Survival of the fittest (the balloting day)

17 41
Avatar for Gaftekloriginal
2 years ago

"The person with the best network win"

This statement has been flying up and down on everyone WhatsApp status on my phone, I am sure people from my school can testify to this. Why this statement? Today 28th of October happens to be the day scheduled for balloting for a bed space for the hostels in my school.

A screenshot from my WhatsApp status

The balloting is meant to start by 8 am today and will end by 4 pm but the time won't be followed at all because this is Nigeria πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…. We will surely have network issues, the balloting site will be very busy and won't be able to accommodate a lot of people and because of this, the site will be taken down for hours before it will be restored for people to ballot again. I am saying this from experience, so don't think I am only making assumptions. All these I have said has made a lot of students get ready all the necessary gadgets needed to ballot a night before, they have opened the site down already to be able to access the site early before anyone else does.

A screenshot of the WhatsApp status of a friend who has login to the site a night before for easy access before anyone else does.

The screenshot should have given you a clue of how the balloting is going to look like when one is prepared already a night before πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜….

The school provides 4 hostels for the guys and 7 hostels for the ladies to accommodate thousands of students which is not enough at all. The hotels are not enough to accommodate everyone and that's why they deduced this method of balloting among the student through their portals to fight for bed space so that it will be fair among the student and no one will complain about being cheated on.

A short story

I remember the last session when we wanted to ballot on a day like this, I left home very early for the secondary school that I graduated from to make good use of their fast internet. I got there early and I log in to a laptop and went directly to my portal, I clicked on the balloting icon and took hours to just load that page. I had to message my friends to confirm if I am not the only one experiencing this. The reply that it was the same for them too, I was relieved and shortly a message was broadcasted that the time for the balloting has been from 8 am to 12 pm, I waited till that time and I went to the site again, the page couldn't load due to a lot of people trying to access that site. I left the school and thought of going to a cyber cafe if their network will be better too but all was the same. I tried till 5 pm and left for my house, I gave up that I am no longer attempting it again but on getting home, the spirit said I should another cyber cafe in my area again if I can be lucky. I got home and did just that, I spent almost an hour before I could access the site but in the end, I was lucky to be given a bed space. I got the bed space around after 7 in the evening and I have been awake since 8 am. That's how stressful balloting can be and that's why everyone is trying every means to get ready for it.

Sponsors of Gaftekloriginal
empty
empty
Check out my wonderful sponsors, they have got the right paracetamol for your headache with their articles.

Why the stress of school hostel when you can get a hostel outside the school?

Well, the school hostel might not look very healthy enough and when I say healthy I thought you should understand what I mean but it is very cheap. The cost of getting a hostel outside school is 10 times the cost of getting a hostel from the school. The price is what scare people away from it and the school price looks friendly but the stress isn't worth it all.

The person with the fastest internet will get a bed space while those with poor internet might not get at all. My prayer is that I get this time around again because I can't be going to school from home, the stress will be too much for me and that alone can affect my health.

I might not be able to read articles today because of my busy day and I will like to apologise for that. I am sorry if I didn't read your article today, forgive me and try to understand why I didn't with this my write up. I will be very tired and worn out at the end of today so please bear with me for today.

Pray for me that I should get a headspace in today's balloting.

Lead image source

Thanks for reading and God bless you all.

Don't forget to thumb up πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘ and subscribe for more interesting articles of mine.

Byee for nowπŸ₯°πŸ₯°.

28th October 2021.

14
$ 5.29
$ 5.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.03 from @Jumper-01
+ 5
Sponsors of Gaftekloriginal
empty
empty
Avatar for Gaftekloriginal
2 years ago

Comments

Unilag wahala, I didn't get bedspace. Did you later get sir?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't get too ooo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omo, I have hearing this from my friends in unilag, I thought it was a joke

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whoa! I've never really heard of this balloting for hostel before until today. See stress! Well I wouldn't want to be you but I feel for You. I hope all goes well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This una balloting thing na something else

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is really survival of the fittest. I hope you get a bed space but that thing is stressful mehn. Goodluck

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omo the struggle is real😹😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hoping you get a bedspace at the end of the day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even to read the article now na server πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…aswear, all the server is downn

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahala for who dey Unilag ooh🀣 I pray you get a bed space Just have hope. What level are you in?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen ooo, 400level

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚na wetin we see

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish you luck bro... Good luck in today's balloting.. the stress alone, like everyone is just staring at the screen of their phone or system..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aswear, the stress is too much. Amen bro

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May God help you in securing a space ooh. Last session I had a hostel but sold it due to the corona thing. This session I didn't get any at all and we're resuming on the 1st of next month. I have no option than to squat or rent a room. It's not easy at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen to that prayer. Squatting is not easy at all, no comfort and peace, I wouldn't pray for my enemy to squat at all because I once experience it too

$ 0.00
2 years ago