Crybaby.

19 33
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

I was at home today; thinking of what to write, when my mind slowly wandered back to "March 23rd, 2022." It was a Wednesday, here in Nigeria. I had finished my exams for that particular day, so the plan was to prepare for the next paper.

Here is the full gist:

My friends and I had slept in school during the whole period of our exams, to avoid the traffic jams on Lagos roads, meet up with our exam schedule and also prepare for it by burning candles at night. There was a place in the school; called "Chapel," where we usually kept our big bags(the bag, containing our clothes, brushes, pastes...) After our exams on that particular day, we strolled down to the Chapel to get our bags. On our way there. Esther and I got involved in a conversation.

At what age, does someone become a youth?

I bluntly said: once the person is matured and once the person is 18years, one could say the person is a youth. Esther had a different opinion concerning this, she was adamant on her own answer. She said "eighteen is still under teen, so as long as 'teen' is there, one is still a teenager."

Esther's view on this was: teenage years starts from the age of 13 and ends at the age of 19, while being a youth starts from the age of 20.

I would love to hear your view; regarding this, in the comment section.

That was how the argument erupted. I wasn't willing to surrender and she wasn't willing to as well. We decided to surf the internet for a verified and impartial answer. My first search showed that youth years starts from the age of 18 and ends at 25. Esther was mute at first but still didn't surrender. She asked me to surf for: "what's the range of teenage years." I surfed this and Google brought this out: "13 - 19." Oh! You bet Esther was overjoyed right now. She started claiming rights and insinuating that "how can I say being a youth starts from the age of 18?." And then I told her about what Google brought out initially. She ended up claiming that it was wrong. That it was the second answer Google gave; that was right. This pissed me off to a certain level. I said:

Me: So, because the second answer corresponds to your thoughts and imagination, that's why you want to out rule the first.

Esther: leave it, Google was wrong in the first answer, how can you say youth years starts from the age of 18. Ahan, eighTEEN

Honestly, you should have seen us arguing that day in the school premises. Students; who were passing by must have been wondering what was wrong with us and why we were lashing out at eachother. Joyce could not even control us. Esther was claiming that I was always proving the most intelligent, saying I don't want to accept my wrongs. I also thought the same of her. I was also trying to explain to Joyce about how Esther made me flare up. Joyce wasn't ready to listen or take sides, she just wanted us to settle our disputes and this got me upset with her also.

Image source: Unsplash.

Joyce: You people should stop this, you are friends for crying out loud, you people would still bath together tomorrow morning, why are you acting this way? This was a discussion, why are you guys arguing about it.

Me: (in rage) Esther is not my friend abeg ooh.

Esther: Joyce, leave this one alone, it's childishness that's doing her, let's go abeg, after all we were together before she came to meet us. You're the one that caused this thing. You should never had allowed her to be our friend. (Dragging Joyce's hand to the classroom).

I made those sentences in the last paragraph; bold, because that was what triggered my emotions. That last sentence got me so, so, so sad and taken aback. I couldn't control it. There and then, I made up my mind to never again talk to Esther and Joyce. When I got to the classroom, I laid down in a completely different seat. I didn't stay close to them like I would have; if we were in good terms.

  • I cried, I cried, I cried.

  • That kind of tears that makes the eyes really red and swollen,

  • That kind of tears that brings out catarrh from your nostril,

  • That kind of tears that you can't stop easily. It keeps coming back and coming back when you try talking or explaining the cause of your tears to someone.

  • That kind of tears that gives you headache thereafter,

  • That kind of tears that makes you feel dizzy... I cried.

Little wonder why I was actually crying. I guess it's just my nature. Anyways to summarize it all. We've settled though, we settled that day when a course mate of ours (Kingsley) intervened. Even when I was trying to explain my side of the story. I still cried. I could recall Esther asking Kingsley and Joyce: Why is she now crying?, what's making her cry? Was she not the one that first said I wasn't her friend?.

I cried...

Not just on that day, but on so many other days. That's why I find it so hard to physically talk to people about my hurts or what they did that really got me sad. Some of my course mates have known me for this. Infact; they call me crybaby especially because they know I can't control it once it starts.

I've seen this as a weakness. It is so embarrassing, mostly because I am meant to have outgrown this. This is just the main reason why I don't like voicing out in public, the reason why; if you do something wrong to me. I won't say anything, but I'll wait till I get home, login on Facebook, or come active on WhatsApp to voice out my thoughts and feelings in words and through the media. I get so easily drawn to tears and it's really annoying.

Please if you have any advice on how this can stop. I'll be really grateful.

I could recall a day I went for an ushering job. My boss; who was pregnant at that time, was wrongly accused of taking something that belongs to the caterer of that particular event. She was shouted at by the caterer and was insulted. I definitely wasn't happy or pleased about this. Apart from the fact that I knew my boss didn't take it, My boss was also someone I held so dearly in highesteem. I resolved in my mind to politely talk to the caterer and cajole her to render an apology to my boss for wrong or false accusation.

I rehearsed calmly; what I had to say to her and boldly went over to where she stood.

But guess what?.

Before I was even half away into my speech. I started crying. Now instead of me to do the talking. She was the one; doing the petting. I wasn't happy about this for one bit. The more I tried to talk, the more the tears came in jubilating. I was doing great at first until I looked into the caterer's eyes, that was when the tears had started.

What I hated about this day is that, the tears didn't allow me say all what I rehearsed to say to her. Fine; she grasped and understood. She actually apologized at the end of it all, but I still wasn't pleased. I felt I had made a fool of myself once more in public. To the view of everyone present at that particular point in time.

I was down, unhappy and sad.

  • I cry when I'm angry.

  • I cry when I'm sad

  • I cry when I'm hurt

  • I cry when I try to talk or explain my hurt to someone.

  • I cry when I feel like. (Lol)

  • I cry when I watch a painful part in a movie.

  • I cry when I remember a bad occurrence that made me cry.

  • I cry when people don't understand me.

  • I cry when I'm being shouted at.

  • I cry, I cry, I can't almost all the time.

Why do I always cry?

It's so annoying... Really.

I have so many more instances and occurrences, but I'll stop here.

Thanks for reading.

18
$ 4.07
$ 3.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.12 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
+ 11
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

Comments

There's no wrong in being a crybaby, it is just your nature. You should embrace it with your full chest as many don't know how to cry out which hurt a lot because silent cries shreds the heart. Both you and your friend are right, it okay to see things from different perspectives as that what makes us human and though you cried, the caterer got the message passed, be happy of about your cries, I wish I had the ability to cry out.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow!, I'm so enlightened... Feels like an heavy burden has been uplifted from my shoulder. Thanks alot for your kind words. You're right, I never knew some people wished they were able to cry out. And for you to wish so too; it means there's nothing wrong with me. Thanks for your contribution.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Always dear, would be glad if you could rub off some crying out on me though๐Ÿฅบ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Crying is a way of expressing our emotions both good and bad. I wouldn't exactly call it a weakness. Even happiness can make people cry.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awwwww, "even happiness can make people cry." This hits deep. You're right... Maybe I should just let it be and keep being myself even in tears. Thanks alot for your contribution.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're very welcome ๐Ÿค—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Base on my own view I thinK itโ€™s similar to yours. Once one this underaged that one is 18+ then we can call the person a youth because he/she has joined the working age/ group of the country. And I think the working age and being a youth is very similar.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh!. Exactly... Even in abroad; once one clocks the age of 18, one can move out and start living his/her life alone. I just learnt from what you said also, so no cap: youth years starts from 18, thanks alot for your contribution; I really appreciate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cry cry baby, how are you? Shame! I remember how Dey do sing those songs while we were younger. ๐Ÿ˜‚

A yes about the teenager and the youth. You were the right one. Cus the difference between them is that teenagers is when a person stay to attain the again without the number โ€œteenโ€z which starts from 13 to 19. But youth actually stats from 18 like you have said.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Lol ๐Ÿ˜‚

Exactly! This was what I was trying to tell her before we both flared up. Thanks alot for your contribution. Now; I'm more positive that I'm not the wrong one

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good you guys are still on good term. But donโ€™t be a cry baby again. Try staying strong dear.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The crycry baby song used to pain some students whenever we sing it in school.

Try as much as possible not to cry publicly and forgive those who have offended you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, it's really hurtful.

Alright dear, I'll endeavor to do my best. Thanks alot ๐Ÿ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It just shows how you feel for a lot of things and how empathic you are. There's no wrong in being that emotional. We are all different so we must learn to understand each other more.

There is no real age set for youth. Some even believed 29 is the end of being youth :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awwwn. This means I shouldn't feel bad about it, even if people take advantage of my tears most times. Thanks alot, I really appreciate this.

I wish she could see this. Thanks for your contributions and thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really don't see anything in crying tho, it's just a way to ease the pressure that's already mounted on you. Just let it come and go, the relief is relieving

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aaaah, I wish you've seen me cry. Especially over unreasonable things. It's embarrassing sometimes. Thanks for stopping by, I really appreciate your contribution

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are really a cry cry baby ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…. Well, I don't also like to be in the middle of an argument that can lead to a fight cos I will cry but I have always tried to avoid such situations coming up and I think that's what you should do, always try to avoid things that can warrant that cry.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow! You are also emotional? My oh my!. I wouldn't have known... Wow! Nice suggestion, thanks for this, I'll put it into practice henceforth. Thanks alot for your contribution.

$ 0.00
2 years ago