Back To School: A new journey

17 36
Avatar for FashTioluwa
2 years ago
Topics: School, Myself

Even after in the inevitable strike that is going on in my country by the academic body known as ASUU, I’m glad my institution wasn’t affected by the strike and that is because I’m in a polytechnic, the polytechnic academic board is different from that of the university. You can know more about ASUU in one of my previous article. FEDERAL GOVERNMENT VS ASUU

Currently I was on a semester break, I was home enjoy the holiday to the best I can but now the holiday is over and I have to resume back to continue my education, if left to me to decide, I won’t be going back this early cause it’s only a week to resumption. Other university that are on semester break too cant resume even when the resumption date has pass and this is because of the strike that is currently on.

One of the main reason for my early resumption is because I’m the class representative, the job of the class representative is very tedious, especially now that I’m in my final year, many of my course mate keep calling me to ask if I have resume back to school and I keep telling them no, after some days I got a call from my Head of department (HOD) he said I must resume back to school this week, he said most student refuse to resume because of my absent, which I know is true, the time table has been sent to the class group and I expected them to resume cause the time table is out, but reverse is the case.

I have missed the first class representative forum meeting, but I sure won’t miss the second, the director of the institute also had a meeting with the class representative which I also miss, so this is a more reason I have to resume early, I also learnt that my Personal Assistant (PA) hasn’t resume also after I made it mandatory for her to resume before me, I’m not acting like a boss, I want her there to be my eyes and ears but now I have to go and things clear.

I’m at the final stage of my studies, I have seen many article my prominent people here talking about how their final year in school was, this last semester, there is bound to be many activities like the departmental party, project writing, FYB week, debate, and many more, this will cost me a lot of money because I have to participate in most of them as the class representative, though no one will miss project writing, currently some are in their final chapter while I’m here without a topic for my project yet, but I will do better when I resume.

The job of a class representative.

You might wonder what the job of the class representative is, you must have since some movies, especially Kdrama where there is always a class representative in a class, or other movies, or even in your school, you must have come across a class representative.

The job of a class representative is very tedious as I represent 650 student of my department, where should I start from, it is my job to inform the lecturer of the class we have next before the class or immediately after we are done with one, firstly I have to call from my personal call credit, sometimes there might be an impromptu test and I have to pass the information to the class, some student gets angry at me like I’m the one that invoke the test, some would say why can’t I tell the lecturer to cancel the test and set it another time when they are ready, some would be in the hostel and start rushing to class blaming me for not trying to slow down the lecturer.

The fact is, any error made by the lecturer or the student is blamed on the class representative, but that hasn’t stop me from performing my duties well. My course mate calls me the awesome class rep and I like it. I’m going back to school to finish the journey I started 7years ago, I wish myself the best of luck.

Thanks for reading, thanks for always being here, if I should mention names of people that have always been here with me, this would be a 50min read article.

Sponsors of FashTioluwa
empty
empty
empty

Thanks to my sponsors too. I really appreciate all you do

Lead image from unsplash.com

Article title: Back to school
Date: 02/04/2022
Author: FashTioluwa

8
$ 1.04
$ 0.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ellawrites
$ 0.02 from @kingofreview
+ 3
Sponsors of FashTioluwa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for FashTioluwa
2 years ago
Topics: School, Myself

Comments

Congratulations friend now that you are in your final year . I really need to tell you that you need to show more effort keeping on rocking and happy new month I guessed I haven't tell you that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Smiles

Thanks Thomas.. Happy new month too... Well I will be waiting to see more articles from you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Boss has a PA, let's remove cap🧢🧢. Being the class captain has lots of advantages with little disadvantages. Them no dey run dry for money💪 because....🤔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, exactly, that money part is true, and when you run out and ask your fellow course mate. They won't believe you're broke

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being a class representative is hard you know they put a blame on you if you scored low or missed up something, that position is hard, because you are pressured to work, study hard to win a bottles, if you lose they will blame you yet they never know how hard that position is

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly, its all the fault of the class rep when anything goes wrong, and I have to study more than other student

$ 0.00
2 years ago

7 years is a big deal. I'm happy you're already in your final year Congratulations to that I wish you more success

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Amen.. Thanks Okeh, I really appreciate this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being the class rep is not easy at all, I know the stress they pass through, I can stress them though but me ooh, I can't comman be doing class rep, the stress they go through is not here abeg.

Congratulations on your final year in school, wahala for who choose school wey dae under ASSU, you said "7years ago" does this mean you're already in HND?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah,I'm in HND already😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are really trying as the class rep. It's not easy at all. Have you ever thought about ruling with an iron fist? 😏

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I run it both with iron and soft fist, you know how we have different kind of human in school.. Higher institutions for that matter😭😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂 I know

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy resumption bro, we are still on strike in my school and I am tired already.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

One day one day, you will resume 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're the class rep? That's cool 🙌 it's normal for people to always wait for the class rep to resume before they even think about it lol. We'll done sha, that's not an easy responsibility

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, food stuff thats just delaying me but I will be in school on tuesday

$ 0.00
2 years ago