My Relationship With Money

26 66
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
1 year ago
Topics: Money, Prompts

In a world where almost everything is expensive already, from the food we eat, the cost of transportation to go to our desired travel destinations, the electric and water bills that we need to pay every month, and other necessary expenses that we have to shoulder every time we encounter them, I guess it is just but right to say that "Money makes the world go round" somehow. Money may not be the most important thing, but it greatly affects our life that we have to work hard every single day to have it.

After reading the article of joydigitalsolutions about Prompt Questions about Money that she got from Pinterest from the prompt of BecomingWhoYouAre.net, I decided to make my own version of it and answer the questions as well, since the topic is just so interesting to ponder on. There are 20 questions from the set of prompts and I will answer all of them by five to also save myself from having a hard time thinking of topics to write on. So without further ado, let's get on it!

1. Describe your relationship with money in five words or less.

  • Money is my Servant. My relationship with money is nothing but a servant-master relationship, where I am the master and money is the servant, and not the other way around, although it looks like it at some point sometimes.

  • Money should just be our servant where it will serve us to give us a sense of security and stability in life. It should help us to have a good life where we get to spend it on the things we need and want. But because of the unfairness of life, we do everything and work so hard just to get money to the point that we become slaves to money. However, it should not be this way forever that is why I am already doing all the things I need to do so that money will be the one to serve me and not me be the slave to it until I die.

2. What was your money story growing up?

  • I wasn't born with a silver spoon in my mouth that is why as early as 6 years old, my parents already inculcated in my mind the value of saving money not just for the rainy days but for the sunny days as well.

  • When I was still young, I already learned to be thrifty so I have extra money to save in the bamboo bank that my father made me. And from just saving some of my daily allowances to the point that I will skip buying snacks in school so that I have some money to spend to buy new clothes and toys during our town festival, I learned to also save money so that we have some cash to spend during emergencies, like when my parents need extra money to pay for our electric bills.

3. What does it mean to you to have "not enough" money?

  • For me, money is not enough when you can no longer buy and pay for all of the necessary needs for yourself and your family, such as buying nutritious food and decent clothes and getting to pay for your monthly bills and other expenses. Money is not enough when you have a hard time sleeping at night because you are already thinking about the possible expenses for tomorrow. Money is not enough when you resort to acquiring debts from loan sharks and banks because it's already difficult to make both ends meet.

4. What does it mean to you to have "too much" money?

  • To me, I can say that I have "too much" money when I can already treat not just myself but my parents too in a fine-dining restaurant and good food whenever I want. I already have too much money when I can already have a good sleep at night not worrying about the uncertainties of tomorrow. I already have too much money if I have already established my emergency fund, and have different streams of active and passive income and investment.

5. What, to you, is the purpose of money?

  • Just like what I've said in the first question, the purpose of money is to serve us, to give us a sense of security and financial stability. Others say that money is supposed to be spent and I agree with that because we need to spend money so that we can have the things we need and want. However, money is also supposed to be saved so that we have something to use in the future, which will make us feel secure. Money will save us from uncertainties if we know how to save some of it when we have more. Thus, we should not just spend but learn to save money too.

Feel free to answer these questions in the comment box or through an article too. Share your thoughts about money and let's spread Financial literacy. Cheers!

14
$ 7.43
$ 7.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @Talecharm
+ 4
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
1 year ago
Topics: Money, Prompts

Comments

Hindi dapat tayo ang maging servant lang money kasi for sure it will lead into something. Try ko to one of this days.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True. Sige lang. Haha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me, money is just a source by which we fulfill all our desire just in case we have money ;-)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, I agree with that too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

money is like the lungs of life because we will not survive if money is not in hand because life is expensive.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, I agree. Life is really expensive. 🀧

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Minsan a g ganda sumali sa prompt nyo pero di ako makasali πŸ₯² puro nakasave lang sakin

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sali ka din minsan. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Money does rule so many and those are the ones that usually end up committing crimes to gain more money.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Because money is their master that's why they do everything for it, even if it's a bad thing already.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This mindset is the one I admired the most eonnie, same po dati takaga grabe ako mag ipon at matipid sa school, yung baon kasi na imbes ibili ko eh may packed lunch namn na ko so yung allowance na binibigay saking ng parents ko kung mas kakayanin na di namn na galawin yun hinuhulog ko sa alkansya ko pag uwe.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Diba? Maigi ng ipunin nalang kesa ipambili ng kung anu-ano kung hindi naman din kailangan eh. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I liked your concept. Master servant relationship. Ya i agree with you that money is not the Most important things but it is one of the most necessary ingredients in our regular life.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, we can't live without money. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pag usapin na talaga ng pera ehh I know lahat tayo involve jan kasi as you've said nga na money makes the world go around, lahat para mabuhay dapat may sapat talaga diyan. Kaya mahala relationship natin in that thing, wag lang mapasobra.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah. Mahirap mabuhay kapag kulang o walang pera.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gusto ko po yung idea na money is just the servant and tayo tayo yung master. Kasi po madalas tayo na yung nagiging slave just for money. So gusto ko po yung point nyo na tayo pa rin dapat ang nagpapatakbo sa pera natin at hindi pera ang nagpapatakbo sa buhay natin.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

True. Halos lahat ng tao naman ngayon, nagiging alipin ng salapi dahil hindi naman tayo mabubuhay kung wala tayong pera eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Correct. Kaya tama naman po na kailangan talaga ng pera sa buhay.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can say that I have too much money if I can afford letchon for the birthday of my daughter πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Aww. Letchon please. Hahaha! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha, libre lang talaga mangarap sis pero baka sakali someday🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For.me naman, too much na ang money ko kaag nabibili ko na din ang wants ko and not just my needs..

Save ko to beh, hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Same po. Feeling ko ang yaman ko na nun eh. Hahaha! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

While reading your article a lot of thoughts came into my mind. You really describe what is money and what is money for us. Just treat money as a tool here in this world not a shackle that will make other people becomes evil. What is money for me? I always think the saying about money which is the worst discovery of human, but the most trusted tool to test human nature.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Oh wow. I haven't heard of that saying. Thanks for bringing that up. I learned something new.

$ 0.00
1 year ago