Don't let your candle melt

50 70
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

October 21, 2021

I watched a video early this afternoon and its title is "Change your closet, change your life" by Gillian Dunn at TEDxWhiteRock conference. And i'll share with you what I learned about her talk and if you want to watch the video here is the link.

Sponsors of Eylz2021
empty
empty
empty
check them out! they are wonderful people who have wonderful articles. 

Her talk started with a story of an ornate candle that she bought and she didn't use it. She just put it in the closet because she thought it's not yet time to use the candle and that she is saving it for a special day and she forgot about it until after two years she remembered the candle and thought that it's the right time to use it. However, when she opened the box, the beautiful ornate candle that she bought had melted already. The candle has served its purpose because it was really meant to melt. But what she realized is, the candle melted without her enjoying it.

It is also just like some of the other stuff that we buy. We buy things but we don't use them because we are always saving them for that special occasion.

click the photo for credits

I bet you also have some clothes in your closet that you are saving for that special occasion. Candles that you bought that is just seating on the table without lighting it up. Shoes that's been there in the shoe rack waiting to be used. Book in the shelves that's waiting to be read. Earrings that's been hanging for over a year now without touching it.

I bet you also have that Chinaware that's been there in a cupboard for so many years now. Or maybe you have that beautiful sheets that you are saving for the time when you have special guests in your house.

We always save things for a special occasion or for that right time. We bought things that look good on us and yet we don't wear them because we always thought that it's not yet the right time to wear them. Or we thought that dress is too much for that occasion or sometimes we thought it's not enough. Or we thought it is too beautiful to wear for that occasion. We always hide or keep things that we bought that we thought were too beautiful to be used today. But when are you going to use it?

She also shared about the two mindsets of humans.

One is, I am not enough and the second is I don't have enough.

Which is if you are going to think about it, we always thought that these two are always present in our vocabulary. We always thought that we are not enough and that we don't have enough, that's why we ended up buying things that we thought could fill our inadequacy. However, the reality is, material things couldn't fill that inadequacy unless we change our mindset.

You see, we never know what will happen next. Life does change in an instant. What if the time to wear that beautiful dress doesn't come? What if those candles just melt without you seeing them lit up? What if those cute stiletto shoes have just worn out because you are not using them? What if you run out of time to use it?

click the photo for credits

Let's stop making excuses and enjoy using the stuff that we keep on saving for that special moment. Make today be that special day, make today be that special moment. Wear that beautiful dress over dinner with your family, Lit up that candle while you're enjoying a nice warm bath. Wear that cute stiletto and let the world appreciate it on your feet.

It may be big stuff for you but if you will really look at it. They are just small stuff that can make you smile if you use them. Don't let your life slip without enjoying it or rather don't let life melt without having fun.

And don't let your candle melt.


lead image source

Thanks for your time reading this article, if you enjoy reading it hope you're gonna click that button to like and subscribe. By the way, let's talk some more so I hope you will leave a comment below and share with me your thoughts.

©Eylz2021|#ClubBrokeBCH

All Original content unless specified otherwise ;)

21
$ 15.91
$ 15.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
+ 15
Sponsors of Eylz2021
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

Comments

Super Agree po ako dito. Minsan ang dami dami nating binibili na hindi naman natin kailangan tapos bandang huli po ay hindi naman natin nagagamit. Relate din po ako dito, may mga gamit at damit din po ako na nirereserved pero bandang huli po ay hindi ko naman nagagamit dahil naluma na po o kinailiitan ko na po.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha ganun nga.. ako din ganyan minsan lalo na sa damit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo eh minsan tuloy nakakapanghinayang lang po buti na lang po may mga bata akong pinsan kaya binibigay ko na lang po sa kanila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, relate ako talaga. Bili ng bili ng damit sa ukay halos di naman sinusuot lahat. Bili ng bili ng mga shoes, di ginagamit as a result, napapak lang sya, nong isusuot na, yon sira na. meron din akong mga scented candles mga bigaya sa akiin, di ko pa nacheck kung namelt na. Mga regalo sa amin sa kasal, may di pa talaga nagamit until now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so true, kung mababasa lang ito ni mama, daming mga tupperware na di ginagamit kasi tinatago lng nya, ayun na butas kasi kinagat kagat ng maliliit na daga.

I have so many clothes in my closet that I often wear because I feel like I'm not confident enough to wear it ate. But I realized the purpose of those clothes are for me to build my confident and stop worrying about what other people think. Although, I'm also fond in saving my money for things that I truly need in the future din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here that does not happen, you buy it and immediately use it, keep it in case it was bought for an upcoming event, otherwise it is part of the daily use. We melt those candles at once.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

good to hear that... though i admit I'm guilty with clothes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I loved reading this article. It happened to me and yes if i look around the house I can find unboxed items. I guess it is an eye opener to use things, that we have, because we can miss enjoying them. Good article. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks Peter! yep, let's enjoy those things that we are saving for later.. or maybe we just forget about them... and let's make each moment special :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a huge one. A great lesson to be learn, we should make the moment special, instead of waiting for the special moment, when the special moment come, it will definitely be special and more better things will come .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

let's keep on making each moment special ... and it will make make us feel good too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May niregalo sa akin lately na cute ceramic bowls. Ayoko gamitin gusto ko idisplay lang tas binasa ko. Sige na nga gamitin ko paminsan minsan hehe. As for those dresses and evening gowns organize ka ng read cash christmas party virtual tas suot tau lahat ng gowns haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

oist ang saya non ahahahaha let see if i can find time to organize a virtual christmas party. sali ka mag organize ha hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe go! Basta mag gown tau a hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This article is a word for everybody. In one way or the other, we find ourselves doing this and it seems inevitable. Lol Now that you brought this points to our knowledge, we are now seeing it from another angle that it's good we utilizes our long storred clothes before it... Just like your last point said, "what if we run out of time?" Thank you for the knowledge

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yep.. especially these days that death is happening everywhere...and in all ages.. so let's not waste time and live at the moment. enjoy what we have instead of saving it for later

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I usually don't buy if I'm not 100% sure I wear it. I don't like to waste things, food for example. But sometimes I buy candles or incense sticks with the perfumes I love and these particular 2 things make me a sort of mean person... Cos I don't want to finish them too fast with the inner fear of not finding them in the future if I run out! I will finished like Gillian Dunn and will find my candles melted and incense sticks deteriorated... 🙄

$ 0.01
2 years ago

aw that's too bad... let's start lighting those candles and enjoy them.. we maynot find the same scent next time.. but least you were able to enjoy it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ako guilty ako sa mga damit...c mama ko guilty sa mga kitchenware hahah

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ahahaha ako guilty parehas lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mahilig ka rin pala mag keep nang mga tupperwares and utensils maam hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

si nanay ang mahilig sa tupperware.. namana ko lang yung mga gamit nya hehe.. pero love ko mag ipon ng chinaware :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah namana mo lahat hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm guilty for having a clothes but I didn't wear it though. I'm always saving it for the right occasion but it seems that I need to used that now haha. You're right ,it's not always for kept or to save for later because sometimes it's better to create a memories wearing them

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahaha i'm guilty of it too! looks like i'll recheck all the clothes that are hanging in my closet and start using them again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omoo, sa totoo lang di kasi ako mahilig mag bibili ee (wala kasing kwarta 🤫😂). Namimili lang ako, pag yong damit ko lumang luma na talaga at meed ng palitan. Bumibili ko pag kailangan na talaga. Kukunti lang din gamit ko kaya wala akong ganito ahahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahahaha sana ganyan din ako... mahilig din kasi ako magtabi ng bagay bagay tapos nakakalimutan ko na na meron pala ako hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's funny how we save stuff for later and end up not using them at all. But yes, we should not do that and enjoy every moment of life

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yes sis... now is more important than later... remember we have no idea what will happen next

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I'm not a fan of saving stuff for later...
BUT BUT I am guilty with books. . . come pandemic.. i'm guilty with shoes ahha. . i hope my sports shoes are still fine. hayst..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

guilty with clothes that are just there in my closet lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You’ve got a wonderful write up. Most times we buy things and do not make use of them. Why?? Because we’re saving them for a special outing. We all don’t need to do that. As long as we bought it just to enjoy it, we don’t need to keep it for any occasion

$ 0.01
2 years ago

i guess.. we really should change our ways now... anyway.. we really don't know if there's later :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah you right, what is the purpose if you didn't used it, I'd rather to give to the other, than to keep it,, I don't like to keep some stuff if I don't used it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

i'm guilty! lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

every day or rather every year we take out at home what is not used and give it to other people who will really enjoy it. I don't use to keep things but if there are some things that I buy I use them and that's it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

that's the way it should be :) though i think i also need to clean up my closet and give away some clothes that's been there for sometime now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg this really hit me hahaha I have a lot of clothes I don't wear because I served it for special occasion, and also I bought a lot of things I never use and just displayed it in my room, like last month I bought a pair of plaid long sleeves and a roller skates but I never wear and use them, I think I should change my behavior towards things from now hahaha anyways good article I love it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahaha when are you going to use them? lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha I don't even know either hahahaha I just bought them thinking that I will wear them if someone's invited me to go out or just gonna use them as sleepwear Hahahshhsa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I have those stuff at home that I bought, but I didn't use. Because I get fat, some of my clothes are kept. I use ordinary clothes all the time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahaha guilty here too! still got lots of clothes that. I can give away but .... lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Live the moment! . Most times we keep on pushing something that will benefit us or make us happy till further notice. We believe it's being smart and prudent. But the few moments we take out time to spend on ourselves will matter in the long run.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yep..have to live at the moment and make the most of it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is like, you woke up today and decided to give an advise to the Blackdoll on Read cash lol.... I have this problem, I need to start living my life using every damn thing I bought

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha seriously?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes seriously, I'm a new clothes hoarder, that too for years lol.. I'm ashamed of it for sure, and have reduced buying in recent times

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you can start using them now :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes we keep those clothes so well, for a super occasion, and we never end up wearing them!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yep! And when there's a special occasion were gonna look for something nice again

$ 0.00
2 years ago