Troubleshooting: The Mother Rabbit with Eleven Babies

24 47
Avatar for Eunoia
Written by
1 year ago

We call Troubleshooting; this refers to the problem-solving we shall encounter as farmers. Mostly I am a fan of this one; most of my friends often called me when they had trouble in their activities. They called me the right guy, lol. The work of the farm supervisor, which I am from, is to correct and look for a better remedy when trouble is around. But it is never easy, of course, especially since the life of animals is the one that is dwelled. Intelligent people knew how to troubleshoot, not just create trouble.

You might hear the word troubleshoot in an IT person, who will look into the computer's problem and fix it. That's the especially of people engaged within that. In my field, a troubleshoot meant loss. That's it, so some don't want to hear that they need to troubleshoot their farms, it's intended that cost and expenditure will gain again so much loss, but the thing is that if we don't do these, the expectancy of higher loss will be more in the records.

I witnessed the worst Troubleshooting on a farm, where you will understand why the most straight men will cry. He works on his maize crop for so long that during the month of preparation and days of planting comes the unexpected visit of a disease from an insect pest. The damage became severe, and the only method we needed so we could still save other crops was to burn down the whole plantation of corn. A heart-breaking view where the farmers who nurtured the plant are watching the crops turn into ash.

But if we will not do that, more plants will be infected, and there is the possibility that the disease still is present in the next cropping seasons.

When the severity is at a high peak in the threshold level, that's happened. But also Troubleshooting meant preventing the loss from occurring. This is also costly, for we shall expect that materials to use is expensive to guarantee an immediate response to the problem. In my experience, I was also part of a group that did that. My friend has encountered a soil-borne disease in his research; I suggest that he will buy a red level fumigant, and it works. Fumigant is like a fungicide; that works in dilution into water. As a result, we prevented the losses in his research that might result in the recasting of his crops.

Recast; is burning and eliminating every plant in his research.

Troubleshoot in my field is also to prevent more losses. Here is my trouble now and how I shall respond to this.

Trouble: I lost one female breeder rabbit due to an unexpected happening, she died, and she had young five-six-day-old baby rabbits.

Looking at the baby rabbit's age and health appearance, immediate action needs to imply.

The first option I did was to pre-adopt the young to other female rabbits; this is risky, as rabbits are territorial and intelligent in their sense of smell. They could immediately know who were their babies and who weren't. And those are not her babies. She must be protective; she will kill other babies. Lucky me, I had a breeder who just gave birth. But comes the real challenge, where they are all not born on the same day, expected that her babies (The female rabbit as surrogate) will open their eyes and starts to explore, while the five orphan babies must wait nine days more.

Because they are sensitive to sudden changes especially smell. I make sure that orphan kits will have the fragrance of a surrogate mother before introducing them to the cage and letting the things faith. I prayed that the surrogate mother would kill them as they were not coming from her womb.

I honestly wasn't sure that the five orphans would survive or that the female would not face a problem. As I looked upon it, the mother only had six nipples, and she would feed eleven babies. I just observed until now what will happen. Feeds are ad-libitum in the cage of the poster mother, so she will regain immediately the milk that is gone used.

Moreover, as a researcher, I see potential research again if she will keep the orphans; I guessed there would be another breakdown in understanding the nature of my specimen.

The second choice is to hand-fed or feed with formula milk. These shall happen at the original kits of the mother when they open their eyes. I shall eliminate them in other mothers and early cull them so the orphan will be the one nourished by the surrogate. It's for both survival of five orphan babies to not be runt, and the original babies for them to have the amount of milk they derived, and for the mother to not too much suffered within feeding so many young.

I just wrote this one initially as my daily journal so that when things happened, I could recall my history.

I will update you more very soon about the result of keeping the orphan baby rabbits in the cage of a surrogate mother. I also wised that it will give the best effect. It's a loss if I re-record them as mortality.


Documentation:

Showing the surrogate mother

Showing the original babies
Showing the orphans
Showing the new created family of rabbits

Thanks for reading.

18
$ 8.00
$ 7.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 8
Sponsors of Eunoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eunoia
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Ang liit pala ng rabbit pag bagong pinanganak. Kanina lumabad malilit na anak ng rabbit. Walang kaalam alam yung landlady namin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am also farm manager and I know how troubleshooting is essential for us. But I have to care about animals only. You are doing great in both fields for plants and animals. Have a good time brother, nice to meet you in your article brother.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nako kawawa naman :( huhu gustong-gusto ko mag alaag ng rabbit pero.aprang di ko ata carry. Cute2 eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kawawa naman huhu. Anyway, hindi ba yan magkakaroon ng problema if ever? Baka hindi sila unahin nung isang rabbit mom?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ang hirap niyan pars kasi baka hindi sila kupkupin nung surrogate mother...kawawa naman sila at nawala agad nanay nila...at ngayon ko lang nalaman na territorial din pala ang mga rabbit

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If you acclimate both the surrogate mother and the orphans to each other, she will probably take them in

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang kucute ng mga babies ng rabit niyo sana mabuhay silang lahat..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes to that po, mabubuhay sila for sure.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kala ko sa computer lng nag totroubleshoot đŸ¤£. Pero ang dami ng babies ha..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo, hehe. Pero sana masurvive nila kahit paano.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awe. I hope mommy makes it through :(

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks ateng, ako din huhu lost kasi kapag hindi hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is awesome to find you a man who is troubleshooter. You are working like agriculture man. You care about plants and same for animals in farm. Milk production is produced through positive feedback mechanism. So more babies more milk consumption and there will more milk production. Surrogate mother milked the orphan that is great and appreciated.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm Agriculturist hehe, that's really my field of interest.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my! I hope the mother will absorbed those five kits. Nakakaawa naman kung mamamatay lang eh. Sayang!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo bruh, inatake kasi nanamn ng aso yung ina nila. Buti nakita ko pa maaga, su rabbit meat ulam namin kahapon hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hala. Hindi ba nakatali yung mga aso dyan? Nako, meydo deadly na yan bro.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope all of them survive, fighting!!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

kaya nga, sana lahat sila. If ever naman di talaga well madami pa ako breeder hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uy if kumuha kami ng rabbit or bibili, pwede meet up?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang layo naman ng baguio at cagayan uyy haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay hala cagayan ka pala, sorry kala ko pangasinan lang đŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The little bunnies are so adorable, that the surrogate mother might not harm them and she might take them as her own.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's also what I looking forward to, hoping she will raise them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago