My Dream Job or Profession

41 75
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Choices, Dreams

Some days ago, I watched a vlog of Kathryn Bernardo with Sofia Andres as her guest for her T.G.I.S. episode. During the interview, one of Kathryn's questions to Sofia was, "If she's not an artist, what should she be now?" Sofia answered she would be an Interior designer or a Pilot. Then Sofia asked the same question to Kathryn, and Kath answered she would be a make-up artist, or taking up Marketing, or anything that involves production or behind the camera.

After watching that episode, I thought about my childhood dream job or profession too or what should I be pursuing if I took a different path.

If you don't know yet, I am taking up a Business Administration major in Marketing Management course. I'm an incoming 4th-year student this coming Academic year 2021-2022. Two more semesters and I'll be saying goodbye to college and will finally get my diploma.

To be honest, I'm still wondering why I lined up in the B.A. department during the admission day. I thought I no longer have other options that Marketing was the only choice I had. But as I look back on that day, there were a lot of options and choices but I chose Marketing.

Am I happy with my choice? They say, when you are already in your third year, you'll probably love and embrace the path you took, but even though I'll be venturing on my last year in college, I still haven't accepted it, or perhaps I just don't see myself pursuing it.

"In Marketing, you can be Everything." This was a tagline that we used for our entry during our College week where we needed to advertise our course. Indeed, in Marketing, you can be anyone you want.

Sometimes, What ifs are haunting me that I wonder, if I'm not studying in a Business college, where should I be now? And if I answer this question, these are the options I should be picking from.

Math Teacher

Math is my favorite subject from Kindergarten until High School that I always joined Math contests that time. I just love numbers even when I was still young. I remember I used to act as a Math teacher to my younger cousins and teach them the lessons I've learned in Elementary. They would sit in their chairs while I'm standing in front of them with a mini blackboard and chalk teaching them how to count from 1 to 100 to add and subtract one number to another as if they understood what I was blabbering about.

I had a favorite teacher in Elementary and she teaches Math subjects. She was just so passionate about teaching the subject and I thought I want to be like her. And that's when I wanted to become a Math teacher too.

English Teacher

I may not be good with using highfalutin words but I love the English language. English was my 2nd favorite subject in school, and my dream of becoming an English teacher was probably influenced again by my teacher who teaches the subject back in Elementary and also in High School. Both of them were so good at teaching the subject and I admire them.

I don't like to be a grammar nazi but that would be included in the job description. I wanted to teach kids about subject-verb agreement, construct simple, compound, and complex sentences, or just teach them how to read and write English words. I'm not claiming that I'm already fluent in English but it's also a dream profession back in the day.

From Elementary to Junior High School, I just really wanted to become a teacher. But when I saw how difficult it was to be in that noble profession, I backed out. Lols 😹🀣 I told myself, I don't want to be stuck in the 4 corners of the classroom forever and that's when I turned my back on this childhood dream.

Public Accountant

This dream only sparked when I was already in Senior High School. Again, it was due to the influence of my teachers and also a friend of mine who also wanted to take up Accountancy in college. We were both good at Math and analyzing problems, and that's how we became really good friends. Since then, I have dedicated myself to pursue this dream.

It was my first choice when I took the entrance exam at our university. Lucky me, I had a passing score. I got shortlisted in the course, but when I was supposed to be interviewed to be admitted, I was weak enough to show up. I thought it would give me a hard time if I continue this path and I might die (well, not literally) fighting for it. Because of this action, I ended up lining up in the B.A. department. 😹🀣


If there is someone I envy, it's probably my brother. I mean, his ultimate dream was to become a Civil Engineer, and now, he is already a licensed one. He always fights for what he wants, and that's something I admire about him.

As for me, I don't even know what I want to do after college. I just want to be a certified 'tambay' (jobless) and be a housewife and mother to my children. Charot. 🀣🀣🀣


"Life is about choices and we are what we choose to be."

12
$ 11.51
$ 11.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @FarmGirl
+ 3
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Choices, Dreams

Comments

They say, when you are already in your third year, you'll probably love and embrace the path you took. I started to embrace it when I was already 4th year. Yung mga panahong nagtuturo na kami ng bata ( practice teaching). haha but after graduation sabi ko din sa ssarili kko ayoko magturo. haha. that's why I worked as a Call center agent but now here am I. Teaching again. yun ata calling ko kaso ayoko sa public. matrabaho dun sa paperworks ka mapapagod. haha.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Puro public teachers po kamag-anak ko and kitang kita ko ung hirap nila kaya ayoko na talaga mag-Teaching. Wahaha! Mag-Tambay nalang ako, ma'am. Charot. 😹🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo mag tambay ka na lang dito at sa noise. hehe. Alam mo ba yung barkada ko nga na isa na nasa public na sabi niya maghanap na lang kayo ng ibang work kasi daw kung siya lang masusunod at may ibang opportunity magreresign na siya. hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You should be a teacher tapos ituro is about Crypto currency Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all magaling sa Math (2). Huehue

Btw, just like most of us, ganito din ako dati. 'Di ko alam kung ano ba talagang ipu-pursue ko sa college 'nung umpisa. 'Nung bata pa ako gusto ko talagang maging Nurse pero habang tumatagal nagbabago 'yung gusto at isip ko. High school? Nakalagay sa year book namin na Future Chef ako, kaya pinursue ko 'yung TVL Home Economics for SHS. Layo sa course ko, diba? Well, di kasi ako nakapag-exam for STEM tapos walang pang offered na TVL-Agri-Fishery sa school namin. Pero 'yung maging Agriculturist talaga 'yung nagtop eh. Habang lumalaki (? 🀣) ako, mas namumulat ako sa hirap ng buhay ng maraming magsasaka. Oo, matutulungan ko pa din sila kahit na di ako lisensyadong Agriculturist pero mas matutulungan ko sila kapag isa na akong LAg. Kaya, ayun. Kahit ang layo talaga ng course ko sa track ko nung SHS, eto pa din ako. Alive and kicking 🀣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Grabe naman sa layo ng mga connections ng mga gusto mo dati. Hahahaha! Push mo iyan. Maganda naman ang Agri. Ipaglaban mo ang karapatan ng mga magsasaka. Yieeh. 😹🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahhaa kilig ako uy. Haha layo talaga. From HE to agri? Hirap din humabol ng mga kaalaman kasi mga blockmates ko? Lalim na din ng mga alam nila eh. Pero nakahabol pa din naman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pwede ka naman siguro magteach. Kuha ka lang ng units for teaching. Parang DBET ata tawag dyan. I always admire people who are good in math. Hindi kasi ako magaling dyan eh.hihihi. sana all na lang talaga..Hindi ko rin alam kung tama ba tung kinuha kong kurso. Gusto ko kasing maging stewardess, pero masyadong mahal naman. Hindi kaya ng powers ng sponsors ko at higit sa lahat baka hindi rin ako matanggap dahil hindi ako matangkad at maganda.πŸ˜…

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Pwede naman. Pero ayoko naman na magteacher. Hahahaha 🀣 Ano ba course mo now? Bakit kaya tayo napapatanong kung tama ung course na kinukuha natin e tayo din naman nagdecide nun. Lols 😹🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Education. Papa ko kasi ang pumili sa course na'to. Wala naman akong choice kundi sumunod na lang.😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

di ko talaga bet ang teacher kaya nga nag IT ako eh...feeling ko passion mo ang teaching...pwede pa naman mag switch diba

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahahaha Hindi ko lang sure sa Passion. Graduating na po ako sa course ko pero pwede din naman ako mag-take ng Prof. Ed. para pwede ako magturo sa HS. Pero ayoko na po magturo. 😹🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe,,na sa sayo na talaga kung ayaw o gusto mo hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all po magaling sa Math. Haha. Thinking about these things deeply, is this what they call na parang existential crisis? Hihi. You can pursue teaching through online kasi in demand na yun especially English. As for the Account, kailangan pa ata mag-take ng course. Whatever your dreams are, good luck to that! ❀️ Ako, BS Architecture 2nd year atm pero may mga times na nagdo-doubt ako sa sarili ko. Sometimes, I don't see myself pursuing it in the long run or until I get old. Parang it's one of my goals na maging architect ako and mag-work locally and abroad. After I achieved that dream, gusto ko maging nomad. Okay lang din siguro if isabay ko yung pagiging architect. Basta I want to travel and be an investor and trader din. Skl po. Hahaha.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahahaha Favorite subject lang eh. 🀧🀣 Trueee. Balak ko nga ipush mag-ESL teacher after grad, or just work as a freelancer eh. Sameee. Nomad talaga ang plan ko kaya pinupush ko na mag-aral ng ibang skills na pwedeng iwork using laptop and internet lang. Gusto ko mag-travel2x kasi. Hahaha Good luck sa atin. 😹🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pwedeng pwede florie, with your hodled bch being a housewife is not badπŸ˜…... build a business you can grow at least nkakasama mo p pamilya mo

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahahaha Pag-isipan ko yang 'housewife'. Baka posible yan kapag nag-$20K na BCH. 🀣 May iba kasi akong plano. Gusto kong mangibang bansa. Lols 😹 Pero pwede din mag-business nalang. πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Certified β€œTambay” goes to drum rolls Florie Mae 🀣 ako nga eh ewan ko kung magiging teacher ba ako. Nakakapagod na

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahahaha Ung tambay sana na hindi nauubusan ng pera. 🀣🀣 Kaya mo yan. Push mo yan. Gusto ko talaga dati mag-teacher pero ayoko na ngayon. 😹🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang labas nyan maghohome econanay ka na lang. 🀣 Ok naman siguro yang course mo.. Yakapin mo na lang and enjoy. Patayo ka ng business mo para ikaw ang boss.😁

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha Oo. Papatayo nalang ako ng sarili kong business pag binigyan ako ni BCH ng puhunan. Tagal kasi lumipad ulit eh. 🀧🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag lumipad ulit yan big time ka na. Ayyeh!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dream kaya ni Ivanna Yan , maging housewife πŸ˜‚

$ 0.03
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Sa kanya ko nga napulot yan. Kaya daw siya nag-aral ng culinary. Hahahaha 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

That's why I'm asking myself before I go to college this year if the course that I will take is the course that I want to pursue or if this course is what I want to achieve. I don't want to regret my decision in the future but we can't guess what will happen tomorrow so let's see where it will lead me 🀣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

True. Kaya pag-isipan mong mabuti iyan. Pero totoo din, hindi natin alam ang mangyayari in the future. Bahala na si God mag-direct ng path natin. Hahaha 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dapat yung pipiliin natin is yunh bukal sa ating puso para pagdating ng araw eh hindi tayo magsisisi..Sakin I'm not sure kung ano...pero pagsusundalo talaga inaasam ko 😊

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh. Nice. Push mo yan. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

BA major in Marketing and Finance. That was my fiest course.. Pro nagshift to Com Sci.. Nung fourth year na ko.. Nagsisi na sana tinululoy nlng yung BA 🀣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahahaha Hindi ba mahirap yang paiba-iba ng course? BA course ko pero di ko manlang ma-appreciate. 🀭🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahirap tapus nag Caregiver pa.. Haha.. Ngayon d ko alam ano next.. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me it's better to your dream job. Since it is all you want. Your heart own it and your interest. But sometimes we don't have a choice but to chose the profession. So that's why we need to think deeply before we decide to haven't a regretful to the future..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Those were my childhood dream job, now I don't have any. 🀧🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I may not be good with using highfalutin words

Medyo ironic sa part na highfalutin hahaha, jk. Mahirap talaga pumili ng course, minsan kailangang maging practical. Engineering kinuha ko, sana kayanin hahaha pero yun naman talaga gusto ko kaya kailangang kayanin πŸ˜†

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahahaha Hindi kasi ako mahilig gumamit ng highfalutin words eh. 🀣 Kaya mo iyan. Magaling ka naman din eh. Good luck, future Engineer. Hahaha 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha di ako magaling, katamad na nga ehπŸ˜† kapit lang sa katabi para makakopya hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all muna magaling sa Math at Engols, I suck in both, tulog kasi talaga ako nong nagturo teacher namin. Tapoa nong nagsabog naman ng kagalingan sa dalawang yan, ayon naglalaway pa ako non, aguy ahahaga.

Anyway, ako mandin, nonG nag BSIT di rin ako aure if gusto ko ba yon. Kaya lang naman ako napunta don kasi walang ibang choice ee. Gusto kasi nina mommy ay sa Pup sa may branch dito samin ee. Ayaw ko namang mag EDUC o kaya nalimot ko na uny isang course basta may business chenes ata un. Kalaunan namay nagustuhan ko din yong course na yon. Yong lang di nya ako gusto, wahahaha. PERO basta, bahala na si darna.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahahaha Mga favorite subject ko iyan noon eh. 🀣 Bakit kaya hindi ko magustuhan tong course ko? Pinipilit ko naman gustuhin. Wahahah! Bahala na si batman nalang din. Bahala na kung saan pupulutin sa future. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha ako kasi recess ang favorite subject, bat kasi ganon 🀧. Wehhh, kahit di mo gusto matataas pa rin naman grade mo ee, so malamang nagugustuhan mo na rin? Pero sya dika pa rin like πŸ€§πŸ‘»πŸ‘»πŸ‘»

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha Bakit naman may pahabol pa eh. Mananakit pa eh. 🀧🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago