.

Probably they wouldn’t have put too much effort into the traveling since it became the beginning of the end of the love and happiness, he went abroad and that was all. It’s been 23 years and that beautiful family hasn’t spent 6 months together since 1999, I wondered what they could have achieved together supporting, loving, and caring for each other. There are many times I wished he was here to hold our hands and guide us as a family but those are just dreams, I am grateful mom never allowed us to feel his absence but it hurts not knowing if she misses him or not because she hardly talks about it, everything about her today has to do with her kids.

He is married again probably with 4 kids if I am not mistaken and if I could reverse time, I will go back to stop the time in early 1999.


Mom had to go through a lot, it is not easy for a bird to fly on a wing but she did even in the absence of her spouse's love. It would have been great seeing my both parent grow old together in great love, they have reasons to be happy today but wouldn’t it have been better if they were together? I honestly don’t know.

I will use this opportunity to plead with people who go in search of greener pastures never to forget their loved ones, always remember the people who sacrifice everything for you.

I miss him and still him, I will be able to tell him this when our path crosses again.


The post was submitted as an entry to a contest and it first appeared here.

Lead image

14
$ 4.81
$ 4.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 7
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Comments

This is so sad, if it's so possible to reverse back the hand of time. There are a lot of memories i would have loved to erase and correct. So sorry for what you are going through all this time.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Life just wanted us to experience a lot of these things so that we can learn lessons and be a better humans, if we could go back in time many of us still wouldn't learn from our mistakes.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehe. I pity those that wouldn't learn from thier mistakes if they were given another chance correct their mistakes. The next mistake they will make will be greater than the previous one.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my! This is really saddening to hear. Your mom is a strong woman to care for you and your brothers despite what happened. She never allowed those moment to weigh her down not to take care of you guys. See where you are today.

Seriously, it would have been the best if you could just go back to stop him from traveling since you know it would be the end of such beautiful love in your family.

I hope you guys see again so you can let him know how much you have missed and want him around you all. Sorry about this, George

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I recently told my mom that if I start building my house, I will make dad room and she laughed...

He is still part of the family, I hope he realizes that and makes amendments as well. Thanks, my princess.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmmm....this is something that I seriously have to discuss with my future husband first before we get married cos I'm not open to the idea of being separated for my husband for anything more than a month. Infact a month is me being to kind and in that month he will come around and see the family.

I can only imagine how you feel. It's not an easy thing to deal with but you guys have made it this far and you'll make it to the end

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I don't buy the idea of couples staying separately for any reason, it creates cracks and it's an opportunity for things like this to happen.

Thanks for the prayers, human will always be human but God never forsakes us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seems as if I was watching a movie, but a true life story, that's so sad. Everything was sweet from the beginning and suddenly everything changed, and your mom was Left alone to carry the burden herself, it's not an easy task task at.

She go through all the challenges to make sure his kids are doing fine, may God reward her for all she do , I pray that she will live to reap the fruit of her labor... Hopefully, one day, you might cross path with your father again, but will you be happy when you see him???

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Why not? I will? His absence didn't make much of a difference, he is still my father no matter what happens.

I say amen to your prayers.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It would have been easy for your mom to just disappear too or marry someone else, but she didn't because she love her kids, she's indeed a hero not all mothers are mom, some are super mom, I pray she enjoy the fruit of her labour.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

She is a protective person and doesn't want rivals for her children, I guess she knew having another husband might cost her to split her feelings.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

great article mate. I think everyone has a moment in the past when they want to go back to a good moment.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Everyone does, so sad just have to live with these things no matter how bad we want to change them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes you are right . no matter how hard and sad it is, we should not give up and make the world beautiful

$ 0.00
1 year ago