200,000 Pesos Savings Goal Achieved!

47 80
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
1 year ago

And just like that, we're already on the 11th month of the year, and around 58 days more to go and we're already saying Goodbye to 2022 and saying Hello to 2023. Just how fast time flies and goes.

More than a month ago, I have written and published an article entitled "My Financial Goal Before 2022 Ends", where I shared there about my financial goal of getting to save a total of 200,000 pesos before the year ends where half of it is for my Emergency Fund and the other half is for my Personal Savings.

And today, I'm happy to share that I finally achieved this goal even if there are still less than 2 months remaining before we say goodbye to the year 2022!

As you can see, my savings are not just in 1 account as I preferred to save up most of my money on a digital bank to take advantage of the higher interest rates compared to the ones offered by traditional banks.

So, how did I go from having 0 pesos in savings to having 200,000 pesos saved in my bank account?

Actually, I started saving up when I was still young, as early as 6 years old, when my parents taught us to save the extra money we have from our school allowance and put them in our bamboo banks or what we call "Alkansya". Being taught to save up money as young as the age of 6, I have brought that trait with me until now that I'm a young adult.

Surely, not having a lot of responsibilities in life, like having my own child to take care of, or having younger siblings to support them financially, helped me to save up more than those who have bigger responsibilities in life, like those who are already married and are the breadwinners of their families.

As of the moment, I only spend money on my personal expenses, like online shopping, data allowance, leisure expense when I go out with my friends, the money I contribute at home for food and water expenses, and some cash that I give to my parents. I don't have to pay monthly rent since I have my own space at home too. So most of my income and salary are just saved up now.

Nevertheless, here are some of the tips that I personally use and do so I could save up and achieve the financial goal that I set for myself.

1. Set a Goal or Plan

Seriously, you cannot achieve something if you don't have a goal or plan. They say that if you fail to plan, you plan to fail. So setting a SMART goal and making a plan to achieve it is the first thing to do if you have something you want to attain. Write down your goal in a notebook, whether it's to save up at least 10K pesos in a month, or to save money so you could buy a new phone. Know the reason why you want to save up first and start from there. Then make feasible plans and micro steps to achieve it.

2. Stick with your budget

Sometimes or most of the time, we fail to stick with our budget because of some micro-spending that is not really necessary, such as checking out unimportant items on your shopping app or even buying milk tea every day. It's okay though if you have the budget for it, but if you already know that if you spend that money on buying that unnecessary thing and you'll have worries about where to get money to pay your monthly bill, then it's time to reassess your budget and set your priorities right. Always remember what Benjamin Franklin said,

"Beware of little expenses. A small leak will sink a great ship."

3. Have multiple sources of Income

Now that inflation is at its worst, while it's still helpful to cut some unnecessary expenses to live within our means, it's more crucial to have multiple sources of income, especially if you want to save up for your savings goal. If you have extra time, look for additional side hustles that you can do whenever you can. However, it's also important to take good care of your health and learn to rest when you're burnt out so you can hustle more.

4. Reward yourself once in a while

Sometimes, we are too focused on achieving something that after we accomplish it, we already want to proceed with another goal. However, it is important to reward yourself once in a while so that you have an extra boost of motivation to even work harder for your goals. You can reward yourself with a new pair of shoes, or clothes, and even go out to eat your favorite foods. After all, we're working to live and not living only to work for the rest of our lives.


Now that I have achieved my financial goal this year, I'll take some rest first without thinking too much about my next goal or plan. However, I'll still work and hustle as usual. It's just that I'll limit the pressure I'm giving on myself so that I'll be more prepared and productive for the new year to come.

Cheers to achieving all our goals!

18
$ 7.93
$ 7.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
$ 0.02 from @Laurenceuuu
+ 6
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
1 year ago

Comments

Congrats po and finally naachieve nyo na pong yang goal nyo about saving money. Sana all po may ganyang kalaking pera sa bank hahahha char lang po. Ako po hindi makaipon eh dahil palaging nagagastos at kailangan po talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you. Hahaha! Okay lang yan. Grind lang ng grind, makakaipon ka din.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahha sana nga po, naniniwala din po ako dyan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, at a young age wala pang jowa, you can actually save talaga. when i was your age I saved up 100k naman which I used for my solo travels in 5 countries. Wag kang mag worry about afam, time will come sila maghahabol sayo and all you need is to choose. you're on the right track, girl! keep it up!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yay! I'm also saving up for my future solo travels po. Hopefully, I can start my solo adventure na next year tapos hunting na din ng afam. Wahaha! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haha yes girl. since you're working online, freelance sa upwork, you can do so many things. you can even be a digital nomad. more afam hunting! hahah!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, at young age may ipon ka. Very good, nakaka proud naman for sure maswerte magiging partner mo sa buhay at magiging anak mo. Claim natin yan, magiging financially stable ka na before 30's ✨✨

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kung makahanap ng partner. πŸ˜‚ Claiming it though. Cheers for financial stability! ✨

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dito talaga ako hats off eh! Dibali wlang afam basta goals achieved! Congratulations Florie ☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you! Hahahaha! Pero maghuhunting parin ng afam. Baka swertehin. πŸ€£πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes naman never stop hahaha parang client lang makakahanap ka rin nang the right one.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is really great Congratulations I will learn from this

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow galing naman langga. Congratulations sayo! πŸŽ‰ More pa langga. Ikaw na talaga langga. No doubts kasi napaka sipag mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you po. Hahaha! Sipagan lang para sa mga goals.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're always welcome langga. God bless always langga. πŸ™

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Isa to sa mga reason bat prefer kong maging single na lang forever. Balak kong mag-ipon kaso ambilis kasi ng inflation haha. Kapag nabili ko na yung printer ko na goal ko this year, makakapagsimula na mag-ipon haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True! Mas matipid pag single. 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations to such a good digits of savings I never safe money and now I am facing hard time but I learnt my lesson and after marriage I will try save money as much as I can

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you! That's why it's important to save money while young and free from bigger responsibilities.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congrats naman

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜€

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uy congrats! Sana all ulit kami hahaha

I don't have to pay monthly rent since I have my own space at home too.

Akala ko living independently ka ngayon?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks! Hahahaha! Noon, umuwi muna ako sa bahay para mag-ipon ulit. Nakakaubos ng pera ang mamuhay mag-isa eh. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha oo nga same vibes. Try ko sana eh isang araw palang magkano na sa pagkainπŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Galing galing, Congrats florieeee πŸŽ‰πŸ”₯✨. Ano kung walang juwa, mahalaga may ipon, and soon love of my life naman ang dadsting sayo, ayiehhhh haha. UwU

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you! Hahahaga! πŸ˜‚ True. Basta may perang pambili ng makakain. At least ung pagkain, napapasaya tayo eh. 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama tama, busog pa lagi lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

congratulations1 mahirap talagang mag saving s pag may pamily ana. dati halos yung kita namain mag asawa y para sa foodas ad milk lang . but now na medyo malaki na nag mga kids, may savigs na kahit konti lalo at may side husstles na din. BUt noong August, nabuos ang savings ko, di namn ganun kalaki but it counted

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you! Yes, mahirap talaga kaya dapat matuto ng magsave habang single pa at wala pang pamilya. Hahaha! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

that's true. im glad you did it na . congrats uli

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congrats ate!!! Mine is 100k before 2022 ends, hope I could achieve it. Same as yours, I started with alkansya din sa bamboo kaso nung bata ako, may kumuha ng mga ipon ko :(( Anyways, I followed you po sa noise app <3

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you. Yay! Kayang kaya mo yan. ✨ And thank you sa pagfollow. Kaso di ako masyado active dun. Lols! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe ka talaga florie 😭

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Kaya mo din po yan. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yiee Happy to know sis and you are right it's always better to set a goals.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, para sa future. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

if you set your goal and right timing of your mind all the goal are succeed just like u did and i think you are in a right track

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, I think I am too. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow nakakabilib ka talaga sis.Maganda yan na magaling kang humawak ng pera

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo, pero di magaling humawak ng relasyon. Charot. πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ganyan talaga yan hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Malaki ang naitutulong ng upbringing ano? Ur such an inspiration lalo na sa mga katulad mong studyante p lng.. pero mga students ngayon porke my allowance e andami nilang inoorder online toz pag ubos, nganga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes po pero graduate na po ako. Retired na ako sa pagiging full-time student. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay ou nga pala jeje,. Congratulations for unlocking that goal...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you po. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago