Why most of the students hates math?

19 44
Avatar for Erzel
Written by
3 years ago

You who are reading now, I'm sure you don't like math.

Many students, whether they are smart or not, from college or high school, Filipino or American, private or public school, fat or thin, are terrified by the horror and complaining about the hardship it causes. It is rare to see someone openly express a passion for broken cosine functions or logarithmic expressions.

But, why do some students react so negatively to this subject?

Lack of Understanding

One of the most common rationale for students is the lack of understanding of one or two course lessons. Often, in mathematics, the lessons are taught in the simplest to most difficult way, and if the student loses understanding in the middle of the process, he or she will feel "lost".

The situation will be exacerbated if the learning speed of a student body varies: there are those who are left behind, there are those who are ahead, and the teacher can do nothing but continue teaching. The child may also be unfamiliar with intense home study, or the teaching may be confusing.

However, if even the most basic concepts of the lessons are not understood, it will be very difficult for the student to understand the more difficult and higher levels of the lesson. And if you do not understand what you are doing, you will fall, annoyed. Who would not be annoyed by something that causes moral decay? Eventually, math will be rejected.

Different Teaching Systems and Learning Styles. There have been many teachers in the world, there have been many mathematics teachers. They also probably have more differences in the teaching system. There is quick to teach, there is elementary; someone uses a projector, has chalk-and-mouth; there is sweat in overeating, there is also an outlet of laziness. All of this affects the student's effective understanding.

There are also different ways of learning that suit a student. Some want hands-on, some just want to copy notes, some just want to listen without holding a pencil, and some want the book as a reference instead of the teacher himself. If the teacher system does not agree with the student's learning style, the point of the lesson may not be obtained immediately. There will be a “loss” state: the lesson will not be understood, will fall, therefore a clear dislike of mathematics will appear.

Lack of Appreciation

"I'm going to be a chef, so I don't have to study how to get the value of x." "When I give birth, can trigonometric identities help me?" "The cubic function can't return the cellphone they cut off from me, can I still get that?"

Once in your entire study life, you have likely asked yourself a question similar to the ones above. When a student does not find the value of what he is learning, hatred grows. As a matter of fact, why even study something that has not brought you any good? There is nothing wrong with those arguments, in case, you just missed something that math can do for you.

You just have to understand that the "grace" of this subject is not just a flood and falling grades. Unconsciously, your critical thinking is being sharpened, and every time you get the right answer to the problems you are being given, you give yourself the courage and confidence to solve the heavier blows in life. you will experience.

It is true that we cannot force a person to eat what he does not want to swallow or chew. However, the importance of mathematics is undeniable if it aims to be a professional worker of a student. Perhaps it would be better to make hope the fact that wisdom is always superior to intelligence.

CHECK OUT MY PREVIOUS ARTICLE :

https://read.cash/@Erzel/what-happened-on-my-finger-skin-allergic-disease-ba03c29b

https://read.cash/@Erzel/choox-tv-star-for-a-cause-positive-reaction-965cfd78

https://read.cash/@Erzel/why-is-it-difficult-for-a-women-to-let-go-of-their-toxic-partner-f6cc77ec

https://read.cash/@Erzel/students-addicted-in-computer-games-disadvantages-99e1e3ac

https://read.cash/@Erzel/how-did-i-know-i-was-bisexual-54c33016

10
$ 0.83
$ 0.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Dreamer
Sponsors of Erzel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Erzel
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Math is very interesting subject. Schools maths are funny but when we are introduced with derivative and integration then real fun starts.

I love maths and physical significance always amazes me. I am a physics student I don't have option to choose hate math, if I do then no physics

For me people hate maths not because of subject itself but because of the teacher. If teacher is nice , then obviously everyone will love it .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't think so but some students hates math because some of there topic is not understable, that's why lot of students hates math. So you're lucky because you understand a lot in this case. 🙃

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mathematics is like Love, Math needs time, effort and attention from the basics to complicated parts. I love Math therefore, I mathematics mathematics 🤣. That's a joke and I know it's corny, but I like this article. Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am the one who loves math. It is my favorite subject in school. I thank my teacher.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! I hope I love also math but it's 50/50 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@Dreamer thank for the upvotes. 🙃

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome. By the way, nice article 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much. I appreciate 💗

$ 0.00
3 years ago

❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I actually don't hate math, but sometimes It makes me confused.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sometimes I hate but sometimes I love math. HAHA I hate it because there's a part of mathematics that I don't understand even I study the problems ans I love it sometimes because I can answer easily the problems without reading many times. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh I see. Magkakaiba naman tayo ng taste pagdating sa hilig natin hahaha but I love math para may thrill

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mejo masakit lang sa ulo pero keri naman HAHAHA hindi lang minsan nagugustuhan. 😅 Computer talaga paborito ko eh hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Awit hahaha okay lang yan

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ilan taon knba? Estudyante ka parin?

$ 0.00
3 years ago
  1. Yes
$ 0.00
3 years ago

College?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nope. Grade 12

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh okay.

$ 0.00
3 years ago