Skills, needed to prepare for the marketplace?

26 87
Avatar for Gaftekloriginal
2 years ago
Topics: Growth, Lesson, Reality, Wisdom, Real Life, ...

I will be talking mostly to the student here on this platform, it also applies to others too but majorly on students, let's begin;

I was in class yesterday when one of the courses we are doing this semester is talking about PERSONAL SKILLS which the outcome of the topic says NEEDS TO ACQUIRE SKILLS TO SURVIVE THE FAST CHANGING WORLD. The lecturer called out a guy to talk about the challenges he has encountered so far with the course of study, he said a lot of things but it was that all I could see him repeating is about the salary they are being paid to people who offer the course after they graduate and also clause attached to it before applying for the job.

He said he might not practice his course because they give those who apply for the job N30 000 ( naira ) that's $60 with 3 years experience, he wonders how a fresh graduate will survive like that after graduating. Well, he is right but should I cover my face if I tell you that I have not thought of that in my life, all I do think about is that I wi surely see a job when I graduate if at all I didn't practice my course ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…. I know it's not easy out there but my faith has paved way for me, I believe.

What am I saying in essence, for you to start thinking about getting a job after graduating, what skills have you learnt? The lecturer said a lot of things and one of the things he said is that we should learn skills that will give a solution to a particular problem that have been affecting people in that field for a long time. It's painful that many graduates just go to school to school without learning any skills while in school, they just graduate hoping that only their certificate will save them.

The world is changing at a fast pace and we should also change with it without lacking in anything. Nigeria my country, for instance, I can say there is no job out there for fresh graduates and the only job you can see is a teaching job which they will pay you with a small amount of money. You can only get a good job if you have people at high places ( connections ) or by God hand of miracle, I am not saying your first class or second class certificate won't work for you but it is very rare and it is not common at all.

In Nigeria, it is advisable that every graduate should have skills in hand before they graduate cos that's what they will survive on before they finally get a job. The president once said it, he said all students should have handiwork before they graduate, handiwork like fashion designing, barbing, hairstylist, make up artist, shoe cobbler, e.t.c. All these works will make them survive even without a job for years cos they are what people can't do without in a day.

All these skills are tools that we will take along when we are graduating from school to the marketplace, the marketplace here means the industry where we find ourselves. The skills are what we will rely on when job searching fail us, they will serve as our job, we might end up not looking for a job when we start it and many might turn it to a side hustle along with the job they later get.

I hope you can grab one or two things from this article, watch out for tomorrow articles cos I will be saying something that will really help every one of us here. I will have to put a stop to this writing, I have tried doing justice to it. My day was really busy and I am very tired while typing this, I will read the articles I can before I sleep off, I am anticipating a programme that will come up tomorrow with my friends about the promotion and adoption of bitcoincash in my school. We gather ourselves together to tell people about the benefit of bitcoincash, I will update everyone about it tomorrow, I believe it will turn out great for us.

All images from Unsplash

Thanks for reading, I really appreciate your time for reading my article. I am waiting for my subscriber to complete 200 just one left ๐Ÿ˜‡๐Ÿ˜‡๐Ÿ˜‡.

Bye for now ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ.

1oth December 2021.

23
$ 5.48
$ 4.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 14
Sponsors of Gaftekloriginal
empty
empty
Avatar for Gaftekloriginal
2 years ago
Topics: Growth, Lesson, Reality, Wisdom, Real Life, ...

Comments

Hand skills are really important. We have so many graduates but have no idea about this. Also, that skill can back them up when needed, like financially. Good to read your post.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Intelligence is not enough without skills and resilience.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right ma. It's been a long time that I saw you around, hope you are fine

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is very good to begin to learn from students skills that are later useful, sometimes it takes a long time to apply some of the theory studied in textbooks, when we face practice once we graduate, everything is very different. Friend you are one step away from 200 subscribers ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘, who will be the lucky one to occupy that space.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Skills are needed but I don't think only handiworks are skills. These days people go into digital marketing, graphics designing, web designing, UI/UX, and writing(read cash for example). I feel these computer skills are more relevant and pay more in the world of today.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, you are right dear. It's now a digital world

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yuppy๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with the skills part... because if educations fails you to get a job, life skills will definitely do

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Correct, I am glad you understand.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Skills are needed. Without skills one can not do better.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was right there in that class and I learnt quite a lot of new strategies and plan ms although I wasnโ€™t there for the full lectureโ€ฆ good write up and a preparation for the outside world

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks boss,I appreciate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is too much to explore around. Too much choice ... And time is limited. But we must know the basic skills in life. I'm curious about what kind of skills you can tell us. I look forward to the next article)))

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I already listed the skills, like barbing, hairstylist, make up artist and like what you did, catering. They are the skills students can do

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry translator fails, well about the design is well translated, but what is paint and prickly not understand.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We can't easily apply a job not unless we acquire some important skills.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right on this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes youโ€™ve did and write well. Thatโ€™s why Iโ€™m learning skills before again admission so that after and during schooling they will be hope although Iโ€™ve never think negative Iโ€™m gonna make it as well as you. Your school gonna promote BCH very well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It used to pay to be a master of one than a Jack of all, nowadays the reverse seem to be the case

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Especially in this country its necessary to learn a skill, don't just put all eggs in one basket.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Abi oo, the person will just regret his or her action

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well written brother. I pray that the nezt subscriber gets to subscribe to your account and then begin to gain experience overtime

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Amen, thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What you said is right people need to have different skills in other to survive this ever changing world also I'm waiting with you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You've spoken well,we should at least learn a trade and don't depend on schooling alone,we can survive using our handiwork.

$ 0.01
2 years ago