The prodigal son (spoiled brat)

32 64
Avatar for Gaftekloriginal
2 years ago

I need my share of the property and I don't think I made the mistake of asking you for my share as the only son that you have........ (Desmond said to his father with pride )

I am not sending you away from my house moreover you are still young to leave the house and decide to live alone, who will watch over you? Who will take care of you? Who will you talk to when you are down? Who are you going to run to in time of trouble? All these you should have asked yourselves before you make this decision of leaving the house...... Mr Gabriel (Desmond father ) replied angrily.

Let me take you back to what happened earlier before this event. Let's begin;

I was just 8 years old when my father started making me feel like I am the only worthy child that he has, we are five (5) in our family, my mom and dad and my two elder sisters and me included to make it five. My dad and mom decided to give birth to just two children when they first get married but because the first child came out to be a girl, they decide to give the second time a chance if it will be a boy but unfortunately, it was a girl also. They decide to give it another chance and to God be the glory they gave birth to a boy who turned out to be me. I was overpampered and given so much attention as the only child, they make me feel a male child is the only child that is worthy of living on this earth, they neglected and ignored my sisters, they never want to listen to them at all and if they accept to listen to them, they will round up the discussion with abuse and mockery. Sometimes I felt for them but wait, what is my own? So far I am enjoying their love and care I don't care about anybody else. All this my I don't care attitude was built in me by my parent, most times when my sisters are rebuking me for doing something bad, my mom and dad will shun them to stop it, they even go to the extent of beating them for it instead of them to correct me. Deep down in me, I will be very happy and glad for having a lovely parent like them, I never knew they were destroying my life gradually.

Are you expecting me to start telling you how my friends started influencing my life and destroying it too at the same time as my parent? My parent didn't allow that to happen, I am always camp in the house because my parent wishes to see me around them 24hrs.

NB: you should not always have the mindset that only friends can influence the life of a child badly, it is totally wrong. Most children we see out there today misbehaving are caused by their parents and not the friend they keep. In many cases, I have seen that a child will have a good friend, but the parent will keep misleading the child to the wrong path ( a practical example is my neighbour).

The love showered on me was too much that I forgot that I am already in my twenties, that I am already becoming matured. I don't listen to my sisters again, no respect for them at all only for my parents. Sometimes I disobey them if they fail to do what I asked them and that's what lead to the conversation of me leaving the house and asking for my e of the property at the beginning of this story.

My dad was very angry at me and my mom also but I don't care, I felt the need to have my share because I have thought of it deeply that if I can be showered this type of love while I am still at home and also have this type of enjoyment of different foods, clothes, shoes, wrist watches e.t.c, this mean if I am away with my share, I can have a lot more to my self. My dad gave me my share with annoyance and I left home without looking back. It was when I left they start to realize the usefulness and value of my sisters because my sisters still stood by them even when I left them in a bad mood, they were thinking all about me all day, weeping and crying without eating for days. My sisters never look at their attitudes towards them rather they choose to love them the more. All these make my parent realize no gender is to be treated anyhow, they realize both genders have an equal right to live and enjoy. My parent forgot me totally after some months that I left and never remembered they had a son, I suffered a lot for my wasteful spending. I had to do some dirty works to survive, I couldn't think of going back home because I knew my parent will never be happy with me. My parents love for my sisters already knew no bounds, so I concluded never to return home but suffered for my deed.

My parent caused it though and they also suffered for it by losing me to the outside world and having the everlasting pain of losing their only son to the world. I know the day I will return home will cause them more pain but for now, I have no intention of going home. I want to work hard myself and build up a new life worth living.

Thanks for reading my story, I am Desmond (the prodigal son) and I hope we all learn from my story.

Lesson learnt

  • Never choose any gender above the other because they are both the same.

  • Overpampering a child does not mean love rather it is a means of destroying that child's life.

  • Love your children equally and if at all we can love them equally, we shouldn't show it to their faces cos it can cause enmity between the children

Lead image source

Thanks for reading and God bless.

Byee for nowπŸ₯°πŸ₯°.

30th September 2021.

13
$ 5.21
$ 4.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @bmjc98
$ 0.05 from @LykeLyca
+ 7
Sponsors of Gaftekloriginal
empty
empty
Avatar for Gaftekloriginal
2 years ago

Comments

I hope my sister would have a synonymous realization like you have. I agree overpampering can sometimes destroy a child. However, I hope you'll forgive your parents and everyone for your peace of mind. xoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is not my story πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…. Just a write up

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a child if we get too much attention than some of siblings at home that thing always affect such child to misbehave

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it can enter ones head.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah that's true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just like they say" charity begins at home". Its the way we act at home would reflect outside. Majority of bad things happening to children nowadays are caused by parents,peer influence too will join. I Pray Almighty God would give parents strength to teach our children and i pray Almighty God would give our children good hearts and mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen oooo, you are right about this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The love of the parents should be equal. If it's not shared equally it will really of a great destruction. Parents will also suffer at the end of the day.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right, it will lead to a great destruction that they will later regret. Thanks for engaging

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reminds me of the usual bible story about the prodigal son.... Parents should love their children equally in order to avoid complications as illustrated above.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, parent need to know this. Thanks brother

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice lesson to learn from this article. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome ma, I am glad you learnt something new.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice story I hope they learnt their lessons of teaching both daughter and son equally without discrimination

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes they did and they regretted it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice story. It touched one of the most important things in life. No gender is greater than the other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Boss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It’s so bad to see how parent of nowadays test their children it not only happens to the wealthy one alone but even to the poor ones. Some would take the most handsome and pamper to the extent that they become a Small god. Some would take the last born of the house.

Everything surely have a consequence

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything has a consequence and that's what the parent of Desmond witness. Last born especially are treated like one god πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most of the time, our parents do make the mistakes of over pampering us and without much care, such tendencies might lead such a child to destruction. The society alone does not guarantee if a child becomes a spoilt brat or not but the families too do hence i rely so much on the story of the prodigal son you shared with us here and all that played In it. At least from there, we can decide how the child got spoilt and all that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, thanks for understanding this. I appreciate it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is my pleasure thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is saddening that some parents treat their children like that, having favorites especially boys, and spoil them to the point that their children will go toward their own destruction. You are right about treating children the same way or equally :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right,many parent do such and it need to stop. Thanks for understanding

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome and thanks too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyone should be treated. Equally, no one is beneath the other! this was an amazing story and article!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Equality is the key. Thank you friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love that you listen out the lessons to be learnt from your story, so people won't make mistakes. I hope people will put these things into practice

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you boss. I hope so too, especially the parent to be like you πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh. You'll be before me sirπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚be calming down

$ 0.00
2 years ago