Maintaining focus: becoming more effort-oriented.

27 62
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago

We all want different problems and things we wish to achieve, and our desire to achieve what we wish is shown in how hard we work for it. While working to get the desired goal, we get caught up in thoughts that can be distractive, demotivating or even over exciting. Thoughts that can both push us towards the directions of our goals as well as serve as a hindrance towards achieving this goal. In our efforts to achieve things, a lot of us here visualize ourselves already attaining the desired object and wonders what it feels like. We sometimes get too caught up in this daydream that we forget that to get there, we will have to put in effort. Depending on the thoughts we have, they can either make us develop traits like : overconfidence in one's ability, unnecessary excitement, conceit, feelings of doubt, obsession and the lack of ability to remain level headed, all these things make us lose focus of our main goal before we even get there.

Allow me to tell you a story with an example:

When I was in my first year of medschool it wasn't all that different from high school, we were taught physics, biology, maths and chemistry. It was all simple for us since those in medicine are usually seen as the "geniuses" so it went quite smoothly. As some of you know, no one feels more like a doctor than a level one student. They boast about being "medical students" without even being asked, Infact you can see it from their naive fresher attitude but they still get cut some slack, for they know not what they are doing....it's totally normal, all of us have passed through this stage but some people get retain this attitude even after proceeding to successive levels, if care is not taken this mirage of uncertain success of becoming doctors may lead to them becoming distracted and instead of putting more hardwork, they fall the track and get withdrawn. This is a personal example of how focusing more on a probable future success can lead you to not achieving it all together, due to conceit and overconfidence that comes when a person rests too much on his laurels. These are all as a result of invasive thoughts.

These distractive thoughts can also come in the form of self doubt. It comes when you start thinking about what might or might not happen. You start thinking "what if I don't achieve this? What will become of me?". These are thoughts that could keep recurring if we think too much of the results of our efforts or when we spend more time that we should have channeled into our efforts envisage the future success that's not gonna come anyway if the effort is neglected.

Here are few tips I use when I encounter such problems both in my academics, my social life and even here on readcash :

Focus on the efforts:

Especially in this age, distractions are a dime a dozen. All you need is a few clicks and you're done for! Once you're done clarifying what it is you truly want from the work you're doing (which is very necessary!), don't think about the outcomes much. I am not saying you should be okay with failure but sometimes anxiety set in when we focus more on the outcomes than the efforts itself. This can make us start doubting our abilities and we even become erratic at times.

Relating to my studies at this moment I feel kind of nervous when a person refers jokingly to me as "Dr". Even among my course mates where it is quite normal for us to use that term, I feel nervous. I feel like it makes me think too much about the future instead on focusing me more on the task at hand to truly become a doctor. Of course there's nothing wrong with that the "Dr" part(look! I even go by DocLayla here on readcash) but when it gets too much, I dislike it really haha. That's just me.

Live in the moment :

Sometimes even when we get too immersed in efforts relevant to our success, we still get invasive thoughts. This is when we have to live in the moment. View all invasive thoughts as a different entity and disassociate them from yourself. Remember you're not the voices in your mind.

Right now I am trying to purchase a new phone with my earnings on readcash because the current one is giving me serious issues after several frustrating repair trips. I am really working hard for it, but sometimes when I set to reach a target by the end of the day and fall short, I get invasive thoughts. "What if this phone gets damaged without me saving enough money to purchase a new one?" but I still try not to get too involved in it. I instead stopped looking at my earnings and just visit and tip articles every four hours while keeping myself immersed in other activities in between those hours. At the end, what will be will be regardless of weather I get anxious or not. Live in the moment.

This article is in no way insinuating that you shouldn't record your progress in relation to your success, far from it. Thinking about success and expecting it can even boost your motivation to put in more effort but when you act like the success is the most important thing, you miss out on other things. Do not forget that the effort you put in is also part of the success.

Thanks for reading and thanks to my upvoters, sponsors, viewers.

Special thanks to @foryoubtc09 for the sponsorship renewal.

Yours Layly,

❤❤❤❤

20
$ 3.36
$ 2.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 13
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago

Comments

My friend you have written a very good article and we have to work hard to achieve success or to fulfill our desire. To make us successful, we should know about that thing that what we have to do and when we come to know that we have this black then we should study for it and do our full preparation we should pay attention to mamta lift thoughts

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for the astounding contribution Shafiq. It looks to me you're new here! Welcome to readcash! Explore and engage! I wish you all the best!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for welcome

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We should all be persistent. Slow but steady. We must work constantly so we can achieve our dreams.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Agreed. Our dreams are our top priority. We shall get there with time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A lot of students especially those in big professions like medicine and engineering usually have these aura of overconfidence that usually leads to frustration and disappointment when things don't go the way they planned, some of them end up withdrawing from school because of that

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I totally understand what you mean and that irritates me alot. So what if you study medicine or engineering? If you live too much inside your head e go eventually shock you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Effort is actually the most important thing. Success is cherry on top of the cake but we need to eat the cake first. 😊 DocLayla will be an awesome doctor, just relax and live in the moment, finish your tasks, the future will definitely come... 😊

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes ma'am! I like how you relate it with a cake which insinuates that the efforts so not have to be painstaking, we can make them enjoyable too and then get the cherry reward...I say amen to that thanks!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To focus your gaols and avoid of being distracted can be challenging but it's the only way to success

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It sure is. If we really want to attain that succcess a way must be sought.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To focus is to achieve, and patience will be the ingredients, we should all learn how to wait for our time of success

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Patience is key. Focus is indeed the greater achievement.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Great 👍. I support your ideas. We shouldn't daydream too much to focus on what would lead to the success.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah. Thanks Tife!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Depending on the prevailing circumstances, it might be really hard to live in the moment and not worry about the future or wallow in the past, but you're quiet right. It does help in keeping one focused

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah. A person can get there with constantly practising mindfulness. It would be alot more easy if we practice it often.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Focus is really not so easy. There are many things that can distract anyone on the way and it really takes a lot of effort.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're right. We must strive to rise above them all and do our best.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope you won't have any problems with the one you have until you get a new phone. It would be a pity not to see you here, doctor! Hehe! :))

$ 0.01
1 year ago

A real pity haha! I hope so too. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I ca relate to what you are saying. A lot of times, I just look at how far I have come and where I am going. Then the how. This is another way of saying focus on the journey and not the destination.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly. Distractions are real. As long as you have things set in place as to why you're doing a thing, immerse yourself in the experience.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Even if we focus too much on the outcome rather than the efforts, we would be lost in thought to give up so soon when we keep having different doubts to our success. This is why we are made to trust the process instead of looking ahead of the outcome that may make us stop halfway when it seems we aren´t seeing any result.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed ma. Patience is key. In most cases the struggle is the real fun, success is just a top up

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really sincerely hope you woud be able to get a new phone before the current one dies so that you can backup everything.. I would say save all your passwords to cloud so that it will be helpful and pls save the seed words somewhere else before anything happens. Take care dear

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I hope so too. Thanks for the advice @blackdoll!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago