Tips to Learn Korean Faster

32 71
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Hangeul

Disclaimer: This article is just for educational purposes. I'm not claiming that I'm already good with the Korean language and I'm not even close to it. I've only been studying Hangeul for more than 1 month now so I'm not in the position to share such tips. However, I just want to share some of the tips I have learned from watching vlogs and videos on YouTube that teach the Korean language.

So without further ado, here are some of the tips to learn Korean faster.

1. Set a Goal: Know your "Why?"

Perhaps, some of you are also wanting to learn how to read and write in Hangeul and have a good conversation using the Korean language. Maybe, you also want to watch Korean dramas without having to read the subtitle anymore or you also want to listen to Korean pop songs and you want to sing with the song or you want to understand the lyrics. Probably, it's also one of your dreams to travel and work in South Korea.

Whatever the reason you want to learn Korean, you should always put it in mind so that you have a clear goal of why you want to do it. Also, so that you won't be discouraged when you are going to start studying already because learning the language is really confusing and challenging at the same time. Just like what a quote says, "When you feel like giving up, think about why you started."

At first, I only wanted to study Korean because I'm fond of watching K-dramas so I wanted to understand what the characters are saying without having to read the subtitle anymore. But then, I thought it's also a good skill to learn since it may lead me to great opportunities out there. Then as I was watching vlogs, I came across videos of OFWs in South Korea, and I thought I also want to work there. So now, I'm not just going to learn Korean for K-dramas, but also to fulfill living my Korean dream.

2. Learn the Korean Alphabet

Learning Hanguel or the Korean writing system is the foundation of learning the language. And it's a good thing because learning the characters or letters is just really easy, and you can memorize them in just a couple of hours or days, depending on your memorization skills.

In my 1-week of Learning Hangeul article, I have shared here the material I used to learn Hangeul letters faster. So if you still have no idea about the characters, you can also use that one.

3. Consume Korean Content

Watching Korean dramas is probably one of the best ways to learn Korean because they're all speaking in Korean. And just by watching and listening to their dialogues, you get to learn new Korean words. Perhaps, all of us learned Annyeonghaseyo (Hello), Gamsahamnida (Thank you), Joesonghamnida (I'm sorry), Ne/Ye (Yes), and Aniyo/Anyo (No) because of watching K-dramas. And when you listen closely to their conversations, you will expound your Korean vocabulary.

Listening to Korean pop songs will also help in learning Korean words and you will also get to familiarize yourself with the words and their pronunciation.

4. Watching Clips and Shadowing

I think this works really well if you want to improve your speaking skills in Korean because you get to follow how the words are spoken. So just like when you're watching Korean series and there's a particular scene that seems you need to learn it, you have to repeat saying the words after you hear it and do it over and over again until you memorize the word and learn the correct pronunciation.

5. Use Korean Learning Apps

Since you're just learning Korean on your own and you didn't enroll in a language center, the best thing to do to learn Korean faster is to take advantage of the available resources online. There is a lot of useful content online that will help you to learn the language faster. You can read articles on Google, watch videos on YouTube, listen to podcasts, and download Korean learning apps like Duolingo or social language apps like HelloTalk. You can even take advantage of your social media apps and follow Korean celebrities or accounts to get to read random words daily.


Studying a new language is a challenging journey but it is also fun if you really want to learn about it. It will probably take years before you can pull off having a good 3-minute Korean conversation with a local. However, if you are determined to do it, then nothing is impossible. Just remember, consistency is the key. So if you decide to start learning already, just keep going until you achieve your goal. ν™”μ΄νŒ…! (Fighting!)


Follow My Korean Learning Journey:

Learning Hangeul: Korean Alphabet Writing System

1-week of Learning Hangeul

11
$ 12.27
$ 12.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Fyangzee24
$ 0.03 from @akagaminoDneloy
+ 3
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Hangeul

Comments

Hahaha natuto lang din ako nung mga common words sa kakanood ng kdrama, maiksi kasi talaga pasensya ko pag nag aaral ng laguage nila hahaha hirap ako haha kaya idaan na lang sa kdrama haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Helpful kaya ang K-drama sa pag-aaral ng Korean. Kinilig ka na, natuto ka pa. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha sikat ngayon sis yung shibal haha dahil dun sa all of us are dead 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din natuto ng basics dahil sa kakapanood ng kdrama, hahha

Minsan nga kahit walang sub eh medyo nagegets ko na

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kapag po talaga lagi tayong makarinig ng Korean eh masasanay tayo at matututo nalang kahit hindi inaaral eh. Haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

truth, hahahha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been watching in youtube lately about some kvariety shows that only can view in youtube. Some recommended videos is about learning korean language. I am starting to get interested. 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yay! I bet you'll start learning Korean too. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Probably, yes! 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Consistency and hard work are the keys of success. I know some words which I learned by watching k-dramas and listening k-pop as I really want to learn this language but as I'm currently learning Turkish I have no timeπŸ˜… I wish some day I will definitely learn it too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yay! Good luck learning Turkish tho. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also indulging myself to learn Korean because of my addiction to Kpop and Kdrama. It's not that easy but if you just focus on it, you will really learn what you want to learn. I downloaded many apps and practice it to my daily conversation hahaha.. I even joined a dating app for Koreans so I can be able to apply what I learn haha. And who knows, I'll meet my oops there 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha! Same here po sa dating app. Nag-download ako nung 1KM at Korean Cupid eh. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh? Kumusta naman? May mga oppa na ba? Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Meron naman po pero matatanda na sila. Hahahaha! 🀣 Mga 30s na sila eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay na yun haha. BEt na bet natinn si Lee dong wook eh 40 + na yun haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha! True din. Ultimate Oppa ko si LDW eh. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha see? Okay na yun sis haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I can fully learn Korean within a month. hahaha.... Amazing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's impossible but if you are determined, why not. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree ako sa una taalga, kapag talaga ineenjoy mo ung isang bagay eh mas madali mo yan ma-aabsorb at malalaman. Naalala ko nung highschool ako, halos lahat ng kaklase ko nag aaral ng korean tapos ako lang hindi. Paano, that time kasi hindi ko talga maa-appreciate. Puro mas lamang pa ungpag maamndarin ko.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sana all High School palang nag-aaral na ng new language. Hahaha! Ung mga friends ko din dati, nag-aaral na ng Hangeul eh. Dapat pala sumabay na ako sa kanila noon. Pero di ko din kasi hilig ang K-dramas noon. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo ung mga ritskid kong kaklase mahilig na mag korean dati pa hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Duolingo! Hell yeah gonna download after my exam . I just wanna learn for my own skills. I'ma a hardcore fan of korean series, movie, and drama

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's good to know. You should try that app.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Consistency is the key" yes Langga I agree. If we have some things that we want to learn or we want to achieve we should be consistent. Once you started keep going and continue, never stop until you make it or achieve it.

I want to learn Korean language too Langga. Yes agree watching Korean movies or series can help a lot then downloading applications related on learning a Korean language.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True po. Be consistent lang talaga. Ehe! Start ka na din po mag-aral. Haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Langga that's true. The consistency should always be there. You can easily achieve the things you want if you maintain it. Thank you Langga. Soon if I have a free time Langga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can understand that you love Korean films, it might be an inspiration to master Korean. maybe it's a little difficult for me but you have provided a basic way that can encourage to go to korea

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, I love Korean dramas that's why I'm trying to learn their language. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko din matuto, pero sobrang tamad ko na. Hahaha. Hi/Hello, Thank you, and No lang talaga alam ko.

Pero galing mo ah, naka 1 month ka na sa pag aaral. πŸ₯³

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Dagdag mo din ung Sorry. Hahaha! 1 month na pero parang di pa din nag-iimprove eh. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago