Financial discipline plays a big role to success.

33 76
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

I always thought I don't deserve to write about some topics because my life is not worth being a model for someone and only the wealthy ones deserve to be our role models but there is little knowledge we have learned trying to make life a bit better for us from what it used to be.

How would someone who can't boast of $10,000 give lectures about finance? That's true, what do I have as proof to show what I am teaching?

It is fine if you choose to skip the article, I wouldn't be offended because I wouldn't even know if you did. (Don't mind me for being silly).

I once worked with a company where I handle a lot of cash daily, there are days I went home with heavy cash. I am not just the only one that handles cash but we all have our differences when it comes to handling money and my attitude towards money makes my boss very confident about me and it has made him give me so many recommendations.

The staffs have this trend of running into debt so quickly, I have seen people go through six months without collecting salaries because of their debt record and I never fell victim to that for over two years with the company.

I took few people in the company (an International brand) as an experiment and I discovered a lot of things. As a supervisor, I earned less than $200 which is not enough for the responsibilities on me, and yet, I still ensure that I save $20 every money. It is small but that's not the point because I even inconvenience myself to do so since transportation alone has taken 30% of my earnings, I have to feed, pay utility bills and cater for my younger ones.

During the experiment, I discovered that a lot of my colleagues are following a particular trend that is causing setbacks for them but they weren't paying attention to it.

A lot of them cultivated a habit of hanging out every day after work, they do this in groups. I went with them for some days in just one week and I see how undisciplined they are financially. The worst part was that they don't know when to stop and that is what led them into lots of debt.


Spending $4- $6 daily on fun only every day for someone who earns less than $200 is outrageous. After getting the things I needed, I stepped back and they let me be after much persuasion that didn't work out.

A lot of them had to leave the job embarrassingly, some are still locked up to date. On the day I was stopped, they ran a check on the system and with distributors to check my debt record and I was cleared. I wasn't owing a dime, the HR regretted they had to take the decision but I knew it was God's time for me to move.

The HR asked series of questions and I made him understood that cutting my cloth according to the material available is what has kept me away from debt, I made sure I was financially disciplined.

I am not trying to be a saint, I was once very reckless with spending. I bought things I don't need because I see people having them, I did things that ended up as waste. There was a particular day I went to buy some clothes and I eventually gave half of it out, I later disliked the clothes because I was seeing them everywhere and don't like common things.

I thought about it and said to myself that "I wouldn't be able to achieve success in life if I don't start controlling my reckless habit towards spending".

I took a bold step towards doing the needful for myself and it has helped me.

There are a lot of things we are doing that are making us suffer financially, it looks like fun but these things are not healthy for us. It is different for everyone and it takes deep thoughts to realize what it is, and getting over it is the biggest issue because it is difficult leaving a lifestyle you are used to.

How would you feel if I said eating from the eatery always is not healthy for your wallet?

I spend $10 - $15 on my weekly feeding while eating from an eatery in a day would cost me almost $10 if I go on low-budget meals.

I am not condemning the act but doing it when you are not financially stable doesn't make any sense.

It doesn't end at this, I know of a man who spends about $2 on beer every day, it has become a habit. There is nothing wrong with that but for someone who moved into the company quarters because he couldn't afford house rent, it is a terrible lifestyle.

Aside from the fact that we don't have enough, not disciplining ourselves financially would only make us lack more because we have spent a lot on things that aren't important to our existence.

I have read about a scenario where a boss got his staff arrested after he did his housewarming. The boss doesn't have land and he lives in one of the expensive places in the state while this junior staff lived in a room apartment and he was gradually developing the small pieces of land he got almost as a gift.

The boss thought he was stealing from the company and got him arrested, after several investigations and interrogation, they got to know he was clean. The boss felt bad he had to put the guy through the stress and the guy quit the job.

The difference between the guy and his boss was the way he disciplined himself financially, he was able to achieve something good with that. Disciplining yourself would make people think you are stingy but the results of your discipline will make them understand why it is good to be disciplined.

Thanks for reading.

Lead image

20
$ 3.00
$ 2.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 15
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

Handling our money really plays a big role in order to survive each day... Some people like to spend their money in non necessary things then later on they will borrow money. .. It's not a good habit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Financial literacy would make our life easy and debt free.. Let us not live with the crowd's standard of living if we cannot afford it. Small salary is not an excuse to save some for the future

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The rich are sometimes ignorant of their wealth. Being financially literate is different, it takes knowledge, self-control and as you said, discipline.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you my brother, you just nailed it. But the recent influence that has worked on most of our youth is the lavish spending from the fraud team(G geng). It has really touched the system to the extend that you hardly find a girlfriend that doesn't frequent an eatery because they think that you supposed to be up and doing like the people in the other side (yahoo yahoo). PainedπŸ’”

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right, these guys have become something else and they have created standards that everyone feels like they must follow.

We must not be influenced by their way of living, as far the ladies matter, it is something else.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would like to add a phrase used in my countryside that "You should watch your cloth to straighten your legs". Means that if you've got small cloth and your legs go out of it, like you sound more than your earning, it will lead you the burden of debt.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You get my point, financial discipline with preventing you from running into debts that would eventually be a setback for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish I could have the habit of saving like you. I decide to do so but end up doing otherwise. Anyways I'll try to do better in the future

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It takes determination to do so, maybe you should start will piggyvest, they will make you discipline at all cost.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Funny enough I had an account with them but I have left it unused. Maybe I'll get to it now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Financial stability is something which we see and learn from our childhood , especially at our home. The way you are bought up, the way you live-all these lessons help us to be a good financier. Learning to save from very young age is a good lesson to become a perfect person in life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right, it is something we definitely learn from childhood because as kids we copy our parent's style of doing things but some kids are influenced by friends. We must make sure that we inculcate that discipline into kids.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can categorically say this is true. The one that got me the most is the eating out thing. Apart from being financially unwise, you also can't really tell what you are eating

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Do you mean food been unhygienic? I seem not to get your point.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ya. You can't really tell because it's not your c cooking

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Discipline is necessary to be a financially strong person, I am glad to know that among your staff, you were only one who never take any debt and were a financially disciplined.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am actually not the only one but the majority of them are having that issuem

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being able really to discipline yourself not to waste money is a must, when you have it you will really succeed and I admire you now for disciplining yourself, and this is also what I want to learn because I am no longer happy with what I am doing if I have my money. 😭 we are the same if buy a clothes i lose interest also when see it in others, so I just buy at the trift store, ​​it's cheap there but still new and i can save a moneg Than buy new but expensive.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There is definitely time for everything in life, there would be a time when you will be able to afford anything in the world but before them, we must learn to control how we spend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some people are filled with the spirit of originality, they don't care about disbursing all they have in a day, then tomorrow they start the suffering from square zero.

Some people are poor today not because they are destined to be poor but because they lack financial knowledge on how to spend.

Thank God you're able to caution yourself on time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Been able to discipline oneself is one thing we need to go through the world as we journey for success.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You don't have to own $10,000 to give a lecture about it, my brother. Whatever you have now would give you even more than that figure as long as you understand how money works and how to channel it and you are doing amazingly well about that.

I once wrote about financial intelligence many times now and you hit the nail on the head, brother.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I said the line because I have seen people who don't listen to advice from a friend until they pay 20,000 for a seminar to one big motivational speaker just to hear the same advice.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha that's so true. I have few of those. They value what they pay for rather than what they got on a free. Let them waste their money πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I laughed when I read the part about a boss arresting his subordinate because he built a house why he has not. I almost experience similar situation when I bought a piece of land two years ago. My business counterparts felt envious and start looking for ways to tarnish my image. To be financially discipline we must learn to manage the little we have now.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I was surprised reading about it then too, it is really annoying. A lot of people aren't making progress in life despite having money because they aren't financially disciplined.

I see guys go to clubs everyday spending millions and yet they complain of not making it in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You stated all facts why we need to be financially disciplined. I myself sometimes was careless between needs and wants when I have the money. Good thing I learned it now how to handle my finances the right way.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Smart choice, the point is avoiding irrelevant things that are drying us out financially

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Financial discipline is very important if you must attain success. Finance if not well managed, would disappear like flames. This tutorial will help out a lot. Most people spend money on what they want and not what they need.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true, a lot of us has failed to differentiate between want and needs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago