Chemistry for Engineers

26 40
Avatar for Eymteen
3 years ago

Hi everyone. 😁 How are you? I hope you are all doing fine. Allow me to share my experience and the learnings I have gained from the subject Chemistry for Engineers during my 1st year in college.

To my fellow aspiring engineers out there, I would really be glad to read your experiences on this subject.

To my fellow writers here on read.cash, I hope you'll also take some time to appreciate the beauty of chemistry and how big its contribution is to the world.

What is Chemistry for Engineers?

“Chemistry for Engineers deals with the study of composition, structure, properties, and reactions of matter which aid engineers in choosing the right materials for a particular application and which give them the right knowledge about different substances and matter which they will need as they pursue their engineering profession”, that is how the subject Chemistry for Engineers is usually defined. But as I take up the subject, I realized that it is way more than that typical definition. For months, I have learned so much from it, to the point that it exceeded my expectations from the subject. It gave me knowledge not just on the composition and properties of matter, not just on the structure of different substances and the reactions taking place between them which was the typical lessons being taught in high school, but, I was able learn something new and more practical lessons. The subject has showed me the bigger picture of chemistry; the real life applications of every reaction between substances, and the appropriate uses of every matter or substance depending on its composition and classification. And more than that, the subject has showed me the importance of Chemistry to my chosen profession which is the field of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering, which before, I’m not aware of.

What have I learned?

I gained a lot of new lessons which my high school education has failed to give. The subject gave me a better understanding on the rules of oxidation numbers, and the different chemical reactions especially redox reaction. Although a part of it was already taught in high school, it was not really explained well. It is the subject chemistry for engineers which really gave me a clear picture of what these reactions look like, and where do these occur in real-life situations.

In addition, the subject also taught me the principles behind thermochemistry, if what is thermochemistry, what is specific heat, what is heat capacity, what is the difference between these two, and how to compute solving problems involving heat (heat gain and heat lost).

Aside from that, I have also learned some of the important concepts of oxidation-reduction chemistry of natural waters, particularly: dissolved oxygen, biochemical oxygen demand, chemical oxygen demand, decomposition of organic matter in water, sulphur compounds in water, purification of water, and contamination of ground water and remediation.

From these concepts, I have learned that dissolved oxygen is affected by altitude, the higher the altitude is, the lesser the oxygen which can be dissolved.

Moreover, I have also gained knowledge about the decomposition of organic matter in water and the different ways to purify or disinfect a polluted water. Aside from the chemistry of water, I have also learned about the chemistry of the atmosphere, chemistry of air pollution, chemistry of the soil, soil pollution and how to mitigate it, crystal structures, the difference between amorphous solids and crystalline solids, the different bonding in solids, band theory of metals, metallurgy, metal properties and reactions, and the different polymers which comprises almost all widely used products and materials being sold in the market. The learnings which I have just mentioned are just a summary or a brief overview of all that I have actually learned during our 6-hour lecture, discussions, and laboratory activities every week.

However, among all the learnings which I have gained from the subject may it be academically or in terms of real-life applications, I think the most significant which it embedded in me is the application of chemistry to my chosen career, if how important chemistry is in engineering, and how will I utilize my learnings from the subject if the time comes that I’ll be working as an engineer.

What is the Significance of Chemistry to Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering?

What is really the significance of chemistry to Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering? That is my biggest question just before the subject Chemistry for Engineers gave me the answer.

Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering is defined as the application of engineering science and designs to the processes and systems involved in the sustainable production, post production and processing of safe food, feed, fiber, timber and other agricultural and biological materials and the efficient utilization, conservation, and management of natural and renewable resources in order to enhance human health in harmony with the environment. Agricultural and biosystems consist of crops, forestry and other plants, poultry, livestock, fisheries and aquaculture resources and other animals, wildlife and other living things. Meanwhile, chemistry deals with compounds, both organic and inorganic, and agriculture deals with the production of organic products using both organic and inorganic inputs. Thus, chemistry forms an integral part of agriculture from molecular to organ level. It plays an important role starting from the photosynthesis to the utilization of agricultural products. The advancements in this practice is all because of the active research carried out in chemistry and its applications in making agricultural lands more productive and at the same time protecting it from deterioration and misuse.

Furthermore, chemistry also play an important role in irrigation which is one of the specializations of ABE. The plastic pipes being used in irrigation engineering was actually derived from chemistry. This has developed irrigation massively which results in a better environment for the crops to prosper in. Chemistry is also part of storage and preservation of agriculture products - sulfur dioxide is used to keep grain fresh and useable for a longer period of time, food preservatives like sodium benzoate and salicylic acid are also used for longer shelf life and new generation of refrigerators have been developed.

Even in food processing which is part of food engineering – another specialization of ABE, we can find chemistry, it is the branch of science which is responsible for the development of Saccharin and sweeteners, Vitamins and minerals. Food packaging has also advanced due to the material produced by advancements in chemistry. Agricultural chemistry has increased the diversity of the human diet and has led to a greater overall availability of food. Consumers have benefited from new technologies that have enhanced the flavor, appearance, availability, and nutritional value of their food.

The advancement in Chemistry has also resulted in the development of technologies to produce a variety of chemicals from agricultural waste products. Indeed, chemistry does not only play a significant role in the works of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering, but it also helps in reducing and recycling the amount of agricultural wastes being produced by agricultural farms and facilities.

Chemistry has indeed been and is still closely linked to the progress in the agricultural field. It provides innovative new ways to widen the boundaries of agriculture and to combat potential problems and thus increasing productivity and quality of agricultural products.


P.S. My special thanks to @Ashma for inspiring everyone here on read.cash to write more quality articles and to continue in improving ourselves everyday. Keep helping and motivating people ❣

I'm also glad to join  "Get Sponsored community. The idea of this community is to sponsor quality content creators and reward community members for their activities. Join if you want to  "Get Sponsored 

10
$ 0.23
$ 0.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Eymteen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eymteen
3 years ago

Comments

Though I'm a student of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.. But i'm looking forward to like your post. Hope oneday it will works as you’ve mentioned.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

YesToABE ❤❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes na yes!😍 Fighting future engr. ❣ Kita daw su pag asa kang Agrikultura sa Pilipinas.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yep. Pag asa ng pilipinas

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amazing article and also very informative. Thanks for sharing this article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much sis 😍 I just suddenly thought of sharing the hidden beauty of chemistry though it had gave me numerous headaches back when I was still taking it up haha. 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're always welcome dear ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can see your love and affection towards chemistry. And you being proud as an Agricultural and Biosystema Engineering student❤ Keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks sis. 😂🙊 kaso di daw enough su paglove na tinao ta sabi ni sir kaya dae man makaogma su grade na tinao. char hahahahaha yes i'm a proud Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering student. 👷‍♀️ Hope to get that license soon. I'm also wishing you all the best in your engineering journey. I'm looking forward to seeing you succeed in this field. I hope you continue to promote agriculture. Godbless 🙏

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahahhaa. Ibang level of love man kase ang gusto ni sir. Hahahahhahaha anyways i am praying also for your success and safety😊 Godbless❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True hahahaha. Thank you so much. 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can see that you love chemistry based on your article. Thank you for this I learned a Lot.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Actually yes i love chemistry back when I was in high school. It used to be my most favorite science subject. But when I took up the subject 'Chemistry for Engineers', i was brought to a whole different world of chemistry. That's when I realized that chemistry is really not your ordinary science. It can be very difficult at times. It requires you to widen your imagination. You know, i find it crazy sometimes, studying molecules, atoms, ions, etc, things which cannot even be seen by your naked eye. Well, that's how science works haha. 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha yes, thank you for sharing your experience about chemistry💞💞

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I find this subject difficult. I really didn't understand easy the concepts here. Especially to the different chemical reactions and balancing equations

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi pawpy. 😁 Same feels. Chemistry is fun but its lessons are quite difficult to decipher especially those complicated one. It requires a lot of studying and deep understanding. But anyway, the important thing is we managed to survive. Good job future engr. ❣ everything will soon paid off.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We did manage to survice but we doesn't fully understand the concepts of chemistry. But still small learning is still a learning.

Difficult ka jan, matalion ka

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed, our experience in CFE subject has showed us the bigger picture of chemistry and everything that lies beyond the definition of chemistry that we just used to memorize. It is really fascinating how chemistry is present everywhere in this universe and most of all its great influence towards providing innovative new ways for cultivating the agricultural sector. I hope this article would reach a lot of people for them to realize the beauty of chemistry and its power to change the world.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed. Very well said madam. 😍 thank you for that wonderful comment. i think chemistry is really worth sharing, the fact that almost everything in this world has a touch of chemistry. Even if it's not our major field of study, it's still good that we have enough knowledge on it. It will greatly help us as we go on with our journey in the engineering field. Btw, keep safe always. 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I studied mechanical engineering and my final year project was solely based on chemistry, I really learnt a lot from chemistry doing that project..

We really have a lot relating engineering and chemistry..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. You're amazing. What's your project? You must be a genius, i know how hard it is to create something based from the principles and theorems under chemistry. I remembered when my group conducted an experiment on electroplating, it failed a lot of times, i can't even remember how many times we need to repeat it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was on corrosion, and I had to create an inhibitor which would reduce corrosion rate in steel (mild steel and stainless steel)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow that's a very nice project. Another useful contribution to the community since a lot of our materials today are made of steel. 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article. And i agree with you. I liked your article and subscribe you. Plz back me sub. Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much. 😍 done subscribing 😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago