Sometimes you just sail..

24 61
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago

An article I read sometime ago Princessbusayo talked about creating plans and adhering strictly to them. Creating plans is a very good and effective way to plan your day, week or even month depending on what the plans are and the duration you've set for yourself to achieve them. While planning things is one way to go about many things, not planning things is another way to go about it.

Is it reality?

What's the difference between a goal and a plan? Needless to say, a plan is the series of steps that are taken to achieve something, while a goal is what is achieved at the end, like an end result. Before setting of to become the master-planner, know fully well what it is that you want out of your plan. Is your goal attainable within the time frame you've set for yourself? You see, a major problem is setting of to do things without knowing or at least trying to determine how it would or is likely to end. While considering that nothing is impossible, they are things that are impossible sometimes, not because they really are but because your plan is faulty, too rigid or too tiring(your plans can be tiring too). Here's an example, an elementary one.

I just stepped out of my friend's house and is just on my way home.

The goal.

To view my favourite program that will start airing at 4:10pm

The plan:

I am heading towards my house and the time is 3:30pm. I am quite sure that I will board a tricycle that would take me home in 10 minutes, roughly I will get home by 3:12pm. I go to the bathroom, take my bath and wash my hair then I prepare something for daddy before he gets home. I bring the goats back home and by the time I finish all these, it would be about 3:50 or 4:00pm. I have 10 more minutes to warm up for the show!

How it went:

I got home in ten minutes as written in my plan, that went quite well thank God! I took my bath and washed my hair as planned. However when I came to prepare the food I found out that I am out of gas, determined as I was to watch my TV show I borrowed my neighbour's gas so I had to hurry to avoid wasting resources that aren't mine and so that I can catch up with my show. I afterwards went for the goats but they weren't around anywhere their usual spot . After searching I found them in a field somewhere else. I drove them back home and got back home at 4:05, I tied them to a pole with a noose abs was just in time for the show to start! I viewed my show and was happy!..... The sad part however is that I ruined dad's food due to the hurry and he was upset with me when he got back home. That dulled my mood either and the show for which I did all these no longer mattered at all.

________________________

In the above example a goal was set and plans were put into place and yes, the goal was achieve but it ended up ruining something more important than the goal, which means the plan isn't elaborate or perhaps it is the individual. I see people on readcash setting new month goals on the 1st of April. Goals like writing one article a day throughout the month. That's in no way bad, infact I also expect myself to do so but what if you're the type who interacts on readcash at night and it starts affecting your eyes? Is your eye health less important. Say, you then adjust the time and you interact during the day, won't it affect you real life job? These and other factors are things we should consider. Set goals that are possible and achievable. Sometimes it is best to just go with the tide while doing the best your body or circumstances allow you. Again, I am not in anyway saying that one should try his best, I am saying that try the best you can handle. You're only human.

________________________

Thanks for reading.

Yours Layly,

❤❤❤❤❤

18
$ 4.51
$ 4.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 13
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago

Comments

[Removed comment]

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is such a clear explanation between a plan and a goal. From the examples given, it's easier to understand the two.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am glad it was of help. You mustn't change the goals but we can adjust our plans.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for giving me a clear distinction between a plan and a goal. They confused me sometimes

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is the reason why I always make sure to include in my plan the possible things might happen and ended adding more time in each plan just to make sure.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Timing is definitely important. Spacing out events is helpful so that we don't overexert ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, sometimes circumstances may came to distract our goals nor plan's and so if you push your self to accomplish your goals and plans, you'll be sacrificing your own health and other priority staff. That is why I stop making a list of my goals, instead I just go with the flow. I just do what I can do for the best, without any pressure nor stress and less disappointments.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Am I glad you've realised that. One can only try his best, but make sure you do the best you can do at the moment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sweet. I particularly steer clear of that monthly goals here so I don't end up being disappointed for not meeting them. Too many variables involved and until I am sure the goal is achievable, I won't set it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's helpful. Very helpful. That's what I do too. I don't set unrealistic goals for myself..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the examples you just made to differentiate between a goal and a plan. You are right because most times, the plans and goals will make cannot meet up with what reality brings. Sometimes we expect things to fall in place for us but it doesn´t happen because life throws at us what we never expected. What do we have to do at that moment? Simply to go with the flow, never to get worried and keep doing our best because such moment can never keep happening always.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This way we get the peace with need while going at our own pace. It's not how far but how well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The elementary example you gave is exactly how I like doing my things but the difference is that I love to check all angles before I carry out my plans. I always make provisions for things not going according to plan, maybe there won't be time to handle all activities, so I abandon one and then share the allocated time to all other activities. The one thing with making plans is to have it in the back of our minds that nothing is certain and even when we have envisioned how something will go in our head, just one random variable can ruin the whole thing

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right. We should always get prepared for the worse so that we don't get caught off guard. Focusing on one plan sometimes blind us to the opportunity plan B presents to us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right. While pursuing your goals and plans, it's important you don't unnecessarily risk your health or things that are of more worth

$ 0.01
2 years ago

When we sacrifice more important things to achieve less important ones, we don't get the fulfilment that comes with reaching a goal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said ma'am. In the end, all factors need to be duly considered before we make plans towards achieving out goals.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. It is very important else we don't derive the joy we should if we achieve the goal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like that, 'try the best that you can handle'. I admit I am one of those people who sometimes envy other users. There was a time that I wrote 2 articles a day. I got exhausted, I got burned out, my sleep was sacrificed more because I have a lil to take care of in the first place. Now, i will just sail and let the waters take me where I should be.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You will always end up where your are meant to be, our efforts are just tests for us so that we will be able to handle it when we get there. One step at a time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Plans are not always successful, But man's goal is fixed, he can do everything to reach that goal,,,

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah. We just have to device plans that suit the goal without packing consideration for other things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago