How Much Money Do You Need to Retire?

20 51
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Money, Retirement

This afternoon, I was scrolling down on my Facebook feed, and one of the Financial Facebook pages I am following on that social media platform called "Investa" posted something, and it immediately caught my attention. In the post, it asked a question,

"How much money do you need to Retire?"

At first, when I read the question, I didn't bother thinking much about it since I'm still studying in college and retirement is still far from my mind as I'm still so young and I still have a long way to go so I just went to read the comment section.

Most of the users commented and gave a specific amount of money. Some said they can retire if they already have about 5 Million pesos savings (approximately $100,000) and some even gave a huge amount of about $1 Million or 50 Million pesos. And after reading those numbers, I was like, "I'll probably never get to retire and I'll just work until I die."

If not all, I guess most of us also get to think about the future and our retirement and how much money do we exactly need in order for us to retire. Well, it probably depends on how you view and define what "retirement" is to you.

For others, it's about getting to reach a certain age, like 50 to 60 years old, and departing from their long-time job so that they can enjoy the rest of their lives already using their hard-earned money. Nowadays, the younger generations or the so-called Millennials are even aiming for "Financial Independence" to "Retire Early" (FIRE) where they would dedicate 5 to 10 years of their lives hustling and grinding nonstop, having 2-3 jobs and side hustles just to build their Finance and Retirement Fund so that they can escape their 8-5 jobs already and focus on pursuing the things they want to do or they are passionate about. Meanwhile, others don't even think about retiring at all because they just like to work nonstop until their time comes.

In order to come up with an answer for the question above, one must first define what "Retirement" means to them.

As for me, my idea of "retirement" is escaping the usual 8-5 job and not being a corporate slave trying to climb up on the corporate ladder. Retirement for me is not getting to work for others' dreams but working for my own goals and aspirations in life. It's about being in control of my own time so that I get to do the things I like to do anytime, without seeking others' approval. Retirement is having Time and Financial Freedom.

As for the exact amount of money I need to retire, as long as I have already built a house for myself, bought a car, acquired other assets that grow over time and that would give me a passive income that would suffice for my daily expenses, I think securing a 5 Million Pesos Retirement savings ($100,000) is already enough to retire, or more like to slow down in hustling and grinding. If I have all of those already, I don't have to worry so much about work anymore and I can do the things I want to do.

While I think that my idea of "Retirement" is quite impossible to achieve, especially if you are born without a silver spoon and you have to work your way up to achieve it, I still believe that nothing is impossible for those people who are dedicated and work hard to make it come true.

12
$ 2.63
$ 2.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jher0122
$ 0.03 from @Ayane-chan
+ 3
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Money, Retirement

Comments

'Di ko pa din maisip si retirement ngayon kasi nasa kasagsagan pa ako nang pang-istress sa sarili ko sa acads, hehe. Pero kung mapapasok ako sa teaching or sa field, siguro above the usual na age for retirement. Depende, ah basta. Di ko pa talaga maisip~ πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kapag graduating ka na or nag-start ka na sa work, iisip-isipin mo din yan. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am too scared to look up what I need to retire for fear of not getting there until many many years from now haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's good to think about them sometimes tho. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My goal when I will have a jobe is to retire at my 40s and just have my own business so that I can still have income even I have retirement money so still it's business for me while enjoying my life hehez. It seems impossible but we need to trust ourselves and work harder so that we cam make impossible to possible.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same here! Gusto ko din mag-manage ng business kapag mag-reretire na. But first, study muna tapos ipon na din. wahaha! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same goal sis hahaha kaya yan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I have a stable livelihood to manage like farming, I would retire as early as 30. Hahaha. Right now, I have only acquired 3,500 sq.m of ricefields. I plan to expand it to a 1-hectare land, then so I can retire. Hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow! That's nice. I want to buy a piece of land too for farming. Lols! Good luck with your goal!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Personally I think we need to develop a bussines or any other assets which grow over time, after the retirement. Because we are not sure how long we would live or what future is holding for us, so any specific amount can end one day.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, I agree with that too. So building investments and acquiring assets is the best bet for retirement.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't tell the exact amount Langga. As long I have a savings that is enough and I achieve already my dreams and goals in life. Like what you've mentioned Langga. I build my dream house, car, lot, and build my dream business.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yay! Let's start achieving our goals na po so we can retire soon. Hahaha! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Langga we need to start na. ☺️😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't have a specific amount in retiring also. I just wanted to have my own means of livelihood and to settle in a farm. I'm really tired living in the city. Hehe. Have a great night. ☺️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yay! Same here, but I'd like to settle in the sea. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku, baka may tsunami. Hehe. Sa bundok nalang talaga ako. 🀭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with your idea of retirement. Retirement for me means that you got to enjoy your remaining days with your family. To be adequate with everything.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yay! Ang saya po siguro nun eh. Kaya work work work muna and save up. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Korek, work and save but of course dapat may leisure time din

$ 0.00
2 years ago