How does the weather affect your mood?

18 53
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago
Topics: Weather, Mood, Wisdom, Topics, Life, ...

I like to think that one of the reasons why we have different weathers, apart from maintaining a balance in nature is because there's always a weather than each individual happens to resonate with, some people are far more productive and fare well in some weathers while they become mostly redundant in some. I feel like if hibernation or burrowing where a characteristic of humans, I'd spend a certain weather buried underneath the earth!

I come from a family that core stoic values. My father always chants a mantra about how some things are beyond our control and we shouldn't let them affect us. They be like "if you can change it, why worry or get affected if you can? Change it!.. If you can't then why worry? Remove yourself from the situation!". I have always applied this to my entire life but I still suck applying it to how the weather affects me. I know I am not God and simply because I don't like the weather doesn't mean it would go, I can't change it either so why complain or worry? That sounds easy but it isn't at all for me.

We were recently blessed with rain and to God I am grateful, but prior to that, it felt like the roof would melt anytime soon. The heat got to a point where the concept "ventilation" doesn't exist, I mean instead of getting fresh air when you open the windows and doors, another wave of heat is blown! You might ask "so what about electricity?", well that's story for another day. At that point, I slept like a baby, even the sleep wasn't enjoyable as you'd wake up in a pool of your own sweat,coupled with the scarcity of water to take regular showers and remain hydrated, it was hell for us all. My productivity dropped significantly... and I was mostly frustrated and tend to have frequent mood swings, more frequent tuanmy usual dosage of mood swings.

When it's the harmattan however, it is a different case. Since we spend most of the time wearing heavy and warm clothes and it's all cozy in there, it is much easier to become sleepy but at least it is enjoyable compared to the heat season. I spend more time sleeping and that affects my productivity too but not as much as the heat season. I have been told by my friends that I even look more beautiful during the cold season so it generally boosts my confidence, plus the outfit I wear during the cold season is way more sexier lol😂. Confidence level=100%!! This makes me become more focused in what I am doing as there's lesser chances of being distracted since in general human interactions drop when it's cold, everyone wants to get into some warm blanket for as long as their schedule permits them.

The rainy season however happens to be my favourite weather in the sense that, just as it maintains a balance between the two extreme weathers, the heat and the cold, it also has a balancing effect on my emotions. I feel more spiritual and grouded and for it to have coincided with the Ramadan month, that's a win-win for me. I feel more connected to nature and everything else around me. I become more reasonable especially if it just finished raining. My productivity becomes top-notch and I find it easier balancing things out. I love the rainy season because I am provided endless opportunities to get wet in the rain. Whenever I have a rain bath, it feels like the water not only washes my body, but also purifies my soul and drown all the negative thoughts. You know what I mean if you've been there, this makes my creativity and experience a high quantum jump and I end up writing poetry lol😂. Rainy season all the way!!

We don't experience weathers such as winter in Africa and that's part of the reasons why I'd love to travel the world, especially Europe and Asia so that I could experience how it feels and what effects it would have on my mood.

So dear reader, how do you respond to certain weather changes, how do they influence you and which among them is your favourite? I'd love to see that in the comment section.

To all my Filipino friends and all my friends around the world who're or have experienced some sort of natural disaster lately, I pray things get better soon. May the weather get better and balanced for you out there so that y'all can enjoy it just like you are used to.

Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty


To all my subscribers, sponsors, upvoters, thumbers and viewers, I say a big thank you to you all!

Thanks for reading.

Yours Layly,

❤❤❤

16
$ 2.46
$ 2.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bilqees
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
+ 9
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago
Topics: Weather, Mood, Wisdom, Topics, Life, ...

Comments

There's something about hot weather that makes people become prone to anger easily, it's like you're trying to channel the heat you're feeling into someone else 😆 but cold weather comes with a cooling effect, it's more comfortable because it's manageable compared to heat

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I tell you. Heat is just something else. There's a type of heat that can easily get you mad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If it's rainy, I feel said. If it's hot I feel like my head is boiling. If it's cold, my mood is roaming around 🤣 maybe I just have a random emotions when it comes to weather 🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh well most of us do but yours seem to be way off balance😂😂. Anyways we're all different beautiful individuals aren't we?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh I am really affected by the weather, in the winter when it is dark and cold and rainy I am pretty unhappy!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow different strokes for different folks they say, that sounds like my ideal weather

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When it's cold or having a raining season, I am lazy, more on sleep, when it's dry season like the present one supper hotness I am a mad person, always angry because of the heat, can't even rest

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha even you too? True, heat can be really frustrating. You feel like tearing off your own skin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dry season is also terrible for me, as my skin usually looks dull and wrinkled. Something about rainy season that makes you and every thing else looks fresh. No worry, Canada is calling you. Hahaha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I pray oo. E be like say you just read my mind oo. I intend practising in Canada someday by God's grace.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When it rains, there is higher percentage of me sleeping and I tend to be lazy during raining season

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I love sleep too when it's raining. When it rains in the midnight for example it enhances my sleep but when it is during the day, it's the bath for me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The weather really affects our mood, psyche and production. If I would prefer a specific weather, it is autumn weather, warm weather but not hot, cold but not freezing, warm with clouds in the sky, although others find it gloomy weather, but I am at the top of my activity and happiness in the fall

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hmm that sounds like my ideal weather too, as long as everything is balanced them yeah I am down for it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Know that I am a fan of heat. Although where I live it is a temperate weather with hot summers and frosty winters. The change in temperature gives me discomfort and a state of laziness! Glad to meet you DocLayla!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

On yeah reading your first sentence I thought that's the case. People who live in temperate regions love heat because it's not way too common as it is here

$ 0.00
1 year ago

most of the weather is the main factor when someone has to accept the heat and cold, it is very possible for someone to divert attention in situations and conditions but it should also be realized that we must be able to adapt to the situation because the weather is not always friendly so we should not stop being active with the weather conditions.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

... and that's why we are humans, we have to learn to live with things we're not comfortable in the slightest with. The world needs us at al times.

$ 0.00
1 year ago