A sudden morning illness.

15 44
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago

There's been a power shortage for the past week in our area so most of the night, I leave the door open and put little clothing on when I go to bed. Yesterday however, they brought back the power in the night. I suspect it must have been around 2:00am in the morning. I woke up to a fast whirling of the ceiling fan and an intense breeze coming into the room through the door. It was the breeze of the fast approaching harmattan. It has been like that for some time now.

Iwas too tired to get up from the bed to reduce the fan to a lower speed, so I drifted off once again with the thought still on my head. All these while, the harmattan breeze and the air from the fan were all affecting me without me knowing it. I woke up at 6:30am with a tight chest and an internal cold. I instantly realized what had happened and became sad suddenly because it's something that I could have controlled. My pneumonia was a little triggered so I got up immediately to take some biscuits so that I can take some erythromycin before it got worse later on. As for the internal cold, I couldn't do anything about it yet since I was the only who was awake at that time. I decided to go back to sleep with a huge blanket drawn up to my cheek.

At exactly 8:00am, I was woken by my sister. The internal cold had subsided although I still told her to prepare tea for me. I drank the tea and went back to sleep again, woke up at 10 and started typing an article at 11am. So here we are!

For breakfast, the folks here seem to be all lazy as me today. The aunt says she wants to eat yam porridge and since there's none left in the house, she's gone to the market get some and is yet to be back. The thing with my aunt sometimes is that when she has cravings, she wants everyone to eat same as her. If it were some other thing, I wouldn't have bothered but aunt knows how to prepare yam porridge better than anyone else, hers is the most nutritious. Writing this gives me nostalgia as there was a time a neighbour went to buy yams for porridge, invite us to eat after she was done but then I saw frog meat in it! I don't eat frog meat. I had to fake being called at home so that I can take the food away and give the meat to my cat. I didn't want to upset her.

Image Source:

When it clocks 12:00am, I will take my afternoon dosage of the medicine. I have a feeling my aunt will soon ne back and I don't want her to notice my raspy breathing. She will definitely scold me about it and may not let me on the ceiling fan for a long time. I know, she just cares about my health, but there's heat these days and I am usually fine when I throw a blanket over myself with the fan on, I just wants expecting yesterday's incident because of how long it has been since we had power supply.

Thanks for reading.

Yours Layly,

❤️❤️❤️

15
$ 1.49
$ 1.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Bilqees
+ 12
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago

Comments

Having the fan on while there is breeze from outside can cause something else to the body. You really tried. I don't know how tired or sleepy I would be, I will get up to switch off the fan because I wouldn't want to stand such illness after. I hope you are better now?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was a mistake oo😔 I feel much better now thanks princess.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's thoughtful of you, not hurting your neighbor's feelings by taking the food home. I'm curious about how your aunt cooks that.

Anyway, I hope you feel better soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, one has go to be careful. It isn't that difficult, I might post the recipe someday haha. Thanks Lee I feel better now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hope you retrieve your health back in full swing. Now-a-days the weather conditions have changed its rotation period. Good day to you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly. The weather can have great effects on our bodies. Thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omyyy. Sometimes we have to beat our sleepiness and get up so we won't regret something later. I hope you'll get well soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks friend. I feel way much better now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry about your health. I hope you get better soon. There are times I felt like that too and it resulted in a very serious illness. Please make sure that you have enough rest. Get well soon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks alot Bisola. After a day's rest, I am feeling quite better now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Something similar happened to me a few months back. I slept with no shirt on with the door open and it was the height of rainy season, cold breeze was blasting through the door but I was "enjoying" it, until I woke up and realized the cold has made my body its headquarters.... unfortunately I broke down with malaria a few days later, I guess the cold triggered it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes that night breeze comes with sickness. I am about to go to bed and I won't let my blanket get far away from me, although I still plan on living the door open as they just took our light.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your aunt kind of reminds me of my dad. He always scold us when we get sick too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol sometimes it is us who are at fault tho😂

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Well actually true enough 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago