July 4th, Big Day

6 24

Our coordinator, Sir Patrick, made an announcement about our first day today the day before yesterday. For the deployment, we depart from Casa Commudidad at 7:30 in the morning.

But before anything else, I'd like to extend my gratitude to my sponsors for their support, and you can visit their accounts to read the interesting pieces.

Sponsors of GelayyLumiere
empty
empty
empty


Since I was a first-time SPES and live quite a distance from the municipal town, I actually got up early since I was so excited. I still feel a little dizzy because we went out to dinner last night and I don't get nearly enough sleep. We got into a boodle fight in response to a request from a friend of ours who was also about to leave the province in order to go to Mindanao and continue his studies there, and also believe during this summer vacation of ours we would become busy in our respective lives.

Last Night's Dinner

Our typical hangouts involve watching a ton of movies or making the food we want to eat, then just chatting while we devour it. This style of nightlife is our way to unwind from academic stress.

Returning to the story of my special day, we arrived at Casa Communidad, and shortly after 7:30, the identification cards, endorsement forms, and contract were distributed. Since the deployment of Beneficiaries assigned to remote areas was given priority, I have been in the hall for some time. My friends were assigned to the barangay, whereas I was assigned to the municipal office, so I knew right away that I would not be able to be with them.

I'm anxious, but that anxiety is just excitement over making a new friend. We were soon directed to the city's tourism office. I had the opportunity to meet SPES beneficiaries April and Cyra, there are actually four of us SPES in our department but unfortunately, Kristine hasn't been there since she has an entrance exam. Twenty-two additional students are also present in the office for their OJT at this time. I suppose I should look forward to tomorrow since I'll be the only person left in the office since April and Cyra are assigned to assist in the tour that our supervisors will conduct as we haven't done much work other than decimating invitations to different offices.

Sir Kean, one of our supervisors, shared with us stories about office work in addition to teaching us various editing techniques for photos and videos and the fundamentals of taking photos, it's like we're getting a free workshop earlier. Since I worked as a photojournalist during my junior year of college, I do have some familiarity with this, but I'm still in awe of those who are more knowledgeable in this area.

Actually, I'm writing this article while getting ready for tomorrow; I just can't bear to wait to publish one before going to bed because I'm so eager to share my experience with everyone.


You can check a few of my previous works here

Disclaimer: I am neither a psychologist nor a financial advisor, and all of my pieces were done for entertainment purposes only. What I've written here is merely my personal opinion, and any statements made are based on my personal views and should not be taken as fact. Always do your due diligence.

Support and Follow me here:

https://read.cash/@GelayyLumiere

https://noise.cash/u/Gelayy

5
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @Ellawrites
Sponsors of GelayyLumiere
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Wow! I never knew you are a photo journalist, this has enlightened me more about you. I would have also felt anxious if my friends and I weren't assigned to the same place, but from the looks of it, you got rid of that anxiety and learnt alot.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's always a good choice to take a different path from what my friends take, its like I'm getting out of my comfort zone

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can learn everything while working so do not be overwhelmed . It's normal to feel anxious at first but surely will you get the hang of it in a few days. Goodluck to your new journey.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you, glad that U was able to communicate well with my co-spes workers as well as our supervisors

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes July fourth is the day when American colonies declared independence from British government

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Goodluck on your journey! :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago