"Food preparation and budgeting: Struggle is real( my rant's)"

25 66
Avatar for GarrethGrey07
2 years ago
Sponsors of GarrethGrey07
empty
empty
empty

So basically it's been seven weeks since we've been separated from my partner's parents. We've been independently living and trying to survive each day by our own efforts and hardworks. As the wife, I was the one who's holding our budget while my partner was the one who's working for our little family. My partner is now being employed for almost one month already, meaning to say he's already receiving his salary.

Source: Unsplash.com

Before my partner's earnings as a grab driver, are quite good enough for our budget compare to his salary to his current job. However I am not complaining about it, but since I am the one who's holding our monthly budget, I would say that budgeting a tight budget is literally difficult, I am always stressed. Lol.

Luckily read cash is here to save us from having some debts and so even if our budget is always tight, were free from additional unwanted stress so far.

Since I have to budget his salary for until the next salary day, I have to carefully select a viand that was healthy and at the same was cheap so we won't get short from our budget and yet we're still eating the right food. Budgeting the budget is literally draining my brain, specially that I don't know how to cook. I don't know how to make the simple cooking delicious as cooking is literally not my thing 😁.

Source: Unsplash.com

There are honestly some days, that while I am walking to the market I am busy scrolling in YouTube to get any ideas that would help me save the day. I go to search simple viands then different types of Vedio's will be shown. Then I will select. Sometimes as early in the morning I am already adrift as I really don't have any idea which food should I prepare for us that would fits on my budget.

Every day my budget for our viand is only 100-150 peso's ($2.00 - $3.00usd). This amount is Honestly small for me, for three meals. Imagine, nowadays all the products in the market had already increased it's priced and so, that amount could be hardly enough for three meals. But I had no choice but to do something just to make it enough. Sometimes how I wish I can do magic so I can stretch that amount lolπŸ˜‚. Another challenge I need to face was my partner is a little bit picky when it comes to food. That is why sometimes he literally trigger my anger as early in the morning. It was so annoying! The pressure becomes doubled because I have a picky eater at home.( Wala na ngang pera mag iinarte pa. Ang sarap ibalik sa mama nya, hayst!)

Source: Unsplash.com

However I know somehow, that things won't change if I am just gonna keep on complaining. My stress and complains won't change the amount our budget anyway. So what's this rant's for? Chaarrr πŸ˜‚( inaway/kinuntra ang sariliπŸ˜‚)

Anyway what I am trying to say is I must have some plans. So I started saving some easy recipes from YouTube. Since we don't have refrigerator at home, I have to make sure that we won't waste any food. Wasting food is also wasting money πŸ˜„.

Vegetables then meat and vice versa was my strategy πŸ˜†. I thy I can save some money from our budget if I do this way. I know this is just so common to others but for me this is already a big help πŸ˜‚. If I prepare vegetables, sometimes for only 60-80 pesos ($1-$1.5) we already have viands for the whole day, with this I can save some money and I can add the money for the next day budget. In the next day I can prepare meat, like chicken or pork or sometimes fish. If I cook meat, I have to prepare the meat into two different recipe's for the whole day, but sometimes my partner love's my cooking and so he was fine with one recipe for three meals. He won't feel bored for it as long as the taste of my food was delicious for him(he was just like a kidπŸ€¦πŸ˜…).

Speaking of a little kid. My son is already 1 year and five months old already. So his already a toddler, but until now he still don't want to eat any foods. Actually I've been trying to introduce him our food, specially the vegetables as it is good for him, but unfortunately he don't like the taste. Honestly I also felt stress about it.

When he was still an infant, I let him eat Cerelac but he was also a picky eater🀦. He only eat Cerelac if it's a banana flavour but he don't like to eat it everyday. I can't feed him with the other flavours as he don't like them too. We wasted lot's of Cerelac before because his so picky, just like his father 🀦.

Anyway yesterday I started to do my plan. I prepare vegetables then today I prepare chicken, and the next day I think I would prepare vegetables again,then fish, then vegetables again, then pork πŸ˜‚. Lol. Let's see if my partner would complain πŸ˜‚.

So what food do you usually prepare at home? And how much is your budget for a day, for your three meals?

I think this is all for today guy's, as this is just another rant's for my Sunday. However thank you for reading.

Lead image was edited using Canva app.

19
$ 2.81
$ 2.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Big-E
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 15
Avatar for GarrethGrey07
2 years ago

Comments

Speaking of budget sis, that's one of the most difficult to do especially when we feel na kulang yung pera yet we want something for additional sa groceey

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My mother prepare food. Meat is not made daily, but it is made two r three times a week and two days vegetables and rice and one day lentils are made at my home. But I don't know about the proper budget.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

cooking is not my thing too, apir! Hubby is still abroad so I am not oblige to cook since I am alone.. Bread is enough for me

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Me too sis, I'm good with bread kaya yung budget namin enough na kc c partner lang naman malakas kumainπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha kapag lalaki talaga ano?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Having a family isnt easy. It requires a lot of understanding, planning and budgeting.. I'm scared of living alone..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You won't be alone, I think no one was born to be alone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

arrange finances for the necessities of life, especially food needs. as a complement for other purposes may need to be considered because financial sources must be managed properly so that expenses must be in accordance with income.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's true mate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Budgeting ain't easy as people thought it is, we need a lot to considers, you will get through it for sure haha its's the daily struggle of evey adults.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The results of income in work really affect family life, especially the many demands of life. it's probably better to prioritize needs over wants because that's the best way to keep expenses down. I can understand the situation you are going through friend even though I am not married but I can see in detail every need from my family's experience. keep working and trying there must be a way out of this pseudo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly dear. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate to how difficult think about how to spend within your budget and not repeating food can be a daunting task. Keep up the good work and don't be tired, it will get better soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is really difficult and challenging πŸ˜…. Anyway thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear Garreth, I totally agree with you my friend, daily budgeting is really hard work and requires careful management. We make our purchases weekly, but if I were to estimate, it would cost us about $2 a day to eat. With the difference that we are two people, and of course my husband and I don't eat much breakfast. I think only the breakfast costs a lot to make.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I do my market everyday dear as we don't have refrigerator at home. In our parts it's only my partner who really a big eater as I am not a food loverπŸ˜…. I can eat my breakfast with a simple bread with coffee and no lunch then just have my dinner. It is my routine for almost 8 years, that is why 2-3 dollars is enough already for us😊.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why you always have a beautiful and fit body, dear Garreth. It's great. The value of the dollar in our country is high, so when we convert our daily consumption into dollars, it doesn't high so much. πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was at school, I used to suffer a lot for this budget stuff especially when there's a very little amount of money. I'd be calculating the number of days what I'd be buying could last me. Mothers are really trying with this skill. It's not easy at all

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's what I usually do dear, calculating the days and so i can divide the budget accordingly before it finished πŸ˜†. It's hard😁.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You must really good at budgeting. Because for only 150 pesos a day you can budget into 3 meals if for us it won't be enough because even though we are just 3 people in the house we all are good eaters. And budgeting and thinking what ulam is for today is our problem.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What you're doing is to maximize salary while minimizing expenses. That's really real in a couple. Out of budget sometimes. We can't buy sometimes other needs because of limited money. I know you can survive it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mahirap talaga mag budget sis nuh intindihin mo yung mga foods like mga ulam tas lalo na pag money hindi masyado malaka at kailangan talaga ma budget ng maayos para magkasya. I love cooking sis! Nagpapabigay saya yan sakin. πŸ₯°

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mahirap talaga sis 😁. Anyway sis good for you, i don't hate cooking, it's just not my thing 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thnak you sis. Oo sis ang hilig ko magluto sis. πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am facing bad time ever in my life. I did mistake in my life so getting suffer.

$ 0.01
2 years ago