Troubleshooting on my rabbitry: Diarrhea is simple but deadly.

37 71
Avatar for Eunoia
Written by
2 years ago

Now I actually witnessed what I am waiting for, and experienced a problematic event in my simple rabbitry. Diarrhea is deadly to them such that their body metabolism is really different from any ruminant animal. You had to take care of all the aspects and methods you used to ensure that this won't happen. But sometimes there is always exemption, lacking attention that if not given the focus it will result in death. Lucky me, I've seen it before going worst.

One of the considerations I listed before purchasing my specimen is troubleshooting. Well, it's not new to me because I had a background in farm veterinary, and the internet is available so I had a medium place to read about the characteristics and morphology of my animals.

This is also the reason why I shake my head when the breeders tell me ‘why not I just purchased breeder age instead of young and small kits’. First the budget, of course, I knew that things will happen and problems will emerge from somewhere, so like investors I just invest what I can afford to lose. Well, I am not afraid that my first attempt will be gone but I pretty much needed to do things to prevent it.

Entering a venture is easy but staying on track is a lot more different, I am not new to troubleshooting for I also experienced it when I did start my mushroom venture. 

The most fatal problem in rabbits is having diarrhea. This is not a joke to rabbit farmers because just as quickly as hours it might result in sudden death, the worst is that it also can infect other rabbits. Because of their sensitive stomach features and the digestive process they are vulnerable to such intestinal infection.

Of Course, this only happened in captivity, not in the wild, well one of the disadvantages of being captive from birth to the end is that they developed certain maintenance to survive. Practice understanding their needs, because captivity and wild is a lot more different not just rabbits but all the animals including mammals or feathered ones.

Why is having diarrhea dangerous to them?. Because of the Physiological characteristics of their body, having moist dung indicates that there is a problem in their digestion, this might result in serious problems like loss of available water in their body resulting in dehydration, no mood of eating that resulted in just a loss of appetite and weight loss.

This is a serious problem that needs to be administered immediately to help the rabbits and to prevent more serious things from happening.

Why did they have diarrhea? It's coming from all they ate.

  • Commercial feeds

  • Over moist grass

  • Contaminated water

A lot more reasons, but I just had to focus on the three said points. Commercial feeds are great contributors, the sudden changes of brand and feeds are really a reason why they will have a serious digestive problem. Note that branding even the same level of crude protein is different. Just like you will eat the same food your mother prepared when you were at home versus the food served to you from another body else, same food but different taste, moreover the body of the animals signaled their stomach that this is strange. So shifting commercial brands is really not the best choice.

Over moisturizer or watery grass, leaves are also one of the contributors. Well if they lived in nature this will be eliminated but when they were in captivity this is a great danger to their metabolism. Rabbit digestive systems are not that active when there is too much water in their food, so a lot of rabbit farmers prefer the hays and straw grass rather than camote tops and any high water content leaves. If the abundant green present is soggy and watery, advise that they must be air dried first before being administered as food to the animals.

Water also affects, either lack of water or over water is also dangerous. Contaminated water from any reservoir that had the potential for harming humans also harmed the animals. Because they lived in captivity for their entire life, the immune system that fights the disease eventually gradually lost.

Well in my state of troubleshooting, I looked at the water first. I tested the pH level of the water that was leftover, the pH level is normal for what I saw, next is the grasses they eat. I don’t see any problem because the grass I gave is equal to all the specimens.

But the thing I observed is that, the commercial feeds of the mother rabbit having three kits never eaten, then I looked at the feeder and they don’t want the feeds, indicating that there is something wrong in the feeding formulation or the crude protein of the commercial pellet.

Whatever the reason, I need to administer drugs to lessen the potent effect of their stomach problem. I administered an oral medicine called Erceflora (Bacillus clausii), half dose each of them and I let them quarantine in a drum with some sand on it. So the dung will be added to the sand not their fur to also prevent some parasite.

Moreover upon investigating, I asked my father if the feed he brought was the same as I dictated for him to buy, he said no. That's the reason I said. It's not because it was cheaper, it will be used. Well also my bad not telling him the problem that could encounter if he changed the diet in a flash.

They are okay now, just that they lost weight. That is also a serious one for they might have problems soon in breeding, but that will be the next story about what is happening on my rabbitry haha.

Well if you were planning to engage with the same hobby this might help you soon. Thanks for staying with me…

17
$ 10.76
$ 10.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
+ 12
Sponsors of Eunoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eunoia
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Si hubby Naman isda binibreed nya Yung guppy at danios. Dami dami nyang mga container dito haha pero sinabi ko din sa kanya itong sa rabbit tinatanong nya ko kung gusto ko daw ba . Iniisip ko kasi baka mabahong alagaan?

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Depende sa practice Mommy Yen hehe, pero yes mapanghi sila hahaha. But yung akin hindi masyado kasi sa feeds din, maganda formulation nila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this! I just started growing rabbits and I don't have any idea about this. I should be more conscious of the things I'm feeding them. By the way, I want to be more particular with their water, can you please tell me the exact pH level? Like what level of value should it be? Should it exceed 6.5 or 7 or lower than that?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nuetral 7 is perfect hehe, yieee lets grow rabbit soon they will have the a whole number of herds hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay, thanks a lot. I hope so too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana gumaling na po yung mga rabbit nyo. Maging conscious po kayo sa mga pinapakain at pinapainom nyo

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe tama, sayang din kasi pricy din siya eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Diarrhea is a serious problem. It needs immediate treatment or it will only make matters worse. Hopefully they will recover soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Who wouldn't dehydrated if got a diarrhea? Even humans.
You ventures with rabbit pala, though I am little bit curious. Pang meat ba siya or pet? I had read before some are proposing rabbit meat eh. Pero parang hindi ko naman kaya kumain😂. Hope your rabbits are okay na.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I honestly want the meat venture hehe, well some people are not yet aligned eating lapan but somehow I was so much interested in it hehe. Soon I also wanted to try preserving them by meat processing. I want to substitute the meat consumption we had hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Diarrhea is a serious problem. It needs to be treated right away or else it will make things worst. Hope they will get fine soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

They are fine now, just that they loss some weight huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww, kaya naman pala kasi mali yung feeds na nabili. Sana gumaling na rabbit mo at tumaba ulit. Sabihan mo na lang kami if nakapag katay ka na. 😄

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha 6 female and 1 male na rabbit ko, emagine kung nanganak sila soon lahat lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala akong naintindihan pero support ✊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha salamt sa pa support naman diyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May rabbits din po kami,medyo marami na sila,na experienced namin ang diarrhea before lalo na pag bagong walay sa mother yong rabbit ay madalas nagkadiarrhea.Lalo na talaga sa feeds pag hindi sanay ,at pati na rin sa damo,kapag basa pa,tapos pinapakain sa kanila.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Uyy nice, I just started mine hehe, start muna ako sa simple kapag nakuha ko na hayun mga malalaking breed naman hehe, beke nemen may pure breed kayu hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

California at New Zealand white meron kami.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huhuhu naalala ko mga rabbits ko same scenario sayo huhuhu Saka alam moba? Naka ilang pair kaya ako Ng pag aalaga Ng rabbit then Wala namatay din Silang lahat huhu naaiyak nanaman ako😭.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ouch, sayang naman non. Gusto ko kasi maexperiece in my own eyes eh hirap kasi ng sabi-sabi lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganun din Ang nangyayari sa mga isda ko. Kung may Isa na nagkakasakit kailangan alisin sa aquarium. Yung iba nga namamatay pa.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Uyyy you fish keeper? ano kinikeep mo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gold fish lang naman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How sad to know that your pets suffered from diarrhea. Expect the unexpected talaga. It's really part of raising any animals like rabbit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Delikado talaga diarrhea lalo na sa kanila, tayo nga e nadedehydrate pag di naagapan how much more pa sila. Goodluck sa mga rabbit mo

$ 0.01
2 years ago

They are fine now hehe, yun lang at nawalan sila ng timbang huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope your rabbits get well soon

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, they are okay now hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maselan pala ang mga rabbit. May kakilala ako may rabbit sya kung ano ano lang ang pinapakain tapos hindi malinis yung tubig na iniinom. Pero malaki na kaya siguro okay lang sya.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well nasanay na siguro sila hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maganda tong artikol na to para sa mga nag aalaga ng rabbit. Siguro ganyan din yung nangyare sa koneho na alaga ng lolo ko isa isa sila nadeds.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ouch wala na sila now? baka matubig kinakain nila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, amazing Enoia. You know so much! Ako zero idea about sa mag ganyan.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

haha I wanted to start with rabbit soon kapag okay na ang rabbot jump ako sa guinea pig at rats hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naks, umaarangkada na si vet eunoia ha. Dami ko nagets dito, kahit di ako into agriculture. 👌

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha diyan forte ko Ms. Elli eh. Soon I will own my farm hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago