A Self-taught Writer

33 62
Avatar for Eybyoung
1 year ago

Now that a company hired me as a writer, I am safe to proclaim myself as a self-taught writer. You can't be hired by a writing company that requires criteria and qualifications to meet. Even if you have long experience as a blogger, finding a client to pay you for your writing service isn't easy as it requires proper skills to do so.

I want to share in this blog how I grow as a writer. From a random blogger who blogs anything under my plate to a formal writer. Since I was in high school, I already have passion for writing. I love writing essays more than solving mathematical problems. But I haven't written any since I stopped studying in 2013 until I joined read.cash. It took me two years to evolve.

How I Grow as a Blogger

When I joined read.cash, I don't have plans to write. I just wanted to earn extra money and was one of the spammers on the platform. Not literally a spammer as I engage properly but my contents are poor. Then, one day I woke up wanting to learn how to write properly. I realized, why not utilize the platform as it is?

The one who invited me to the platform is a spammer and didn't guide me correctly but rather give ideas of tricks to ditch the platform. I should have been a spammer until now but I choose the modest way of earning what I got in here through constant learning.

Nobody was born to be professional in anything without learning, so, I start reading other users' articles on the platform. Way back, I find it really hard to write 3 minutes or more articles as I don't know how or what to write yet. I joined a writing contest here before and never won. As I said my content isn't a winning piece during those times. I joined the prompt challenge just to have more topics to write about. I keep reading other articles and see how they format their articles, then imitate.

I engage with other users as I love reading too. Writing is always proportion to reading, you can't love writing if you don't read as well. That's where I started to gain followers and readers of my blogs. Looking back, I congratulate my old self for pursuing building her name.

How I Grow as a Content Writer

After 6 months of blogging personal blogs, I started to learn about cryptocurrency. I started reading articles about crypto, whether technical or not as long as it is related to crypto. It took me 3 months of reading different crypto articles before I started writing about crypto topics. I joined a writing contest in Publish0x to learn more about crypto and learn how to rewrite or create content from the research. I think I was picked as one of the winners 4x but just the lowest price. I don't mind the price as I matter about experience and learnings the most.

Those little wins prove that I can write content even if I don't have knowledge of it as long as I do research. That's where I developed my research skills. Publish0x is strict with plagiarism, so I was confident I could write research-based topics as my content passed their quality check.

Then, I joined SuperUMAn, I've learned a lot in SuperUMAn too, about UMA and etc. I even use my written content there as one of my portfolios, that I have the proper background in writing cryptocurrency topics as I was selected to be one of the Copywriters in the Social Media Team and a Content Writer in the Content Team.

I didn't manage to become a SuperUMAn as I became inactive when I was busy preparing for my wedding last July. But it was a great experience joining SuperUMAn as I've learned a lot and SuperUMAn's are really cool people to hang out with. (All thanks to PVM)

Then last July I finally decided to venture my time into the Freelancing business. I opened my Upwork account again which I created last year. I tried to optimize my profile and submit some proposals to some clients. Finding clients is not easy, so I halted and learn how freelancing works first. I joined several groups about freelancing on Facebook, and read an educational post about my skills. Watch YouTube videos and do research a lot. I bought some paid courses, and also take free courses about Content Writing.

I did everything alone, although I asked some strangers how to do this and that, but just minimal guidance. For a busy mom who didn't finish her college degree, who stopped studying in 2013. It's not easy to learn a lot of stuff on your own, but I can say, I made it.

While I am in the process of learning how to write better, I also learned a lot about the stuff I research. You can't create original content that has 100% uniqueness if you don't understand what you write. Chances are, you might plagiarize the content from the source.

I am just proud of myself that from a spammer I've grown a lot, and now I am making writing as my bread and butter.

Takeaways

Nothing can hinder you if you want to grow and pursue something as long as you are determined. It took me two years to evolve and level up my writing skills.

I am proud to say that I am a self-taught writer. I started from scratch, the journey isn't rosy at all but it was all worth it. For a busy mom who doesn't have a social life in the real world, I was able to attain something that I can fully utilize and make a living out of it.

You are never too late to learn or pursue something that you really want. Keep chasing your goals until you'll have them.

All Images we're created in Canva

13
$ 1.99
$ 1.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @rezoanulvibes
+ 8
Sponsors of Eybyoung
empty
empty
Avatar for Eybyoung
1 year ago

Comments

Yes, padayon lang jud sa imong pagka self taught writer. By the way, ge increase na nila ang payout sa imo? keep on upgrading your rates. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As far as i know pag hired an talaga kasi nasa training phase pa ako eh.. $0.04 rate per word ata sila.. for now okay lang naman sakin ganyan rate for experience ko lang din.. mag aaral pa ako later nang related skills sa writing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hopefully, you'll get that rate soon. Good luck! :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Great job Ey! The majority of us here are some random dudes and dudettes that just want to earn some extra bucks. No one knows that we will be self-thought writers/bloggers. Back when I was applying for some writing gigs I mentioned my blogs which helped me as well land the job. I guess our edge over other writers is we deliver and we show proof. We just need to polish our work which is understandable.

Kudos and more gigs to you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, I agree our edge over others is that we indeed deliver and our works have been read by many not just a sample on a folder haha. Thank you! and to you as well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Still, you made it, Ate despite of anything that hinders on the way. Like you've said, trainee ka pa lang by now. But sooner or later, you'll be a certified freelance writer din. Way to go, Ate. Continue slayingggg! ✨

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, thank you sana nga maging maayos.. I did my best naman.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Self taught... That's the right word. We learn "on-the-job" when it comes to writing. It's about having the passion for it first and then moving along with it. We keep learning to improve every single day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, inorder to learn writing you have to write.. like you said “on-the-job” indeed.. because even now, I had training, I can't absorb the guides if I can't apply it to a topic.. so I write so I can apply what I learned. You can't apply learnings if you are just imagining things haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's so right. Imaginations won't do it...we have to attempt it and only then can we truly learn. Practical is always the best than just theories.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

believe in our selfs ability and confidence, through time we learn from our experiences and can be applied to step up further, ako nga before mema lang mga post ko hanggang natoto ako masyado sa photography hanggang na addict ako sa mga macro photography tapos tinatry ko na gumawa ng mga contents na di ko akalaing makkaya kong isipin at gawin , pero I admit nakaka drain talaga lalo na kong e sasabay sa work

$ 0.00
1 year ago

After facing a tough time, finally now you are a good writer with amazing skills to create content. My best wish to you dear, continue to rise.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's inspiring to read about your journey of being a self-taught writer. We can level up any skills if we really want to. Glad to know you are hired by a writing company.

Wish you all the best!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are a great writer!! It's amazing how we can get better at something putting the effort in. I've only been here a short while and I think my skills have improved.

I'm much different than you though I didn't like writing growing up, I loved mathematics 🤣 Since being here i have adopted writing and enjoy it. I'm in that stage where I take my time now. I find not publishing for the sake of it has allowed me to put out better content.

Best of luck with your writing profession:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am very proud of you. Marami ka pang mararating sis. You are one of the great writers I followed in this platform. Yung nakakainspire mula background hanggang front. Nawed ka pala nung July, belated congratulations. I wasn't active back then.😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you sis, oo last July lang na wed hehe. Oo nga sis tagal mo rin nawala ..ang dami din nag inactive na eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Welcome❤️ Pansin ko rin, matagal kasi magmomove notifications ko. Siguro dahil sa new normal kaya kanya kanya na sa kabusihan ang mga dating andito.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo isa din yan..at saka yung wala na masyado tip haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga no. Tsaka Syempre more users active, more interactions, medyo madamot nga ngayon... Try ko nagbrowse sa mga other writer's articles…, ang bababa ng tips. 😅 Buti ka nga may raket kang iba.. E ako kinalawang na utak ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nag try talaga ako mag upskills sa writing para maka apply nang matino.. para di na aasa lang sa blog blog kasi ang baba na nang tips.. mostly now may financial crisis kaya we can't blame the platform. Mas better pa din now compare nung nag start kami dati na points pa lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wish you luck...❤️ I'll try sharpening my writing skills again maybe just maybe magkkraket din. 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Halos lahat tyo dto nagsimula at natoto magsulat..yung impossible dati, ngayon easy na lang kung gugustuhin...

Yung nga lang yung iba, the same perception parin ang tingin sa isa..the silent bashers, lol..mga marites nga naman..can't move one from the past, and accept the fact that one has learned and evolved into a writer on this platform..tsk..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sino na naman ba yang marites at makitid ang utak na di maka move on? Hahaha.. there's no limit on learnings as long as you are persistent. Wise people don't degrade other people only the fools.. always remember that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Somehow for me too, when I started the read cash I just enjoy commenting, because I didn't really know what to write about...Till I have to put more effort

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, to learn how to write..you must put an effort.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung pinag daanan mo ma'am eybyoung talagang symbolism na isa kang warrior ma'am kasi kailanma'y di ka nag give up instead you learn and learn. Nakakabilib ka ma'am.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe warrior talaga, warrior is a child 🤣 anyway thanks, learn lang nang learn.. even if some people laughing behind you silently.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True ma'am eybyoung laban lang palagi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pamentor po 🤣

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Haha wala pa ako sa level na mag mentor 🤣 coz I still need a mentor too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congrats sa imong mga nakab ot as a writer sis..Deserve na nimo ky kugihan kaayo ka..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Actually wala pa man gyud naabot sis, pero at least naay progress..I mean naay bunga ang akong kagustuhan mag learn.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For sure you will have more clients soon sis.. Bilib kos ka eager nimo to learn

$ 0.00
1 year ago