Just In Time! | When I Was A Child..

60 92
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

I felt like the right time is now. To have another set of things to share about me, this time, when I was a child.

Image from Unsplash

Yes, finally, after some busy days, I am finally participating in this challenge by our fellow writer, @bmjc98 , Getting To Know You More Challenge: When I Was A Kid. You are very welcome to include yourself in this challenge, of course.

I have many beautiful memories as a child. Though I am not one of those children in the days that always played outside. These ten facts will somehow unravel the answers one by one. Get to know Elle as a child by reading on.

One: When I was a Child, I always get sick.

Mom would tell me stories how the three of us are always in the hospitals. I, for one, always underwent convulsions, high fever, amoebiasis, and more. My parents are thankful I did not get any complications as a child, and was able to overcome these usual toddler diseases. Maybe my immunity was really weak when I was a child. Now, I can say that it has improved a lot.

Two: I was once baby-sitted by a thief.

Yes, you read it right. Mom and dad had to work, because they do not have relatives to ask assistance from. They shouldered us only on their own. They both worked in a factory back then, and when they aren't home, there should be someone to take care of us. Unfortunately, when they both came home that night, most of our house stuff were gone, including the pricey watches, and new appliances. They were victims of a thief house helper.

Nevertheless, my parents were still thankful. The thief, at least did not steal me from them. Imagine if that happened. I will be in the custody of strangers all this time. They lost a lot, but it did not matter, because to my parents, I am the most important. Wait, who's cutting onions?

Three: I did not practice sportsmanship when I was a child.

Yes, I don't wanna admit it, but it's 100% true. Whenever I lose in a game, for example, Chinese Garter, I'd make a big deal out of it, and insist that I won. I get angry whenever I was caught in a hide-and-seek game, and more. I would not want to look back because this older version of me would be really pissed off at my younger version when it comes to outdoor games.

Four: I used to get paid for writing for classmates.

Back in primary school days, I was really a fast-writer. When I say that, I mean fast, like flash, (though i can't guarrantee the beauty though, haha!) Anyway, you know, grade school back then is just about writing tons of stuff from the book, I mean, what's those notebooks for, right? So, whenever I finish early and see my classmates still writing, I'd offer to write for them in exchange for a few pesos (equal to roughly $0.1 per writing set), which I can use to buy additional snacks when recess comes.

Now I still write fast, but I can say my penmanship as improved a lot. I can write clear but still quick.

Five: I was a boyish kid.

My friends were always boys. I play with boys, and I am stronger than most girls of my peers. I always have one girl best friend that I eat lunch with, or go home with, but I can vividly remember most of my playtimes with boys, and those were really fun. Running until we get tired, playing with rubber bands and little cards. Whew, so good to reminisce those good old days, where I only worry about getting hungry or losing in a game.

Six: We used to live in a place full of delinquents.

I was young back then, so I don't really notice it. But I stayed in this place until I graduated highschool, and that's only the time I gradually realized we lived in a really messy place full of drug addicts, children that abandoned their future for gambling and bad vices, or gangs that has no future, and all you could think about. Thankfully, we don't live there anymore. I would not want to experience my adolescence in such a chaotic, scary place.

There you go, now you learned why the rest of our childhood is just spent inside our house. That's also why the three of us siblings are so close with each other. None of us were influenced by bad peers or similar stuff like that. We can say we are those children a parent can be proud of.

Seven: I learned reading and writing at age of four.

This maybe not new to some of you, but I'll still share since I want to flex my parents. As soon as I gained consciousness, mother actively devoted her free time to teaching us, her children, how to read and write. We got so proficient in these two fields that I did not have to go kindergarten and entered school as a first grader immediately, when I turned five. That's why I am pretty young when I graduated college.

Thanks to my hardworking mom, and supportive dad, we are introduced to love of learning despite the young age.

Eight: We used to sell streetfoods with father.

When father stopped working and became the full-time care manager in the house, and mom became the bread winner, it was father who we are always with as children. He was a chill and patient father that rarely hurt us. In our household, the scary and strict one is the mom, LOL. Probably the reason why I liked father more than mom back when I was a child. Of course, definitely not anymore now. I love them so much, equally.

So back to the topic, on weekends, father would use our pedicab with a mini food stall installed and we would sell streetfoods on the street, like fish ball, hotdogs, quail eggs and more. I did not really remember helping dad back then because a child can't cook and sell properly, so I just enjoyed those rides while we meet different people once in a while.

Nine: I was a good student.

Well, I can say, until I graduated, I did not dare become a bad student anyway. On every awards day every year in our primary school, I would always get home a medal for being top of the class, or being one of the top ten (except the sixth grade though, and I said the reason in my cheating-themed article).

Yes, proud moments. And for those achievements, mom would always surprise me with my favorite things, like a barbie doll, or a doll house, and if not, it would be a treat at a child's park! Or mall! Dad was happy to get on the stage with me as he gave the medal to me.

Ten: I hated siesta.

Yes, I did. And if I'd meet my adult self back then, I'd give my younger self a scold. Now, I yearned for siesta, but I just can't. If you don't know what it is, it is a sleep time in the middle of the day, because a good lunch makes a person sleepy after (Haha!).

Back then, I got secretly upset at mom and dad "forcing" us to sleep in the middle of the day, when I should be out, playing. We listened, nevertheless. And I can say I reap the benefit, why? I am tall. Yeah, no kidding, I have a nice height, and maybe it's because I got some good sleep.when I was a child. Not now, though. (Sigh).

Eleven: Just kidding. It should only be ten, okay? I will stop here.

Honestly, writing this one is a bit hard. Just earlier I said that I have remarkable memories from childhood, but as I was writing through, I somehow had some difficulties remembering how I spent those days. Maybe because I don't think of that time of my life that much, or I am just pre-occupied with other stuff, that those childhood memories were now hidden somehwere in my consciousness.

Overall, I could say, I had a nice childhood after all. There were no gadgets back then, and we have disciplined and hands-on parents, so we were taught good values at home. Our parents taught us the value of money and education, that we still keep into heart until now. I must have hated some ways my parents raised me, but I can never deny that I am living my life clearly and more definite like this because of the lessons they instilled into my heart and mind. Thank God I have amazing parents.

Hello there, amazing people!

Hope you got to know me more by these facts about me. Thankful to the mastermind of this challenge as I got to reminisce some memories back then. I would lie if I say I did not wished I am a kid again.

Adulthood made me appreciate my childhood more. Now, I understand why my parents would always tell me, "When you get older, you'll realize we're right." Uh huh. So this is it now. I realize it now.

Feel free to join this challenge! Some of the information and sample are in the article I linked above. Don't forget to tag her, and comment the link of your work into her article:

For this one, may I tag bestie @zellypearl , if you'd just want to share your memories as a kid. :)

As always, thanks for being here. With that, I say..

Until Next Time!

❄️ Please show some love to my recent articles:

(Recommended articles will be back after I get som time to read works of others thoroughly again. 😊)

  • Lead Image from Unsplash

Thank you in advance for supporting me in my humble journey. My sponsor block is always welcoming of new people to fill it!

Come start writing and earning here, if you haven't yet!

https://read.cash/r/Ellehcim

I am also on noise.cash. Same username, let me know and let's talk there!

https://noise.cash/u/Ellehcim

To God be all the glory.

15
$ 10.56
$ 9.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @bmjc98
$ 0.10 from @eommaZel
+ 13
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

Buti na nga lang talaga hindi ka kinuha nung helper niyo. Scary yun. Kaya ang hirap din talaga makahanap ng helper na mapagkakatiwalaan mo. Yan na naman sa street food. Huhuhu. Gusto ko na talaga makakain fishball, squid ball, kikiam. Parang wala naman masyadong remarkable sa akin nung childhood pero try ko irecall. Hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo nga. ngayon ngang iniisip ko yon, ang creepy din talaga. Thank God He did not let that happen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe yung thief na nag babysit sayo. Buti na lang items lang kinuha. ANd kudos to your parents. It's never easy to teach kids at a very young age minsan. Pero worth it naman kasi ang galing galing mo. ;) Anyway, thanks for joining the giveaway. :) Sorry, natagalan ako dito.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

naku, ako din po natagalan maka-reply. Thanks po sa opportunity and chance ma-recall ang aking pagkabata. πŸ€— I enjoyed the challenge po. ❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your parents are very dedicated .. kudos to them for you are able to read and write at a very young age..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. Such hardworking and loving parents. I am always proud of them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thumbs up to them sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot! β™₯️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was like, "wtf" on the thief house keeper and laughed on the next one. Magagalit talaga pag di nanalo? Naiimagine ko mukha mo kung pano mo iinsist na panalo ka. Maybe because ganon din ako? Hahahaha 🀦🀣

Well, yeah! Most of us hated siesta talaga. Pero ngayon? Kung pwede lang matulog nga isang buong araw, gagawin e. 🀣🀣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo ! Hahaha! Pikonin talaga ako dati, tsala asar-talo. Alam mo yun, yung oag nasabi ng kalaro ko na 'okay, dead na.' todo galit talaga ako as in 'Hindi pa kaya! Ikaw kase pinatid mo ako eh, di pa yun dead eh! Wala, walaa... Ako pa din. ako pa din.. Di pa nga!!' HAHAHA pasaway!

Ang sarp nga umabsent today at matulog pa . haynaku.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hanapan ng mararason talaga para lang di mataya e. Tas pag taya na talaga, uuwi nalang. HAHAHAHAHAHHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo, ako pa galit nyan ha. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa true lang! Kabataan nga naman. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halos lahat naman yata dumadaan sa ganong stage. Pampalubag-loob LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahahaha true! Para lang kunyare hindi talo, hindi masakit.

Bat feeling ko may ibang meaning sinasabi ko? 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Humuhugot ka na naman hahha! Ayos lang yan! Makaka-move on ka din sa kanya. 🀧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ewan ko ba. Wala naman akong boylet. Hahahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lalo yatang malala pag walang boylet sis πŸ˜…πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

pare pareho talaga tayong hate ang siesta no? pero bilib ako sayo npakatalino mo kasi alam mo na magsulat at magbsa nung 4 years old ka pa lang. at nagawa mo pang magsulat para sa iba, yung nga lang may bayad. hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hajaha! Pandagdag neryenda din yon, ano? Sayang din! πŸ˜‚ Ngayon gusto ko na magsiesta na lang buong araw, hahaha! (especially at malamig these days dito)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha korek pambili ice candy. ay o kahit ako nga gusto matulog eh. iba na talaga pag lumaki na. kung alam ko lang sana nakinig ako nung pinapatulog ako. wow naman sana all malamig dito ang init

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nakakatamad bumagon sa umaga kasi masarap pang matulog. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Goodness.. Buti di ka kinidnap o sinaktan ng thief helper na yan..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahah, true nga po. It must have really scared my parents. Thanks for reading. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha I did the same as kid. While playing cricket, I never admit that I am out πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hmmm, what a silly child you were! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! That you got babysitted a thief is somewhat disturbing, Mich. Buti nalang talaga di ka kinuha. Naku

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, now that I remember it again, it is kinda creepy nga, ano.. Hays. Ibang tao talaga..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga. God is indeed good to not let you be stolen sa magnanakw na yon. Bahala na mga gamit dahil makakabili ka naman ng bago

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo, tama .. Agree with this a hundred percent. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So conclusion is you are a good student who always got prize . Difficulties came in every person life You know who to write Because you start writing at the age of 8 Now a days mostly girls have their boys friend. I don't why but when we were kid then we don't have boy and girls friend

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, LOL! I used to be shocked back then when I see young people being involved in a relationship, now I guess it's just normal. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Number four, thought I have bad hand writing I can do assignment and activity of my classmates for money. I didn't get hungry at school as I remember

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha! Nice! Young businessmen, right? πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow you're lucky pinayagan ka mag-grade 1 at 5 years old. Dun sa isang private school di ako pinayagan e 6 yrs old na ako nun. Kelangan daw 7. Sad life. Haha.

In fairness di ko naisip gawing negosyo ang abilidad ko nung bata. Hahaha. Kumikitang kabuhayan bata pa lang. :D

Meron din ako nasulat na ganito di ko pa lang na-publish. Baka bukas pa after ng mangrove series articles ko. haha. Gusto ko na nga i-post eh pero bukas pa.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! Syempre apngan ipagsulat ko sila nang libre! πŸ˜‚ Kahit 5 pesos lang yon, malaki na yon fpr me as grade 1 or 2 student. Wala na silang nagwa, they have seen naman how I was able tp read that storybook displayed sa classroom eh. πŸ˜„

Post yours na! Maganda din kasi may nalalamn readers about you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha onga di pwedeng libre ikaw na nga nagpagod eh. haha. Bukas ko pa ma-post yung akin... Abangan! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay! Fighting!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

4: you are so smart πŸ˜„πŸ˜ƒ that was a win-win situation for you all I think. And when I read β€œeleven” I thought at the moment: wait what? I wrote only ten. Was I wrong? πŸ˜‚ hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahha! That Eleven part was a prank! πŸ˜‚ You were pranked as well! LOL, that's why i said there 'Just kidding..' Hehehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You started reading at 4 while i was still finding it hard to read the difficult alphabets (A-Z) looked like Quantum physics to me back then.🀣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Quantum Physics! LOL! You're so funny! Hahahha! Everything's hard at the start, of course. πŸ˜‚ Thanks for reading, by the way.. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi this amazing! Hahaha. Siesta? I hated that one too. Ngayon naman, I am trying pero sumasakit lang ulo ko

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Weekends nalang ako nakkapagsiesta, especially masarap matulog because it's rainy these days. Malaking charging din ang siesta for the body..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehhee I was like a boyish too when I was a kid. This challenge is challenging and interesting, a quiet funny also...😊

God bless you Ellehcim...πŸ™β€οΈ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, some of us girls were.. Thanks for reading, and may God bless you, too. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're always welcome...❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And you are always sweet β™₯️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you...❀️❀️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Katakot naman yung theif mabuti nlng tlga di ka kinuha. I can imagine the fear if your parents if ever nangyari yun. Ang gndang prompt naman to heheh. Sayang dami kong namissed this week. 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ang dami ko din pong namissed na challenges and buti nalang naihabol ko po ito before deadline heehehe. True po, I can only imagine I was not in ny parents house, nakakalungkot naman po yun.

Salamat po sa pagbasa. β™₯️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lmaaaaaao! As a kid, I didn't like taking those afternoon breaks - siesta. If only we know better then πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£, we would have taken as much nap as we can. Now, we want it but responsibilities won't allow us πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚.

You started reading at 4? Wow. Smart kid you were. I believe you are still smart now though. You write so well and I love your thought process too. Well done, my friend. πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, my. You don't have to make me blush like that! Hahaha! Anyway, we were more of readers than playmates as kids. And I must say, wow.. that's nice..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Duly deserved... You are amazing.

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£ True. It pays off, I must say then. πŸ’žπŸ’žπŸ₯°πŸ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Shoookss.. Thank you lots! πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dami pala tayong mga boyish noong kabataan natin. At yung siesta, sobra, dami kong takas moment dahil gusto kong makipaglaro sa labas. Hihintayin ko lang makatulog si nanay, tapos pag nakatulog na takas agad.πŸ˜… Kaya palaging napapalo eh.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Naku, ayokong mapalo, takot talaga ako kay mama, at ang sama ng tingin pag ako'y nahuhuling tulug-tulugan! πŸ˜‚ Kaya pa ako naiinis dati kasi sya hindi natutulog, so bantay sarado kami πŸ€§πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good thing the thief did not include you on what she stole, ang sweet nang parents mo, you are blessed to have them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes po. I used to resent the way I was raised but now I am just thankful kasi what I've become is surely because of the discipline I've went through. Thanks for reading po β™₯️

$ 0.00
2 years ago