Simple Gesture To Know If You're Dating A Gentleman

58 91
Avatar for Eybyoung
1 year ago

It's always a must that a woman should date a gentleman, gentle enough to handle her even on her dramatic days. I've been with my future husband for eleven years, I dated him when I was 18 years old. Prior in meeting him, I've already encountered different men so I can asses the difference between dating a gentleman and an asshole.

I started flirting when I was 15 years old, I had my first kiss on that age. I flirt so young and early because why not? Haha! Kidding aside, I don't regret flirting at early age as I got to know what characteristics of men should I consider dating seriously and not. I don't encourage minors to date early, just do it when you're up to and you are already aware of what you are doing to avoid harming yourself in the later part.

Simple gestures to know you're dating a gentleman

For inexperienced woman knowing who are gentleman and not when dating is hard, so I'll give you some insights to know if you're dating a gentleman or not based on my experiences and observation.

A guy who don't joke around in first encounter especially on your physical attributes with friends

There are men who are very β€œpresko” or feeling cool kid even on the first encounter, who cracks jokes around with the circles on you or with other people around. Typical gentleman are usually quite and just observing his surrounding's, they don't chat a lot.

I've met several men who acts like being the center of attraction and cracking lousy jokes just to get attention. It's not gentleman's characteristics.

A guy who will cover his woman's head first when it's sunny or when there's a little rain

If you watch Korean or Chinese dramas usually male leads do this stuff, that is why many women are fascinating their dramas because their male leads characteristics are always ideal and gentlemen.

This is just a very simple gestures but is very sweet and romantic, not just that it'll show that a man really cares for his woman as he cares for her health and prioritize her than himself.

Among the men I've been with, I only experience this with my man future husband. Even until now that we're already together for long years, he still do this whenever it's too hot and we didn't bring any umbrella he'll try to cover my head with something he got enough that can cover me from the heat or from the little rain drops.

A guy who will let you walk in the safest lane when you are walking together in a street

My partner always do this, whenever we walk on a street he will always lead me on the safest side of the road so he can protect me when there's any road accident or whatever.

A gentleman will always prioritize his woman's safety, if your man don't bother about this stuff..you should start thinking if he really cares about you and your safety.

A guy who is protective when it comes to your safety

Another thing about gentleman prioritizing his woman safety is that when you are walking together and there are some animals approaching or other men, he'll place her on the safest side enough for him to protect her.

My partner used to do this when we are about to encounter other men ahead, he'll let me walk on the other side. Sometimes when there are dogs in the street he'll also let me walk on the safest side, even if I am not afraid of dogs. He knows that I am not afraid of dogs but he'll still do that, maybe he's thinking what if there are aggressive dogs that will attack at least he can protect me.

A guy who will help you carry heavy stuff

A gentleman will never let his woman carry heavy stuff or let her struggle, well most of the men do this so this isn't new but it's still sweet for boyfriend and girlfriend.

A guy who will never make you feel intimidated, outcast or out of place

There are men who doesn't like their woman to mingle with other people, who doesn't let her talk with her friends or with their circles. Obviously it's not a gentleman's style, a gentleman will never let his woman intimidated, outcast or out of place when they are in the crowd.

He'll always make sure you are at ease with him and is fine along with the crowd. Especially, a gentleman will never shame you in front of other people and does not command his woman like his slave but treat her nice as if she was a gem.

If your boyfriend keeps commanding you to do this and that in front of his friends, family and colleagues instead if letting you joined them.. it's a red flag, he's not gentleman and is not into you. A gentleman will always treat you better with or without other people around.

A guy who will respect and does not insult you

Last but not the least, a guy who will respect and accept you for who you are. A gentleman will never mistreat a woman regardless of her background, how she looks and etc.

There are men who will based their respect on woman's status, or based on how they dress up.

Or if you are just newly dating and he brings you on the dark places to touch you, it's a red flag. Or a man who is very touchy of your body, it's not gentleman's style. It only shows he only after your body and not you.

A guy who does not insult you for your imperfections. There are guys that always sugarcoats but most likely they're the ones who are very insulting when they lose their interest in you.

Lead Image: Rene Ranisch (Unsplash)

26
$ 5.17
$ 4.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 13
Sponsors of Eybyoung
empty
empty
Avatar for Eybyoung
1 year ago

Comments

mao bitaw na sayangan ko sa akong ex madam kay siya jud unta ang standard nga same jud sa akong papa aigooo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Diay, ngano man naunsa pagka unsa gi byaan nimo?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

wala man siyay salig sa akoa madam and also napul an sad ko...aigooo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

remember when it rained my girlfriend opened the umbrella and secured my head even though in the end she had to get wet too, ohh I really love her but she is now married to someone else.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, haha she's gentle than you πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

these are things that a woman should consider always. Especially yung last ate. Yung a guy who will respect you and does not insult you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, may mga lalaki kasi na iniinsulto ka na lalo na pag di mo sinagot or yung kayo na tas may mga bagay kayo na di pagka unawaan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Akala ko dating gentleman as in former gentleman haha!

I have high regard to those who respect others as a person and knows their boundaries. Kahit hindi ganun ka gentleman kasi iba't ibang culture pa rin naman tayo pero un respeto sa kapwa ang di dapat nawawala.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo naman, yun talaga ang respect ang pinaka da best kasi everything will follow kung ma respito kang tao.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I met a gentleman but he is my bestfriend. Ahahaha. All of my exes are the walking red flags.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha yun lang, buti na lang ex na lahat.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am very protective to her, I am doing my best to become the best boyfriend of her. tbh, I smile while reading, I will make her feel loved and important. I will never let her carry all of our problems,but i will help here and qe both as a partners will go throughout our problems.
By the qay I'm newbie here. I like your blog so interesting.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're so sweet and promising, I hope you can make it and stand with it till you grow old together, if she's the one for you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For 98% of the time, i am indeed a Gentle Man. I felt though that even though chivalry and gallantry towards your woman are important, and should go without saying, its important that the romantic relationship between a woman and a man should be based on sharing and co-operating. Together, the couple should be more than the sum of the individuals. Most ideal situations are where one excels at those things the other is lacking in. Difficult to find the right words tbh., English not being my native language.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, this is why couples are called β€œpartners” because they should always cooperate with each other.. and not the other way around like competing and rivalry in terms of career, financial and etc.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The point i was trying to make was rather that the "gentleman" is described having all the characteristics of gallant chivalry in which the Man defers to and submits to the lady in all things except battle, money and social representation. Though most men instinctively (should) default to those traits, in our modern civilization our rational minds and the demands of life in our society require our minds to contain our instinctive behaviour and be more pragmatic in our relationships. Again i find it difficult to find the correct expressions on this topic somehow.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Absolutely...these are the things women should watch out for. They would see guys not doing any of these and would wonder why he "became" selfish in marriage. He didn't become selfish in marriage, he has always been like that. The time it should be addressed would be right then... I hope a lot of people can ready your post to get enlightened so they would know what to address. Some guys might not know but it's an habit we have to cultivate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly, gentleness of a man does not change when they marry or nor because it is natural and is built in..but needs to be cultivated like you said so it will not be gone.

Men who fabricate doing this just to get the prospect date won't last as well, coz it's not really their character..

I agree that those who are stuck in abusive marriage did not pay attention to these small gestures when they were still dating.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's so true. Those who try to pretend they are that nice can't sustain it for long and their true self would always show and that's why I always tell people to get to know the person at least. That's why I am not a fan of those who just go straight into marriage after 3 months of knowing each other. There are exceptional cases I agree but for most, I feel it's never enough.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ma feel mo talaga at makita if yung guy gentleman o hindi ma'am eybyoung. Ako ma'am eybyoung malalaman ko kaagad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A man that respects you really loves you. Respect is reciprocal. I pray to meet a man that will love me and take good care of me. I believe that there are still good men in the world

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can relate to this well, thanks for sharing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Reading this, I am already wishing and praying for a gentle and responsible man who would portray even if not all but few of these characteristics. Thanks for sharing πŸ₯°πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I do some of these things though, with my lady friends. Can't say if I am a gentleman o. LoL

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If you did this then you might be a gentleman 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehehe. Thanks 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ma sesense mo naman iyan ate, pero much better siyasatin talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These are just simple gestures if a guy doesn't have this then he might not be really gentleman for the rest of his life because these things are built in and must be cultivated to maintain it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😁😁I think my gentleman percentage is at 98.9% cause when I and my girl are together and it starts raining, its fast to get under a shade or shelter, that's how it isπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ but I guess I will do better now, its always sunny in my place so we only run for rain.. But I don't let her walk understand the rain and I started dating at 21years 😬😬

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha, yeah do it better.. use umbrella to cover the bright sun with your girl or just cover her whatever you had like books or etc, it looks romantic and sweet

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm Gentleman according to your POV But SINGLE.

Ah let me find a date first than I'll forward this to her so she can prove I'm gentleman.

Hope all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha sure, find your date first πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know 2 of my exes na gentleman. At least na experience ko din na makarelasyon ng gentleman na tao

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, yung hubby mo now wala nyan? Kahit isa?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ewan ko parang wala sa kanya yan eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, sad..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nothing I can do now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Noted sist. Will use this checklist soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sure sis, those are simple gestures but means a lot

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Choose a man who is not after sex or who doesn't talk about it.. He's the most gentleman and would respect you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha men are active in sex πŸ˜‚ they may never talk to you about it but they'll talk it with others 😜

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha. Meron pa nmn iilan na hndi ganun.. Haha..mahirap lang mahagilap πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Are womens still looking for a gentleman?πŸ•΄οΈ

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes we are.. I am 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am sure your Price Charming is there somewhere

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Somewhere hiding πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha I don't know.. maybe most are looking for big pockets πŸ˜‚ not sure

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some are looking for Hung-man πŸ˜† 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahahaha yeah I forgot that πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oww, some are in mine, but not all of them. Haha, can I be also considered gentlemen? Haha. The last part is everything. I personally never treat any girls that way, never disrespecting them, especially her emotion. I will stand silent and be honest that I had a bad temper. Some devil will come along.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe you're half gentleman chars hahaha if you treat woman right then you are, of course.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pinaka gentleman gyud sa tanan ang lalaki nga kabalo maghulat dili kay hanggaton si gf na magkuan na you know, kanang mga uso sa social media karon na mga active intimate life. Basta bihira na ang lalaki nga ingon ana kay mag una jud sa katre ayha ang kasal hayss kasad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha, men are men and they are active on sex. It's reality, not all men who have sex their gf before getting married does not mean they're not gentleman. Especially kung Western guys or mga Americans.. it's just norms that says sex after marriage is a must. You must accept that, it's reality. Do not generalized.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A guy who will let you walk in the safest lane when you are walking together in a street

As always to hanggang ngayon hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Same ganyan pa rin sya sakin ngayon.. he always ensure my safety than his, diba simple gestures but you will know he cherish you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kahit sa anak ko ngayon minsan kasi si kyrie sya Yung nasa side ng daan tapos pagagalitan pako Nyan haha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Ako naman sa gilid talaga anak ko, matic yun.. kasi incase may accident at least mas safe sya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako Kasi Hindi

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago