"Burning the midnight garbage"

21 43
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago

The month of April has almost eventually came to a screeching halt(well let's talk about those monthly stuff we do here tomorrow). Good morning fam! It's 2:00 o'clock in the morning here, a bit fresh a bit misty but the air isn't so pure, had a fire burning from the huge refuse disposal wasteland that's far from mh house but somehow still managed to disturb me).

There's been fire burning emitting dense black smoke which is affecting the whole neighbourhood. From time to time, some person (no one can tell if he'd been tasked with the responsibility or not) decides to incinerate garbages especially during the night-time when everyone is either sleeping or trying not to cry from the heartbreak of this world then boom! This dude sets garbages ablaze to provide more reasons for the night crier to cry since the smoke literally gets in their eyes. As an asthmatic person you can tell how this affects me on a large scale. I just couldn't have any appropriate sleep for the whole night. I buried my head inside me pillow, then buried it under, I was even considering slicing my pillow and sticking my head in between then stitch it back up(yes, that's how bad it was!). Facemasks would be of little help so I sacrificed my supply of fresh air from the outside by closing the door. Again, I could sleep because of the heat and was at the verge of yanking ar my hair and scratching off my skin when suddenly my hopes were lifted when the power was restored. Turned out it was a prank as they took it 10 minutes after they brought the power back. In a distraught state of mind I looked at my sister with whom I share a bed, sleeping peacefully and soundly, same applies to every other person in the house too as I seemed to be the only one being bothered by the smoke. I felt jealous and started contemplating the possibility of my lack of deep sleep being a curse to me. You could literally put my sister in a sack, stitch it up and take it away without her knowing that she was put in a sack, that's how deep she sleeps. I myself used to be a heavy sleeper but all that changed when I started attending a boarding house and I haven't been able to go back, not that I want to but it is kind of unfair to not be able to do so on demand or when you need it the most.

I got up from bed and out my room, I unbolted the gate to take a peek outside : the fire was still burning. To be just, it's not like the person did a bad thing by burning the garbages,perhaps that's his job but I also think something should be done as it affects people. Smoke is a choking hazard remember. Maybe he thought that more people will get affected if he burns the garbage during the day than if he does in the night since everyone goes about their daily activities during the daytime. He's destroying the environment more than he's helping it. It wouldn't come as a surprise to me if I am the only one that's being bothered about some garbage burning midnight spree, the thought of this made me a bit sad.

"What more can I do, Imma just go through my phone and study for an hour" so I went through my notifications and drop tips as my eyes are now clouded because of the smoke, they will ache if I attempt to read anything for long. Oh fun fact : I couldn't study and now I know not what to do. I am not in mood to play movies or games on my phone, besides games won't be fun on my phone anymore because of the now faulty sensor so imma just listen to some music. Music sometimes sedate me so I really hope for it to have that effect on me soon. I have switched it on now!

Thanks for reading nd see you late morning!

Yours Layly,

πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

17
$ 4.08
$ 3.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Bilqees
+ 13
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago

Comments

Leaving uncontrolled fire, in the north, with all the night breeze. Wrong on so many levels

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Burning of garbage in the night is very dangerous especially when unsupervised the only time I burn garbage at night is during cross over and it is supervised because things can heat up and start flying in the air which might result into burning of another thing entirely

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly! It can soon turn into an inferno. Hmm.. The risks we take in this country sha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Supposedly, it's not appropriete to burn garbage because its too harmful in human health and it will just destroy the earth just like what happen, the climate change because of too much pollution that humans have created.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We destroy the planet yet we complain why things go wrong. I hope they get caught soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh no that sucks.. can't believe people are so inconsiderate these days :/ :/

$ 0.01
1 year ago

They don't just care!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They should have considered the health of people living around before burning garbages and if it's needed to be done, they should have considered burning it far away from the house

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The garbage dump itself is mighty so it can't be moved. Even at that it'd be better for them to dig deep holes to incinerate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They should find another way to dispose of garbages instead of burning them down, which was hazardous to the people's health especially near the burning site.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

They know that but still, they persist. It's sad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're asthmatic? Goodness! And still going through this, oh! I could only imagine how terrible it will be for you to find sleep. So sorry about that. I never knew the power goes off in other countries too. I wish it could be restored, so that atleast the breeze from the fan would make you close your door; thereby giving you the luxury of sleep.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh Ella we're in this together oo. I am a Nigerian living in Kano. I have been asthmatic since five years old. You know what? They just brought the light the instant I started typing this lol(the sleep has already vanished long ago but imma try to get some).

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow!, I honk thought you are an Indian. Ouch, sorry about that Doc. Oh! Thank goodness they've restored the power. Please do get some sleep

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's fineπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Judging from my profile picture most people will arrive at the same conclusion. Thanks Ella

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It would be better to burn garbage outside residential areas because in residential areas the effect is dangerous for health, especially for children under five and people suffering from asthma. We must know the impact of pollution on the health of the body and must remind each other of actions like this because health is expensive.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

My country isn't bothered much about that sadly. Despite knowing it's illegal, we all have come to view it as normal and live with it. We can only contribute our quota and live the rest. I think the reason he doesn't do it in the daytime is from fear of being scolded.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What? I think that it is illegal. For him to do it at night time, I think he is scared to be reported to the authority. That is disgusting.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is. The law isn't enforced enough. It's sad indeed but what more can we do?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Here it is banned to burn in your yard but still some people do it. I hope you will still be able to get some sleep.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is here to but my country is almost lawless when it comes to environmental health. We have no option than to live with it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago