The Journey Of 250km That Ended In Tears

14 17
Avatar for FashTioluwa
2 years ago

Since the holiday is now over, all student are meant to resume back to school, and as for my school, we are to resume on the 3rd of January after our holiday started on the 23rd of December 2021, I was excited to go back to school since I will be starting my exam in February and I have to do all I can to make sure I study well before the examination. I actually took some text book home during the holiday so I can read, but it returned back to school same way I brought it.

Starting of the 250km journey.

I decided to return back to my school which is located in Kwara state, and its 250km far away from my parent home where I spent my holiday, I woke up as early as 6am so I can get to my destination very early too, I got to the park and to my surprise the 6th bus already left and I was a bit worried cause if I don't get a bus that day I would have to wait for the following day before I could travel. I couldn't get a bus going to my destination so I decided to enter another city bus first (Ibadan city) then I will enter Ilorin which is located in Kwara state. I kept my laptop in my backpack so I can use it to access read.cash while studying, doing read.cash on the phone can be so stressful, and I kept my backpack with me.

Ibadan Journey starts

After boarding the Ibadan bus and I kept my luggage at the back of the bus, I made sure my backpack was with me so I won't misplace my laptop. Along the journey, we pass through a village that had no tiled rode and the dust was so much

I wonder how the people in that town are copping with the dust, cause the amount of traveling bus that passes through that town can't be numbered, shortly after, we got to the main town (Shagamu town), and there I was about to get a little rest cause I wasn't feeling too comfortable from the bad road and the way the bus as been rumbling. When we got to the town, we also saw some bus that are traveling too.

Not too long we got to Ibadan express way, the road the led direct to Ibadan city, it took a very drive before we could arrive at Ibadan, when we got to Ibadan, due to the high number of student going back to school, there was scarcity of bus going to Ilorin, and there was still a long of passenger waiting to get bus going to Ilorin, so I had to wait for about 30min before the next bus came. Immediately the next bus arrived and the door was opened, I didn't bother trying to go through the door because of the rushing at the bus entrance so I just threw my backpack inside the bus and just through the back window of the bus into the bus, and I secure a space for myself. It was very tough, I decided to come down from the bus so I can put my luggage at the back of the bus, when I got back inside the bus, another person was already sitting on my sit, a Hausa man, and I'm a Yoruba guy, I tried telling him to leave my seat but he refuse, I spoke my language to him but no communication was taking place cause of the language barrier, we almost fought, then one man decided to get down so the matter won't cause a fight. I was so angry at him cause he was just trying to prove himself.

The Hausa man in black cap
Waiting for the next bus

We left Ibadan and head towards Ilorin Kwara state, we pass through another village in oyo that look like they aren't part of the on going world, I doubt if electricity get to that village or good water. And the fact about this village is that most of the house are built with mud, the red mud, , come rain and sun this house will still stand, many of this house are over 15years old and many others are way older than 15years.

Most of this people that live in this village don't concern themselves with the outside world, most of their occupation is farming as they have big farm land, and they can provide for their family, and they also make money from the farm produce since that have access to road.

The farm, just one of the few

I finally got to Ilorin and took an cab to my grandma's place where I do stay, I took a shower, cook noodles and ate, slept and I was relieved when I woke up. I unpack my things and decided to check my activities on read.cash, then I was like, let me use my laptop to access the site then boom!! My laptop screen broke, ink poured on it and it was so bad.

I just put my hand over my head and tears almost ran out my eyes, the pain I felt was unmeasurable, it was like I lost a loved one. And for the repair, it would take $40 or more, where will I get the money, I was confused, I couldn't eat anymore , I was just looking at the screen. It just spoil my mood for the day and till now, I still feel bad about it.

Thanks for reading😭😭😭

Lead image from unsplash.com

6
$ 1.63
$ 1.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Kristofferquincy
$ 0.02 from @jasglaybam
+ 1
Sponsors of FashTioluwa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for FashTioluwa
2 years ago

Comments

Oh, this is really frustrating, from the bus scarcity, the struggle for a seat, bad road, and then your laptop. I'm genuinely frustrated, I can only imagine how you must feel. So sorry you had to go through this

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks, still haven't gotten over the trauma, but I'm getting better😭😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you're feeling better

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so so much ❤❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First the stress on the journey now a broken laptop screen. I just hope you hey to repair all soon because the stress of using your phone to write an article isn't easy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope so, but getting the money won't be an easy task

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. I know right. Don't worry, you'll get it quick. A good Samaritan will come your way, just be positive l.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope so, I hope what you say come to pass

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sorry about what happened to your laptop great writer.....but it's too early to share tears 😭,hope you repair that soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The repair is just what on my mind right now, I can't even eat properly again 😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so sorry about what happened. I do hope you'd be able to repair the laptop screen any time soon. I can already imagine how you feel and how expensive it would be to repair.

I'm so sorry.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The repair fee, anytime I think about it.. Its always give me headache

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The dust is just another torment on its own so i can relate a little to what you are saying

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Send me a DM

$ 0.00
2 years ago