Idleness.

10 51
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

Okay I forgot to include my busy schedule in my last article, I just wasn't able to come online during weekends and that was due to my part-time weekend classes.

There's a word I know of, its name is "idleness," it simply means not being busy, it could come in different sequences:

  • Lack of jobs.

  • Having lots of time yet using it to do unprofitable things...and so much more.

There's a saying I'm sure we all know of, it says and I quote:

"An idle mind is the devil's workshop."

When one's mind is idle, the heart entertains different types of things or strange thoughts.

  • You'll think more of your problems.

  • You'll think more of drinking and smoking to forget those problems that invades your mind.

  • You tend to have more sexual needs when you're idle...

When I was still in the game of "teaching," there was this lady who joined us.

There was a reason why she came to teach with us, I remember her vividly narrating her ordeal to me.

This lady had encountered alot of troubles in life, she lost her husband to cancer; even after spending her life savings on him; thinking he'll survive. Unfortunately, her husband never survived it. She lost her beloved husband and was left to fend for their only child.

What am I driving at?

Now, this lady came to teach in the school I taught in; back then, not because of anything else but for her to get back her sanity.

Idleness made this lady think alot, it left her with suicidal thoughts.

She wanted to get rid of these hurtful thoughts that invaded her mind whenever she was left alone and idle, so she decided to get busy with work; that way, taking her mind off the burdens she felt.

Idleness would make you think alot.

A person who has a very busy and tight schedule won't think so much about an heartbreak.

I've been there before, i was dating a guy back then, we broke up and after the breakup, I realized:

  • I didn't think too much about him when I was busy with work.

  • I didn't think too much about him when I was busy; gisting away with friends.

  • I didn't think too much about him when I was seeing a movie or doing other things.

  • My mind easily drifted the moment I laughed with kids.

  • I only thought so much about him whenever I was less busy or idle.

  • It even got to a point that I started forcing myself to remember those memories, all because I wanted to play being "sad."

Work, and being around kids helped me move on so fast.

Do something productive with that little time, don't spend it sleeping and playing away.

There's something i keep telling myself.

I find myself telling myself this; anytime I want to motivate myself to keep pushing. I was so happy when I saw on someone's WhatsApp status; a rare picture that kind of summarized the words in my head:

"Whenever I see Low reactions to my poems on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter accounts."

"Whenever I see Low views on the videos I post on YouTube."

"Whenever no one comments or replies to my status on WhatsApp..."

There's something I always tell myself:

If you allow frustration lead you into giving up, what would you gain?

After asking myself the aforementioned question, I'll then say this to myself:

It's better to continue posting and building up yourself than not doing it at all.

  • With continuity and consistency, you can one day spark up the interest of others.

  • With continuity and consistency, you'll keep growing, correcting your mistakes, improving...and who knows, one day, you can be called upon.

When preparedness meets connection, success is inevitable.

So with all these; I tell myself this:

It's better to continue, than stopping it to become idle.

The lovely picture I saw on a friend's status.

In the above picture, we can boldly see:

Doing nothing at all.

Vs

Making small consistent efforts.

Doing nothing at all; within a year portrayed the same result.

But you see ehn, those little consistent efforts; within a year gave us a completely different and better result.

Continue with what you're doing, it's better to keep at it, than choosing to leave it and become an idle man who does nothing but:

  • Sleep.

  • Eat.

  • Watch movies.

  • Chat with friends.

  • And on and on he/she continues.

Thanks alot @Bibijani01 for the sponsorship renewal, I deeply and sincerely appreciate you dear friend, I'm definitely not going to take this for granted.

Special Announcement.

The main reason as to why I haven't really been engaging on this platform is because I find it so hard to comment on the articles of others; without tipping them, and rusty hasn't visited as usual; so I literally don't have enough to tip your articles.

But...

Starting from tomorrow, I might have to start commenting on some of your articles, without tipping. I hope you all would understand. 🙏

And to those who I haven't been able to renew my sponsorship with them, I'm really sorry, I've also missed seeing my face on your sponsor's block, I hope you understand me as well; hopefully it gets back to normal soon.

Till we meet again in my next article and in yours.

Thanks for reading.

13
$ 0.22
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.02 from @Jumper-01
+ 6
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

Comments

Laziness destroys our future. Laziness destroys all success in our lives. We have to overcome laziness and work hard.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some people even jobless find the time to do a master class or even small jobs occasional or read a book and some people will be bored from 5 or 6 bad meetings that don't lead to work.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Original motivational speaker ella nice one you actually motivated me. Idleness is very dangerous because it can make us question our purpose in life and what we’re are doing with our life. So yeah we should find a way to flee from every spirit of idleness

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was sha wondering that I don't see your post again, thinking you havent been writing, Ashe I unsubscribe unknowingly or probably it wasnt me, I viewed the article via your whatsapp status and voola, it was not yet subscribed, I had to check your sub numbers to see if it was a new account

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When you are busy, you will not remember what are you going through, that is why when someone is sad or broken hearted they tend to be busy, than doing nothing else.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is right. After giving birth, I stopped working and I felt so bored in the house. I felt so stressed thinking that I don't have job anymore until I find some things to do so I will be busy. I learned cooking some "kakanin" and now I am happy to find this amazing platform that my vacant time is not wasted anymore.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The idleness brings out negative thought. But productivity usher in positive thoughts. Little progress is indeed better than no progress at all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Fights feelings of boredom and unhappiness, raises enthusiasm for work.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Delight in our Creator and it's creatures will give us joy back @reanbooks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess they wouldn't mind. Just keep on engaging without thinking about the $ and when you have already, feel free to give according to your heart's desire.

Idle mind- I like what you mentioned there that we indulge in thinking, eating, smoking even drinking, sex or drugs or foods just to get by because we do nothing valuable or purposeful in life.

That picture with multiplication can open our minds that making small steps can make changes in our lives overtime.

$ 0.00
1 year ago