What My Father Tells Me About Money

39 65
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Money, Lessons, Father

Do you also sometimes have a random conversation with your parents that talks about something essential to all of us, which is money?

I am not that close with my parents, especially with my father, to the point that I would have a random heart-to-heart talk with him about important things in life, but he surely does tells me random stuff about money.

Others probably think that we don't have financial problems because of the way I project myself, such as with my savings and financial goals, plans, and huge dreams in life that I keep talking about, but just like any other family, money will always be a part of our daily problems.

It's not to insult them but I hate the way my parents think about money and the way they handle their money. If only I could teach them the right way to manage their money properly, then our financial situation would be a little lighter. However, they are old already and it's hard to break a wrong money mindset that is already established.

To be honest, I learned to be wise when it comes to saving and spending money because of them. Surely, they were the ones who taught me to save every extra coin I have from my daily allowance since I was young, at the age of 6. In fact, my father used to create a bamboo alkansya or bamboo bank for me and my brother so that we would insert there our extra allowance, and we will open it at the end of the school year. And the money we were able to save will be used to buy ourselves toys and clothes during our town festival around April of the year.

As time passes by, I aimed to be financially literate to lift my family from financial dilemmas and to have a more comfortable life. And I will continue seeking more knowledge so I could achieve my goal of financial freedom.

However, every time I make plans and goals to become financially free, my father would remind me of these things.

1. Money is supposed to be spent.

Actually, I agree with this because that is its ultimate purpose. We need to spend money so that we can survive our day-to-day life and we get to buy the things we need and want. But as a thrifty person, I would think not just twice but a lot of times whenever I expend my hard-earned money. I would ask myself if the thing I will buy is worth it or not.

But what I hate about this thinking is that he would always back it up with his statement that,

"You wouldn't be able to taste the fruit of your hard-earned money if you are already dead or if the end of the world comes."

His statement is too morbid but it's all facts anyway. Our money will be useless once our time comes and regret will embrace us because we didn't spend our money when we were still alive and kicking. But what I hate about this is that my father would use it as an excuse to spend all of his money without thinking about the future. What if you are going to live for the next 10 years and you didn't have any savings, what are you going to spend for your daily needs then?

I don't hate spending but it is unnecessary spending that is what I hate the most. Spending all the time without saving for the future, that is.

Yes, money is supposed to be spent but we should spend it wisely. Prioritize buying our needs first before our wants. Practice delayed gratification instead of instant gratification.

2. "We don't own money. Money is only passed on from one person to another."

Well, this is also a true statement. We don't own money. Remember, when we were born, we came out into this world with nothing in our hands. It is only passed on to us because we had to do work or a job to have it, while others also inherited their riches.

Money is the same as our life, it is only temporary. We are only in this world for a short period and everything we own, the money we have in our bank account, and the material possessions we enjoy are not really ours. We are only the caretakers of those things during our stay on this planet. Today, the money we have might be in our hands, but tomorrow, it won't be anymore. While we are alive, we earn it, hold it, and spend it. And once we are gone, it will be passed on again to another person.

3. "If you don't work, you don't eat."

This has been one of my father's statements whenever he is doing something to earn money, and it is true again. Actually, he would blabber these words when he notices that we are being lazy. It is like an indirect statement to make us move and do something. And if we don't do any household chores before, we would feel ashamed to eat.

Growing up, sometimes we would be short of money. And my father would then think of ways to have cash to meet our daily needs, especially for food. Witnessing his acts, it was implanted in my mind that if you don't work and just stay in the house all day, you won't be able to make money. Thus having no money means no food to prepare on the table for the family to eat.

And when I got older, I adapted this kind of thinking, that I am not allowed to eat in the morning if I didn't do even just a simple chore or treat myself with fancy food if I didn't do a job well done. And it is also a reminder to me that I won't achieve the kind of life I want to have if I won't do the work and continue to hustle.


These are some of the statements my father would randomly say about money and I would admit that they are all true.

How about you? What's the statement your father tells you about money? Share them on and let's learn from him.

"Money is power, freedom, a cushion, the root of all evil, the sum of blessings." Carl Sandburg

18
$ 6.14
$ 5.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
+ 6
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Money, Lessons, Father

Comments

Since I grow up fatherless, its my mother who told me to save but she is not a good spender. Always short of money for daily needs in the family maybe because of meager income but as I assess she is not a good budget officer and I felt I inherited it. I am not a good when it comes to money. There is always a reason that it will be spent, goes out from the coffer, find its ways to escape from my grip.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

My mom is not a good budget officer too. Lols She would buy unnecesary things sometimes. Good thing I didn't inherit that behavior. I'm very frugal. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama lahat ng sinabi niya, pero tama ka rin need parin natin mag ipon para sa future kasi hindi naman natin alam kung ano mangyayari in the future, pero atleast may naipon tayo at hindi na kailangan umutang sa iba.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Truee. Ang mahalaga may ipon talaga para sa future, para kahit anong mangyari, may pera parin na pwedeng asahan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yap. At yan din gusto kong magawa haha hindi kasi maiwasan yung pagkain at shoppeee yawa🤧🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha! Same. Papabudol na naman bukas. 🤧🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung father ko naman bigay lang ng bigay yun sakin pero yung mother ko yun ang kuripot at matipid siguro kasi siya ang nagbubudget sa bahay. Father ko kapag binibigyan ko ng pera minsan ayaw tanggapin at panggastos ko nalang daw so parang kabaliktaran kami ng tatay ko. Ako nagsasabi sa kaniya na gastusin mo yan kasi kikitain ko pa naman yan, pero yung pagiging matipid ay isa sa mga namana ko sa mama ko kasi bago ako magpakawala ng pera sinisigurado kong may naitabi na ako para sa akin. Para sa future ko.😊

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Aww. Iba parin po kasi kapag may ipon talaga at marunong humawak ng pera kasi para sa future din naman talaga. Hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't remember any conversation with my father about money. We are not that close too, but he always reminded us to study hard to be able to get a good job in the future to earn our own money. Unfortunately I failed him I did not finished my studies. Bad me😞.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Awww. That's okay, I guess. As long as you're doing good now and are making your own money.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So far yes, and sending him some if I have extra in the pocket. And never bothers him about money problem since I came back to my unsuccessful journey as domestic helper in mid east. Nahihiya na ako eh🥴.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung tatay ko naman medyo kuripot.hihi Hindi naman kasi kami mayaman kaya tipid talaga. Pero yung nanay ko, pag may pera siya ginagastos talaga niya- sa pagkain, mga gamit sa bahay at iba pa. Sabi kasi niya, yan naman daw talaga ang purpose ng pera. Pero dapat daw before ka gumastos, magsave ka rin daw para sa future.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Mas maganda nga po ung medyo kuripot. Hahaha! Ganun din si mama, mga gamit sa bahay naman binibili niya pag may pera siya. Kaso di talaga sila marunong mag-save. Hahaha 🤧🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hhahaa. Di bali sis, andyan naman papa mo.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sadly, some of those are limiting beliefs but I am glad that you are more financially literate na. The way we perceive money can change or affect our lives.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Totoo po. Hahaha! Dami ko kasing natutunan sa book ni Chinkee Tan. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat Kuya Chinkee! Makabasa nga one day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hinding hindi ko talaga malilimotang line ni papa when it comes to pera is " Bumila ka hanggat sa may pera kapa sa bulsa, kasi yung pera dapat naman talagang ginagastos yan, hindi mo naman yan madadala kapag namatay kana" Kaya everytime nanghihingi ako sa kanya, binibigyan nya talaga kami kapag may pera siya

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Totoo naman kasi yan. Dapat talaga ginagastos ang pera kasi di na natin mapapakinabangan kapag patay na tayo. Kaso kasi paano kung sa 60+ ka pa mamamatay, tapos inubos mo pera mo sa isang araw lang. Paano na bukas? Edi kayod ulit. Hahaha! 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm usually conflicted between the need to spend money and the need to save. Money is supposed to be passed on but if we do that we lose it, but we also need to save and to that, we need to restrict the movement of money... Should I spend it should I save?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Aww. Same. But I'll just remind myself about the future I want to have so I'll save the money instead of spending it. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember my Papa because of this. When he is still alive, we always had a talk about money. He always said that I should invest my money on something that can give me a long term benefits not to a temporary happiness. Kaya siguro sa kanya ko rin namana pagiging kuripot ko hahaha. Sabi pa niya gawin ko daw assets yung pera ,huwag ubos biyaya. Kaya ngayon kapag gagastos ako, sobrang pinag-iisipan ko talaga kung sa worth it ba mapupunta yun haha.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Awww. Ayos papa mo ah. Long-term investor siya mag-isip, kabaliktaran ng papa ko. Hahaha! Pero dahil sa pagiging ganun niya eh natututo ako. Lols! Ganyan din ako. Kuripot at talagang pinag-iisipan bago gagastos. Hirap kasi maghanap ng pera e. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahhaha nakakatawa Kase lahat kaming magkakapatid naging mga kuripot dahil Kay Papa haha. Minsan kahit para sa sarili Namin, hirap na hirap kaming gumastos hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halla. Same. Ung iisipin mo pa kung deserve mo ba yan o hindi eh pinaghirapan mo naman yan. Hahaha 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your father is amazing, it's true, we need to control money and use t wisely otherwise it will end up controlling us :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha! Not really. He wants me to spend all of my money now because he keeps saying the end is near. 🤣 And I agree with that tho. We should be the master of money and not the other way around.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha such a mood 🤣🤣 I stan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The religion of money is that it will pass from one person to another. I hope your random conversation with your parents went well. You do so good dear. Carry on.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah. That's true. Hahaha! Thanks. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakaka miss lang talaga ang may tatay pa. Ang tataynko kapag may pera malaki man o maliit laging nanlilibre sa mga kamag anak at kakilala kaya di nakaka ipon

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha! Ung tatay ko po kapag may pera ipambibili lahat sa pagkain tapos kapag wala na siyang pera, magrereklamo. 🤧🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha yon ung mahirap don hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganyan si papa kpg may malaking pera na hawak..kya yung milyones nya, bilis naubos .. Spend dto sugal dun.. Kya ayun. Ako nagsuffer ngayon, lol...

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Kaya nga, madam. Ung papa ko gusto akong turuan maging 1-day Millionaire. Gastusin ko na daw lahat ng pera ko. Tssk. Kaya naaasar ako minsan at naiisipan kong lumayas eh. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganyan din po ako dati sa lolo ko. If pera po pag uusapan ang mai aadvice lang po niya eh mag tipid at di po dapat lagi eh gumagastos para may magamit po kami kung sakaling wala na silang maibigay. Siya din po nagturo sakin sa pagtitinda ng bote ng 2x2 nong mga bata pako and iyong nilalako ko sa mambobote eh yun ang dagdag lagi sa baon ko sa skwela.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Buti pa lolo mo, pinapayuhan kayong magtipid. Napakalaking tulong at life saver kapag may savings kasi eh. Ang galing naman. Ganyan din ako dati. Kinukuha ko ung mga bote ng gin na pinag-inuman ng tito ko tapos binebenta ko. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your thought about money is accurate. And I loved your perception. Good going dear. Be successful in life.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Awww. Thank you. Let's all be successful. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago