1 Week of Learning Hangeul (한글)

30 39
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Hangeul, Korean

I have been very open about my goal this year of learning a new language, specifically the Korean language, and I even wrote an article about it, which is the Learning Hangeul: Korean Alphabet Writing System. I chose to learn Hangeul (한글) because I am fond of watching Korean dramas so I want to watch series without having to read the subtitle anymore. It's also my dream and goal of getting to travel to South Korea someday and although it's not yet clear about when and how I'll get there, I'm already preparing for that day. Who knows I'll also get to work there in the future. Ehe!

It was last January 07, 2022, when I decided to take this goal seriously and just take the first step already because if I keep delaying it, then I wouldn't be able to have a step forward in reaching my goal. After all, just like what a famous quote says, "A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step."

Learning the Korean Alphabet

To be honest, I was hesitant to start learning Korean because I thought their alphabet writing system is quite difficult to understand. I thought it would give me a headache trying to learn the letters or characters of Hangeul. But I was wrong. I actually found it easy to learn and memorize, especially since I was lucky enough to find a valuable learning material online that taught me the Hangeul characters in a simple yet very effective way. 90Day Korean's "The 90-Minute Challenge" was very helpful for me in jumpstarting my journey in learning Hangeul. If you also want to read the exact material I used in learning Hangeul, just click this, "Learn the Hangeul Letters and Character Sounds".

I found out that the Korean Alphabet has only 14 consonants (10 plain consonants and 4 aspirated consonants, plus 5 tense/double consonants) and 10 vowels (where 8 with single vowels, 6 vowels with y- sound plus 7 double vowels). I know that sounded complicated but there's actually only 24 letters in the Hangeul alphabet.

Korean alphabet doesn't have the F, R, V, and Z letters that can be found in the English alphabet, although R can sometimes be interchanged with L through the "" in Hangeul, depending on its position. They also don't have Q, W, X, and Y but these can be formed by adding two or more Hangeul letters.

Among all the Korean alphabet, the letter "" is the most special of them all because it has a double purpose. It becomes a placeholder when writing Hangeul that starts with a vowel and it is a silent letter, and it also sounds "ng" when it's placed at the end of a syllable.

Learning the Korean Alphabet is the first step and the foundation of getting to learn the Korean language so it's a must to learn the Hangeul letters first.

Reading Hangeul/Korean Words

Do you remember when you were still trying to read the ABAKADA or ABCD book when you were still in Kindergarten or Grade 1? That's exactly how it is when you start to read Hangeul or Korean words already. You can recognize the letters that are in the word but when you start to read it already, either aloud or through your mind, you will doubt if how you read it is correct or not.

In reading Korean words, I have learned that you should start reading per syllable block from "left to right, then top to bottom". Just like in the word "Annyeonghaseyo", in reading the first syllable block, you should start with the first letter "ㅇ" then "ㅏ" then "ㄴ". And "" can be read as "An". Then move on to the second syllable block or box until you finish reading the word.

By the way, I think most of us already know what "Annyeonghaseyo" (안녕하세요) means but to those who don't know, it's the standard Korean of "Hello".

To master reading Korean words, I have decided to start following Korean celebrities on Instagram and Twitter so that I get to read random Korean words whenever I'm scrolling on those apps.

Writing Hangeul/Korean Words

If you have already mastered the Korean alphabet, then it's already easy to write in Hangeul. However, it's also not as easy as you think because the Korean alphabet has a lot of vowels and that is where I get confused most of the time because they sound the same. I sometimes have wrong spelling because of the vowel and the meaning would also change. Just like whenever I reply to my friend's chat with "Arasso" (Okay), I often misspell it with "아라써" (Arasseo) instead of "아라쏘" (Arasso). So when she tries to translate it using Google Translate, she won't get what I'm saying.

Also, it's important to note that syllable blocks must always start with a consonant. But just like Annyeong and Arasso that both start with a vowel, a placeholder () should be placed first before the letter "A" (ㅏ), and it becomes a silent consonant. Another important thing, a one-syllable block is made up of at least 1 consonant and 1 vowel.

I've been learning Korean for more than a week now and these are the most important things I have learned while studying the language. So if you also want to learn Korean, you should take the first step now, and let's all start speaking in Korean before the year ends. ㅋㅋㅋ


Follow My Korean Learning Journey:

Learning Hangeul: Korean Alphabet Writing System

12
$ 4.89
$ 4.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @Ayane-chan
+ 6
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Hangeul, Korean

Comments

i love learning languages and that has saved me a lot in many ways, would you mind you teach me some of these too?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I don't teach. I can only share what I learned through my articles. Haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naisip ko din mag-aral nyan, kaya lang wala akong tiyaga. Nagdownload pa ako ng mga app para lang dyan😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Start ka na ulit. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag-iisipan ko, medyo tinatamad pa ako😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe ang galing mo naman langga. Nakita ko talaga sayo yung efforts and dedication na matutunan yung "Hangeul". Dream ko din yan Langga pero di ako sumubok pa na mag learn kaya na inspire ako sayo.

Sana maka work ka dun Langga in the future kasi yan pala isa sa mga bagay na gusto mo mangyari. Magtiwala ka lang Langga maaachieve mo din yan balang araw at magiging expert kana sa Hangeul.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sana nga po. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo naman Langga. Soon Langga. In God's will.🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe dami mo na agad alam ah. ang galing lang. Kapag taalga gusto mo matuto eh gagawa ka talaga ng way para matutunan..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Parang kunti pa nga lang po eh. Pero true po iyan. Haha! 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay lang yan at nagsisimula ka pa lang naman eh. wait ko aka isang buwan ka for sure dami mo ng alam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I started learning Japanese months ago and it's more difficult than Korean, I guess. I want to watch anime without subtitles that's why I want to learn. I'm not into anime right now, but Chinese drama series, so I also started learning Chinese Mandarin. Hahaha, it's way more difficult but I'm getting a grasp of it every day. The pronunciations in Chinese is a killer. 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow. Good luck learning Chinese. I think their writing system is more complicated. Lols! 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahaha. Yeah, it is. But I got familiar with other characters since some are similar to Japanese.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh grabee kinakaya mo pa yan madam hahaa sana orl talaga kaya ko lang ata isulat na Hangul is yung name ko tinuro pa sakin nung klasmeyt ko. Pag natuto ka na po ng bongga tara na agad sa sokor hahaha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha! Tara na agad. Lipad na tayo papunta kay Oppa. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I havent try kasi tingin ko mahirap, maybe it was easy for you because you were so eager to learn. Hehe,

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's what I thought too. You will never know unless you try tho. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Korean? I think that way more difficult than studying Italian heheeheh

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's one of the hardest language to learn po yata. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hay jusme ang hirap nga unawain,ang daming kailangan iconsider.,😅 at kailangan tandaan kasi kung hindi ma mispell ang bawat salita. Baka imbis na yunh salaita ang gusto mong sabihin mababago once na hindi ka nagingat.😁 pero mukhang sa one week sis dami mo ng nalaman kaya ang galing mo dun. 👍thumbs up

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya nga po. Hirap pa naman spellingin mga words nila. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good for you for taking that initiation.. and you are progressing very well to be able to explain this much.. I wouldn't find it hard to believe you would be speaking that language fluently before no time

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. I hope I'm really progressing and I hope I get to speak Korean before the year ends. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looking forward to having conversations with you in Korean na! haha Try HelloTalk as well if gusto mo makipagconverse with native Koreans while practicing. Magandang practice.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Next time tatry ko yan. Pero baka after 1 year siguro. Hahaha! 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It feels nice to learn and study another language. Sana ma achieve mo young goal mo na makapunta dun and no one know baka bukas na hihi but as of now tama yang move mo na dapat matuto muna in Korean laguage

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha! Mahirap makapunta sa Korea eh. Kung pwede lang magteleport nalang. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Watching K-dramas without having to read the subtitles is also my dream but I'm too lazy to start a proper Korean lesson lol.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can start with the phrases you hear in K-dramas tho. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago