Something I won't do

17 47
Avatar for Gaftekloriginal
1 year ago

I was up early this morning because I had to take my dad to where he will massage his body. If we get there late, we will come back late cos people are always very much but if we go there early, we will leave early so we have to be there very early. So we got there and luckily we met just one person and she gave us the grace to enter before her and we did.

While we entered and the man was massaging my dad's body, he started talking to me and said he has always called me Alfa (a leader in the Muslim religion) without knowing that I am Pastor (in my mind, I was like did I tell you I have a church or cathedral). He said he does call me Alfa cos of my beard and that it is those Alfas that leave their beard like that.

I laughed and didn't say anything. He was saying all sorts of things like I should shave it away since I go to church, that pastors don't keep their beards, it doesn't make sense to keep beards blah blah blah. My dad was also contributing to it and I was just laughing within me. I didn't give a reply at all cos I know if I start to discuss with him, he won't still listen to what I had to say so what's the point of disturbing myself so I kept shut all through but within me, I know I won't shave it off.

I don't know who told them pastors are to shave their beards while those Alfas can keep their beards. So many beliefs our parents believed but it's wrong for me. Read through very well, I said for me cos it might sound right in some people sight also just like my parent. I kept the beards cos I feel it looks good on me and not because there's any belief somewhere. I can only be convinced if they can bring it out from the Bible or else, I won't cos I just don't understand why.

Seriously, I was angry with the way he was talking cos that belief and so many other beliefs have led many of them astray and it's affecting them now. I will probably write about those beliefs tomorrow or next time and talk about them when I have gathered a lot of them. My beards are what I love and I will keep them as long as I love to and even if I shave them, I would only do that to avoid them seeing me as a prodigal son.

Thanks for reading my rant this night, I just had to talk about it and ease my mind. I appreciate your time in reading it, God bless us all.

Lead image is my humble self 🥰

Bye for now 🥰🥰🥰.

11
$ 0.57
$ 0.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.02 from @Freedom007
+ 3
Sponsors of Gaftekloriginal
empty
empty
Avatar for Gaftekloriginal
1 year ago

Comments

The thing is we mix culture with religion. The yorubas in particular believe their culture syncs with Christianity. What a yoruba believe an "omoluabi" should do is similar to what the bible says.

Respect your elders, do not steal and co are strong yoruba ideology which the bible also approve. So this has led to them believing the culture of an "omoluabi" cutting his beards should also apply to Christians.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You really got it, you explained it all. The mixture is just too much.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You get church and you no invite me 😂😂 Actually it is not a crime to wear beard as a man; God created men with their masculine features, and one of them is beard, so I don't think anything is wrong with it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wonder ooo my brother, beards don't mean anything to me sha. Na me and you open the church na 😅😅😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah the beards indeed gives an impression that you're a practitioner of a certain religion.

But some people view beards as way of showing maturity. I don't know if I want one or not. But mine seems to be growing but at slow pace

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was human that gave that impression and nothing concern me with that, I attend church and nothing concern anyone with my beards 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol. You sef you no go shave, you no wan go heaven??

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Shaving stick ni 😅😅😅😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nothing's even wrong with keeping your beards the way you want them. If something makes you feel great and awesome go for it, as long as no one's being hurt, don't mind what other people have to say. :)))

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you my dear, my happiness is all that matters to me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Glad to know that you are a pastor! :) Just don't mind those kind of people, they don't know what they are saying.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am not a pastor ooo😅😅😅, I am Christian though and I attend church.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are a lot of beliefs that truly affect and criticized people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They are so many out there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just know now that you are a pastor gafte. The man is literally so judgemental. There are really those people who simply criticize us through appearance. I often encountered that here in my country too in a different situation but I am just keeping myself humble. Glad to know you and I feel happy reading your article.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, he was so judgemental and it's very bad. I am glad to meet you too, I am happy you love my writing, thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are welcome Pastor gafte. Thank you for your attention and the pleasure is mine. Keep safe always and God bless.

$ 0.00
1 year ago