Dear Brain, Can You Stop Thinking?

30 66
Avatar for Eybyoung
1 year ago

Have you ever tried pleading with your brain to stop thinking for a while and take a rest, but it didn't work? That's what's happening to me. The brain cells are too active thinking about my upcoming interview. My recruiter told me it might be a panel interview, making me even more nervous.

Panel interview? Gosh, I haven't been into that ever since. Just thinking about one on one interview with HR is already terrifying. How much more with panel interview that consists many people from the company. However, I have to be strong.. this is what I prayed and worked hard for; I must get it done. I will do my best, and whatever the result is, I won't regret it as I did my best.

I've been busy crowdsourcing the possible questions for a full-time writer position interview. I got some excellent replies to my post on Facebook, combined with my research, and my mind started formulating answers. It doesn't stop even if it's already late at night.

I even got up and went to the kitchen as I was hungry. My mind didn't stop answering questions that made me hungry, even if I did my best to shut it. Maybe I was just too anxious because I've been applying as a freelance content writer recently and just got this serious application going after so many failed applications.

I was also overwhelmed because if I got hired, it would be my first ever experience with an employer. As you all know, I just developed my writing skills on this platform and didn't have a formal background in writing. All my experience is just like a writing gig, so having this formal employment as a writer makes me thrilled and nervous simultaneously. I hone my writing skills by self-learning.

I was overjoyed, even if I was still in the application process, as I had already proved I had great potential as a writer. Reading the editor-in-chief assessment on my test saying, “Let's proceed with this applicant,” made me giggle. It means I was the best candidate among the applicants.

I also remember one of the users in noise.cash told me that my writing skills are not yet fully equipped to be hired as I write based on my point of view. My brows raised upon reading his comments way back, but I replied to him politely. He said I should write from a broader perspective. I know the guy is not an experienced writer, too, because he doesn't know that writing has different voices. You can develop those voices once you have the format and instructions to follow.

My test post shows I can be a brand writer, following format and instructions just by reading guidelines given without being nosy. This is not the end of it; I believe I still have a lot of potentials to unlock as long as I won't stop learning. Being a working-in-progress person is complex; there are downtimes, but as long as I am persistent, I will progress eventually.

For now, I'll strive harder to digest the information I need for the interview so I can practice how to stay calm later before my interview on Monday at 10 PM comes.

My progress may be slow as it is based on my time management; being a mom is already a formidable job and is time-consuming, but I still believe I can slay my dream career soon. I've never been so eager to pursue something in my life, so I think this is my ultimate passion to be a full-time writer. Fighting!

P.S this was written a week ago when I was too anxious about my interview.

P.P.S the interview went well but I still have two weeks training to undergo before the final assessment if I'll pass on the full time writer position. Hopefully, I can make it.

Lead Image: Unpslash via Annie Spratt

25
$ 4.95
$ 4.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 9
Sponsors of Eybyoung
empty
empty
Avatar for Eybyoung
1 year ago

Comments

Best of luck for your interview, and I am sure this time you would be more confident with lots of information in your mind. I Don't know why the man said this to you, because you are a good writer already.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well I hope you show your best in training that's all you can be asked if. Good luck hope you impress them!! Own that assessment:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks, man! I'll do my best 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thinking so much is really frustrating that I also plead to my brain sometimes to stop it haha which don't really work all the time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know that feeling, am currently going through stress as school has resume, time to submit and defend my project

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, my friend tried pleading many times but it didn't work. Of course as I already you, you can be a brand writer, trust yourself. Don't lesson to such displeasure and unsupportive ones. These forums are to encourage each other not to discourage. I bet you can pass the undergo training very well and excellently. Trust and believe in your guts, that's all

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Been like this every single day, Atee. My mind can't stop working kahit sinasabi ko na na "timeout muna." Lalo kapag usaping acads & side hustles? Aba, napaka-active. Ayaw papigil eh, haha!

Anyways, don't let what that person said to you, Ate. Lahat naman tayo ay sa "pagiging di fully equipped" nagsisimula pero napag-aaralan naman lahat ey ~ and believe me, you're good at writing. You won't go this far if you're not. 💚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same, haha bakit kaya ayaw magpahinga nang utak natin minsan 🤦

Thank you, actually yun lang ang bukod tanging user na nagsabi sakin nang ganon..okay lang din naman kasi not all people can see what your strength like others does, the important thing is that I believe in myself too ☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, Ate. And ayan dapat 'yung di mawala sa'ten, yung bilib at tiwala sa sarili. Coz that'll push us to grow & be more better. ✨

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The stage of pleasing with my brain to stop thinking is exactly where I am. School has resumed and there are just too much on my mind

$ 0.00
1 year ago

"I've never been so eager to pursue something in my life, so I think this is my ultimate passion to be a full-time writer. Fighting!"

I love that part 😊.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Panel interview? This is my first time hearing about that. Presented, I'm trying to have a good sleep but I can't sleep because my brain does not want to stop thinking about some things

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A panel interview is a type of interview that has a lot of interviewees from the company.. 3 or more people. Sometimes some of them are just viewers or listeners or sometimes all of them have questions to ask you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ooh thanks for the explanation

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Stay positive and stay strong ma'am eybyoung. I know you can do it ma'am. Kaya mo yan ma'am. Parang sa series na pinanood ko may mga panel interview.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

OO nga sa mga series movies meron mga panel interviews eh, pero sakin viewers lang yung iba since via zoom video call lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So panel ba? Same job na inaplayan mo?hirap nman yan..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

OO panel haha pero viewer lang yung iba.. okay naman na yun pa rin yun, natanggap naman ako..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May another interview pa pala? Panel diba Yung madami yon?

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Oo panel pag madami.. wala na yun na yun hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay n pla e .

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

It will be all well sis - either you’ll get employed which is an obvious win or you won’t. Even if you won’t you still get a new experience of how the process of becoming employed in this field looks like. Back in a day I used to be stressed before interviews too, but these days I love them. I love to go to different companies, seeing how they conduct their interviews, what does the company looks like and… how far will they go to get me in 😁 After all the interview is not only for them to meet you but also for you to decide if you like the people you will be working with and if you actually want to work with them.

Take it easy sis. Try meditation if you can’t stop your brain from overthinking 💙

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you sis.. I agree with you. Taking a lot o interviews will give us more experience until we meet the right company for us. But I already pass the interview sis and already sign contract and NDA hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Great news sis! Congratulations 🎉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't think noiser comment is good enough. You have great potential in writing. Sometimes during interview these things happened due to optimistic ideas.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yeah... interview is done haha this was just a draft article last week and just publish now

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Prays for your success in every field of life including this interview, i also gave an interview to a pannel for the post of management trainee. I will soon share it with you. It was first nervousness then it was a fun. ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, wow.. looking forward on your experience with panel interview.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well done. Slow but steady wins the race :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah, Yes.. thanks for that :-)

$ 0.00
1 year ago