Reminiscing how I became a gamer...

61 65
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

July 7, 2021

It was my first day of work at this leading game company back then, I was hired as the CEO's Executive Assistant and I can still remember how excited I was back then. I arrived at the office before 8am, that was the culture that I learned from my past job, always come to the office before your boss came in. But when I arrived my boss was already inside her room and she asked me to join her for a morning coffee. While having coffee the first question that she asked me is "do you play online games?" And I answered her no, thought that would be the right answer since I was there for a job and that was the truth. And her next question was why? By that time I was already puzzled if my answer was right or wrong so I did explain to her why. Was already nervous because I really don't know if my answer was right but I don't want to lie because the real truth is aside from phone games I have never crossed with any online game. Our conversation went on until we finished our coffee. And before that first meeting ended she told me to call the IT Group to asked them to install all the games that the company have in my computer. She told me to play all the games that the company have. And that was the start of my life as an online gamer.

Rose online

This was the first game that I played because its the cutest game for me at that time, although Ragnarok is on its peak of stardom that time. It is a multi media online role playing game (MMORPG). You can choose a character that you want and you can dress it up too. I think, the you can dress up your character part is what attracts me the most.

Source

So, I started playing, the character I chose was the healer or as other calls it cleric, I wasn't aware of what it can do at the time I just chose it and my basis for choosing was how the character look like. I got hooked playing it because while you are playing you can also chat to other gamers plus the interface of the game was too cute to resist. After a couple of months of playing that game one of the brand manager asked to play the game that he is handling and so I played flyff then. Another cutie game where you can also dress up the character and at the same time build it up for combat. Ever since then I always choose to be a healer. Playing flyff gives me sleepless night because of the dungeon raid and leveling up my character until one day another game was launched .

Perfect World

Perfect World was one of the most popular MMORPGs in Asia, including here in the Philippines. The game has an easy to grasp rewarding combat system and it had a rich world and lore to go along with. It's a 3D game where you can customize your character, so I guess you can imagine how fun it is to play. And this time I really play well like an addict. Imagine, I come to the office as early as 6am and leave the office as late as 12 midnight just to play this game and not only that I also spend with this game. At first, I enjoyed playing it without spending but when the game releases new fashion to dress up the character and easy to use potions so my character can level up fast that is when I started buying load.

Look at those fashion that we have LOL btw that's my character and my friends

The game is really addicting with a wonderful map that you can explore like you are traveling to a different country plus I met new friends that I play with from early morning till midnight. We even do conference call while playing just to be sure that we can kill all the mobs that we need to kill especially if we are in the dungeon.

Dungeon hunt

Can you see that blue ball in that picture? That's the way I leave my character back then. That blue ball is like a auto heal to all the members of the party. That's where I use the potion that I buy just so my friends character and mine can level up without getting killed by the mobs. When they break the party the auto-heal will stop too.

The only time I stopped playing was when one of the customer service staff approached and asked me if I want to see how much am I spending per month on that game and I said yes. After seeing the digits I realized that I did spend so much for it and so I stopped myself playing that game.

I did stop playing it but my character is still alive up to now, my friends who I met online are still my friends up to now and I think we've been friends for about 10 years now and they are still playing and earning from it. Did I earn from it? Yes but only after I stopped playing and If I want to sell my character it can give me a good fortune but I don't want to sell it because I feel that apart of me is with that character.

Closing thoughts

Being a gamer is so much fun, You can earn from it but of course you also have to spend for it. It is also a way to gain friends not just virtually but real friends. It teaches you to be patient, to be a team player and the most important is it teaches you to be better in Strategy, planning and multitasking.

How about you? Do you love playing games too?

All images and words are mine unless source mentioned

Thanks for your time reading this article, if you enjoy reading it hope you're gonna click that button to like and subscribe. You may also drop a comment down below so we can talk for a bit.

18
$ 12.89
$ 12.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Just1dood
+ 11
Sponsors of Eylz2021
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

Comments

You know when i was younger, i thought games are for boys only hahaha and then one time, i heard you and kuya talking about this game called perfect world and thought that it’s weird because you’re a girl and you play games πŸ˜‚ but look at me now hahaha spending money on games so my character would look cute πŸ˜‚

$ 0.05
2 years ago

And you are here caui! Planning to write articles now?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Soon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good evening! I do love playing games but those simple games lang like Plants vs. ZOmbies. Haha! Pero I admire you po on how you become a gamer.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks Marinov!! I do play plants vs zombies too hahaha playing was may way of relaxation before but now its noise and read haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh really? Uhm oo nga no, siguro noon yun nung medyo bata bata pa. 😁 Wow! That's nice to know that those two platforms are your way of relaxation. No wonder your articles are great too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala ang ganda niya laruin πŸ₯Ί kaso hindi kakayanin ng cellphone ko at hindi na ako nakakapag laro dahil focua na ako kay readcash 😊 .. Binubuhos ko time ko sa pagbabasa at pagsusulat ng article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha pareho tayo waley na time to play

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello. It is actually awesome for me to see women being an online gamer. Feel ko kasi ang cool tingnan. Kaso ako, parang wala talaga akong talent sa games. 🀣 Yung alam ko lang na laro is yung snake sa nokia na phone non. I tried to play ML pala, kaso di rin nagtagal. Complicated siya for me, and yung patience ko to learn ang ikli lang kaya nag gigive up ako agad matuto. πŸ˜…

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha hindi ako naglaro ng ML ayoko ng maliit na screen malabo kasi mata ko πŸ˜‚ tsaka delicates ako sa laro mapusok ako pag nainis ako na d ko magawa nagastos ako para mag upgrade πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha 🀣 baka pag nainis ka matapon mo yung phone. Delikado! 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Luuuh.. Ang cute nung pagkatuto mo at hilig sa online games haha. Anyways, naadik din po ako sa online games, yung C9 una ko nalaro parang perfect world siya. Kaadik haha. Then last month huli kong laro ng ML. Well, I didn't spend too much naman. Buti nastop mo pa ate? Haha. And yeah, being patient talaga and mapapaisip talaga ng mga strategies.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Well pagnakita mo na yung spending mo sa game is bigger than your salary mapapaisip ka hahaha and nanghinayang ako sa pera eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Iba na talaga yon. Ayusin ang desisyon sa buhay ganern. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did read this when you first published it, but was in a rush so didn't comment. Did sound quite a cool job to have, so why did you leave?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Why did I leave? I can't stay being carefree my boss offered me to go with her in a broadcasting company with a good salary than what I had there... And you know we can't stay young forever we have to grow so i accepted it .. πŸ˜‰ no regrets I also had fun there

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So you followed your boss? We can stay young forever in our minds though 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep . In our minds but not in our pocket and knowledge in life πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh you love to pop a bubble 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just don't want to keep on dreaming then will wake up that it's all just a dream πŸ˜‚ hey you're awake early! Good morning!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well then it is a day dream. Sorry am late, got busy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I tried some, the ones that you can play in your phone, but I forgot what games were those. I think that's still considered online, no? lol!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha as long as it uses data yes its considered as online πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ko alam Ate pero di ako mahilig sa online games. Siguro di lang niya ako type, ni isang laro, wala sa cellphone ko haha.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha pero mahilig ka sa anime? D yata talaga para sa lahat ang online ganes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's good to hear that you work at this leading company. And the reason of your being a gamer is good. Once I heard a story of doctors who were being taught of different kind of pain. Bt they were not feeling it practically. So, a senior professor came and make them feel it.....Your's one is kinda this. haha....without playing on line games it becomes like a blind people in such a company.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yep that is actually true.. i really appreciate working in that company after i learned to play.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala, mapapa-sana all ako sa dating work mo, sis. Dream job ko yan e hahaha.

I've been playing mmorpg since Ragnarok Online days. Adik lang hehehe. I actually published an article, ramblings about being a girl gamer πŸ˜‚

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahahaha ang saya maglaro di ba? D ko syado naappreciate ang ro kasi 2D hahaha hanapin ko article mo later

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, yes! Parang natatransport ka sa magical world. Pero ngayon hindi na muna ako naglalaro, wala talagang oras.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kahit ako waley na din oras eh...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're such a good gamer. Yes, we can earn from those games, some of. But we spend money too. You're boss is so cool, I think its part also since you are in a gaming company atleast you've experience those things. It gives you a learnings also. God bless you.πŸ™πŸ˜‡

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks! Yep it's one of the coolest job i had but of course no matter how cool it is one also strive for personal growth. god bless you too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that's true there are many things that we need to explore and develop to our hidden fate. You're always welcome.❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dream job... playing games all day! I'll gladly do overtime too. What an interesting job you have. Also an interesting game that you played. I agree with you. Playing games teaches us to be better at planning, strategize and I think a team player.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yep.. playing online games is not all about playing it teaches you a lot of things too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung bata sa bahay gamer dn.. may chinese game na adik laruin.. Ako never pa.. Pero grabe. Exec asst ng CEO? bat ka nagresign?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Lumipat kami ng boss ko sa TV5.. then after nun nag Australia na ako tapos balik eto balik pinas hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayos ah. Gusto ko ng boss na ganyan, sis hehe. When you market your service, dapat gamer ka :D Para alam mo pasikot sikot, sis hehe.

Ako di ako gamer eh. Kahit isang game sa phone ko, waley. Yung anak ko ang diehard gamer :D

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha after working with that gaming company nasa puso ko na ang paglalaro until now d n nga lang kasi adik like before pero winner din talaga yung boss ko na yun hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Paturo, sis! Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tara 🀭 sobrang aliw maglaro sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Baka maadik ako mas lalong wala akong magawa sa bahay, sis hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I could only imagine the fear when your boss asked why you don't play online games. The fear, if you were you right or wrong for saying the truth Hahahaha, I get that a lot, and most times I am worried if my response would have come differently but what's the point of trying to sugarcoat something if it really isn't what it is lol.

But that was by the way, I really don't play online games, other than the ones I find on play store in our mobile phones. I read that you get to dress your characters, that's cool you know. I have always loved games that I get to fix up my model or character but it's just not online games but the ones on my mobile device lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was really glad i told her the truth... because of that I was able to play while at work πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ imagine your day is paid and you are just working 🀭🀭🀭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I can't imagine lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pinaglaro kapo talaga ni boss mo? Hahaha wala lang napaka cool lang, pero since nasa Gaming company ka I think kelangan mo lang din talaga malaman tho di naman siguro ata siya required matutunan but the I think the CEO only wants her employee to atleast have some knowledge about what the company does.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Actually required sya kasi ayaw nya na may magtatanong about the game tapos wala ka alam about it. Plus most ng mga nakakadeal namin is investors so tama lang talaga na alam nmin yung game

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Waahhh. May topic kana hahaha.

Ako Hindi mahilig sa game , natatawa nga ako dati kailangan ko maglaro Kasi mag oorganize ako ng free play πŸ˜‚ Assault fire days yun saka brawl buster

$ 0.05
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Hahaha that is the reason why pinaglaro nya ako.. so by the time nag start na ang mga events nakakasama ako.. btw matagal na naka bank tong article na to d ko lang mtapos hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh well, that's such a nice one. But I haven't played an online game before so I don't even understand those stuff even when people talk so much about it. I am a gamer! I am a gamer! But I really don't get themπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

I am glad you enjoying becoming a gamer and you met some cool friends too who are still your friends up till now.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahahaha you'll never get them unless you really play... I don't get them too before, I hate it when they are trash talking while playing but after I played I understand all that behavior

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ experience will always have a way of teaching us things lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your CEO still looking for someone to hire? raising my hand slowly LOLS .. that was a cool place to work in! Nooo! You have a cool boss!

I get easily influenced to play something. I remember a younger colleague telling me what to play. I'm not really very good at playing any games I just enjoy them a lot. haha.

haven't reached as far as selling characters or accounts.. wow!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

yep.. she is really cool! actually when she transferred sa TV5 binitbit din nya ako dun hahaha so pareho na kami wala sa gaming world but she is really COOL!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ako maka get-over! Ang saya lang! hahaha. . . how was that like though.. shifting from a seemingly light environment to a totally non-playing TV5?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At first it was hard.. it's a total different environment imagine going to work wearing jeans and shirt and then all of a sudden you have to wear corporate attire ang hirap kaya but work wise its almost the same dun lang talaga ako nahirapan ksi i have to buy new clothes ulit to look formal and then sa bgc pa ofc namin nun πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

uy yun nga shift from jeans to corporate and syempre most likely hindi din laid back lols.. fuun! BGC commute? yung pila pa talaga ang bus papasok ng BGC dun sa Ayala MRT?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually fun din sa TV5 yes corporate set up pero dahil nasa digital group kami nde kami traditional corp setting. Pero work wise ang dami talaga hahha dun ako natuto mag budget projection for the whole year πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wow! congrats..budget projection ang nag turn off sakin sa PM role hahahah sinama ako ng boss ko one time sa meeting nila.. kita ko stress niya ih. hahaha. stress din ako. haha..

Saya ng experience mo! :) nice nice nice!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha nakakabaliw kaya sa meeting ng budget πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago