This New Doesn't Excite Me

16 54
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Thoughts, Story, Blog, ...

No one has been exempted to experience the hardships brought about by this unseen enemy. Like a silent storm, it raged through the lives of both the rich and the poor.

Here's a poem I wrote on how I feel about this pandemic. Enjoy reading!


Of all the new things I've had,

This one is the unwelcomed

It brought no good, only bad

Just thinking of it makes me mad.

Because my favorite restaurants are closed;

My work, my plans, vacations are now on hold

I wear this thing that covers my emotion,

I really wish this was all an illusion.

Goals delayed for more than a year now;

Got no choice but to go with the flow

I am so sick of hearing the news,

They bring nothing but worries and blues.

Going out with friends? That is a big no!

You have to distance anyway, so

Just stay at home and explore

Let's see if you can find more.

No movie treat with friends for now

Nor travel to places we want to go

Please bring us back the good old days,

Don't wanna be trapped by this stupid maze.

You see, my calendar is empty

Marked with appointments, it used to be

Now, it just flipped pages through the months;

For a fun travel, we got no funds.

Even if you had, where will you go?

To the closed businesses that you know?

Alas, this is the normal today,

Everyday's an unpaid holiday.

I even hate that they call it The New Normal

My dear friend, where is the normal in that?

Lives lost, hopes crushed, plans paused, no signs of revival;

The truth is, we are just forced to adjust.

Nothing's normal with living in fear

Am I infected, is the virus here?

If I only had superpowers,

I'd turn this virus into a flower.

Or have the power to invent an antidote,

Give it for free, that fact, let me note

I don't trust the vaccines yet, thanks for the effort—

Maybe, next time, I'll show some support.

You probably know what I'm talking 'bout

We feel almost the same, that's without a doubt

Isn't it draining to worry constantly?

My finances, my health and future—just.. really?

So if you were to ask me, I don't like this

'Cause this is the kind of new I want to cease;

Give me any "new" something that may exist—

But the new normal, I will always resist.

The End


The pandemic has succeeded in impacting the general global economy negatively, leaving thousands, or even millions of people around the world jobless.

In a child's point of view, it is weird that they don't go out on weekends anymore. A lot more time is just fixed on them moving around the house. It is so boring.

No matter the age, nationality, or beliefs, we can't deny that the pandemic has affected everyone's lives massively. We still don't know when it will be back to the real normal again.

As I have said in my poem, I hate the New Normal. This is the only 'New' thing I hate. I just had no choice but to follow, because it is for my good, too.

I genuinely hope we could skip to that time where COVID-19 is just a normal virus with a proven cure already.

This is my entry to @heartbeat1515 and @wakeupkitty 's Curation Week #1, an activity where we can write poems with Pandemic as the theme.

I got really busy, so I thought I won't be able to publish under this challenge. I am thankful for the extension and understanding of the admins.

If you want to join, just see the rules here.

Thanks a lot for reading, I appreciate it!


My special sponsors mention time!

@meitanteikudo @Peter-Molnar @Bjorn @TruSuccessXpert @FrieLincs @wakeuplincs @MizLhaine

Follow them for read-worthy contents. I am not sugar-coating here, they are really talented writers!

Come start writing and earning here, if you haven't yet!

https://read.cash/r/Ellehcim

I am also active on noise.cash. Same username, let me know and let's talk there!

https://noise.cash/u/Ellehcim

To God be all the glory.

  • Lead Image Source

  • Click pictures for sources. :)

10
$ 6.41
$ 6.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @heartbeat1515
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
+ 2
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Thoughts, Story, Blog, ...

Comments

"I even hate they call it the new normal"... Perhaps not this time but it will be soon. I am surprised if people say they no longer hug their children. I guess we are lucky we live on the country, we loved online homeschooling, not waking up at 4 a.m. all the travelling, the stress, children safe at home. We rarely shop, our cupboard is filled. The only thing we missed is travelling abroad to see my daughter.

"I don't trust the vaccines yet, thanks for the effort— Maybe, next time, I'll show some support."

This made me laugh thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha! I am happy I made you laugh! This activity is fun. I am looking forward for more. :) Thanks a lot for your beautiful words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All of us are affected by this pandemic. I know one day we can overcome this global crisis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. Hopefully, soon ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad that you made it. Does it feel a little bit better that you are able to convert your hatred for the 'new normal' into a poem? I hope it does. Stay strong, stay safe and write more. Hopefully, our message are delivered to the rest of the world who is still not awakened from the past.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot! I am on my way to read the works of other in the community. I just need more time and focus..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are such a good writer I love the poem. 👍👍👍👍👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can do it too with just a little bit more practice. Guess that your football time will be changed into writing during this pandemic. I hope you enjoy it and meanwhile it can help you ease your longing to be outside as you always do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I will put more effort and time into my writing with a friend like you I know I will get better Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm honour buddy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is amazing how and what a situation brings out from you. I tried to write a poem years ago when I was in love. I thought you can do better, when you are happy. You proved it that is not true. We can be talented in every situation whether is is happy or sad. Thanks for the mention.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A poem is another way to express your feelings in words. If I feel sad I might write a poem like...

Tears are flowing down my cheeks, It runs like a pipe with a broken faucet, How I wish that my heart will stop hurting, So my tears will stop and I will be in joy once again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello! I appreciate your words, really. Thanks for reading! I am catching up with the articles I did not read yesterday. I was supposed to post this yesterday, but I didn't realized I slept while writing. Maybe I was really tired haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I felt a bit tired today too by the evening plus I was low in inspiration. I had something in my mind, just need to make a good meaningful article about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh.. It's okay to take a rest. I do it, too. I am looking forward to your works. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago