An experience that still triggers fear.

27 55
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

It is a beautiful Tuesday and resting was the only thing on my plan after suffering from a series of muscle pull in my left thigh yesterday night, it hurts so badly that I almost cried. It made me remember the time when I was grounded, my left leg gets hooked after taking 5-6 steps and I have to wait for mins before I can get to move around.

It made my life terrible and I wouldn't want to experience such again, it got me worried this morning because it started with a consecutive muscle pull then but I didn't know it was over-stressing myself. I do get exhausted from the supervising job I was doing but my need for survival always kept me moving, I had siblings looking up to me them and I promised myself never to let them down.

Picture of me then.

Despite everything, I didn't quit my job instead I spent more money on transportation. I would be stopped immediately if HR knows and someone would automatically get my spot immediately, little did I know that I was killing myself. At a point, the pain became unbearable and I never told my mom because it would break her down. Only my fiancee and one of my siblings knew about it, at first I was following the pharmacist treatment but I stopped because I wasn't seeing any improvement, it only got worse.

I went to the company hospital in Ikeja and I was told that my HMO doesn't cover the treatment of big conditions so all the doctor could do was get me a thigh brace and it helped me that day. I was able to move around with the pain reduced but at night, it hurts so badly and I have to wear the belt to sleep.

The thigh brace looks similar to this but I don't have it anymore.

On a particular weekend, I went to see my mom since she insisted that I came over. We went out together and she noticed that I was stopping every minute to relax so she became worried, I had to explain everything to her. She was in tears and that's what I have been avoiding, the belt wasn't patching me up again.

I told her I would be fine but that wasn't enough to make her happy or take my mind off, she started collecting herbs for me that could help me heal illnesses that have to do with muscles.

The following week, I took some days off but I was denied it and that made me angry. I left the office and assigned my duties to one of the sales representatives which he took because he knew what's up with me, I had enough time to go to the hospital for a proper check, and medication.

It was made clear that I might have damaged a muscle in my thigh and it is causing me pain plus the inability to move properly, I got worried. The doctor also said that medication won't work if I don't relax the leg which means no work for that period, I got very disturbed but had no choice.

My sales representatives did well in covering up while I started the treatment, I was grounded for over two weeks during the healing process. I spent even my saving and that made me understand clearly the saying that "Health is wealth" because having the whole world without good health is pointless.

I and some of my sales representatives trying to meet the sales target on the last day of the month while it was rained heavily throughout the day.

I started feeling better, I was offered crutches to avoid putting pressure on the leg which I rejected and stayed instead except for compulsory outings like the meeting days at the offices. I was able to walk properly again after four months, you wouldn't know how happy I felt again being able to move around freely. I felt great and reduced the stress, I don't overuse myself at work because the company would move on if I pass away and things have been normal since then but last night's experience brought those memories back and I was like, this mustn't happen again.

Little bro paid a visit at work.

I can't mention everything I experienced with the muscle tissue and that doesn't matter now, the important thing is paying attention to your body, the change and sign it is giving you.

Our body system doesn't just break down, there must have been signs we aren't paying attention to, and they eventually go from bad to worse. No amount of money can buy us good health, when we lose that- nothing matters anymore so we must pay attention to our health so that we can enjoy our wealth properly as well.


I decided to share some of the pictures I have from then in the article, you can click on the thigh brace image for the source.

Thanks for reading.

16
$ 7.74
$ 7.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
+ 6
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

your story reminds of another person story. simply he was in a good health , but unfortunately he become ill and suffer cancer. All the wealth he has , does not cure him. Health is the real tresor

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Health is really wealth indeed, I can totally relate to that. Life without health can seem pointless, it is important we pay attention to our minds and bodies, whenever something feels off. Healthcare too can be frustratingly expensive especially when your insurance or HMO doesn't cover certain important things but we just have to do what we can to take care of ourselves.

$ 0.11
2 years ago

Welcome to readcash Jules😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true, health care can be very expensive and that is why we must pay to extra signs our body gives before things gets out of hand.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely

$ 0.00
2 years ago

this is the life of a friend sometimes we don't care about the existing situations and conditions and when the problem befalls us then we will understand. I am also often reprimanded and advised by people closest to me, but that is a human limitation. Words of advice are often forgotten, but when a disaster occurs, we will understand and will not forget it. your parents love you very much. The pain you receive is felt by them too. take care of your body condition because that's where your life and your mother and your family are.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks, we should always look out for ourselves because our health care matters a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm happy that you are feeling better now George. Yes George I agree that if we are not in a good health our life will be pointless which is really true. Health is our investment to everything because it's our own body. The body, the one who will work while facing the life paths.

It's really important to give a care with our health. Based on my experiences too, I am really weak also. I always got sick and have an illnesses. I could say Health is truly Wealth.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Being healthy is the best gift you can have because it gives the ability to go for things you really want in life, I pray that the Almighty God gives us all good health in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indeed George that's why we must first prioritize our health always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Feel guilty of here. Even if I am sick I continue working until I get worse. This is something I want to fulfill this year, to regain back the health aspect I once took for granted

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Please you need to work on that, staying grounded with illness is really an uncomfortable experience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really painful to experienced this I ones experienced it when I'm playing some sport and it really stops me to play because I'm scare I might experienced it again. Anyways glad that you're doing fine now my friend. Take care always!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks buddy, what were you into then. Sport men and women experience it from time to time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I play volleyball my friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Praise to the Lord as He is exist. He is powerful of all. Hoping that it will continue healing george.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hallelujah, it is important we look up to God as we play our part in maintaining good health.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yess that is true geaorge.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Muscle pull is such an uncomfortable condition, I remember when I have to sleep on my hand in the night to keep my arm straight.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That must be very stressful, sorry about the experience and I hope you are feeling better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is one thing I hate about works like this- they aren´t concerned with one´s health. You just have to do their bidding while they do not understand how important is health to us. Thank God you took days off then to focus on yourself. I believe you are doing better now? plus the stress last night?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I feel very much better my Princess, I just have to caution the way I pressure the leg to avoid reoccurrence. Being self employed is really good but we must have some experience before setting up, understanding the scope of the market is very important

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've experienced muscle pull so much to know how painful it is.

Nothing is worth killing one's self over because health comes first and should take precedence over every other thing..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right, if we don't put our health first then we might be losing a lot more than we have earned at the end.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Health is indeed wealth, that’s why business is better than being employed, some company don’t care about their workers health issues, they just want their job done or be replaced.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Our government has made us worthless in the hands of the expatriates with big brands, they take too much from them and forget to make laws that would protect the well being of the workers who are their citizens.

$ 0.00
2 years ago