Should I switch to being a vegetarian?

21 80
Avatar for Dennnis
1 year ago

Many people are asking and wondering how vegans bear to eat vegetables and fruits in their life. It is a commitment and discipline. We know that there are many good foods everything. Are they not tempted to eat meat at least once? Eating vegetables is a good thing because we can get many nutrients and vitamins. I prefer to eat vegetable dishes with fish than meat.

I didn't grow up eating plenty of vegetables because back then, it is what my father hates to it. So my mother rarely cooks a vegetable dish and if possible, we have none in a full straight week. Most of the time, my mother cooks fish, meat, and other kinds of seafood because you know I lived near the sea. Dried fishes and squids are my favorite.

Are there vegetarians or vegans in your life?

I don't think we have vegetarians in our family. Most of us ate vegetables because we have a lineage of farmers too. My mother's side was a farmer and they grew up eating many vegetables in their lives. One time, they shared with us that if they don't have viand, they will go to the pond to get Kangkong and cook it in the Adobo recipe. Or they will get ingredients for Pinakbet and just add coconut milk.

My mother said that our grandparents are the ones who taught them to be resourceful in viand using the crops they have on the farm. If you lived on the farm, then you will have no problem being hungry. There are many fruits you can harvest as a source of snacks, viands, and foods. It is very common for them to live in that way.

What challenges have you noticed vegetarians and vegans sometimes face? What about the meat eaters around them — do they ever face any challenges as well?

I don't personally encounter people who are legit vegetarians, but I researched some of the problems and challenges they faced. They are eating too many fruits. Since they cannot eat meat, poultry, and beef, all they are holding into are fruits. Fruits in the morning, in the afternoon, and the evening. Plus, fruits as snacks and side dishes.

I am sure it feels heavy and tempting to not meat if you are practicing vegans for a starter. But if you are doing it for so long, around a year and so, then the temptation is lessened at least. We cannot avoid being tempted if we smell the meat cooking for shawarma. Shawarma meat is so good with vegetables and sauces. How sad vegans cannot enjoy it.

Are there any foods that you either choose not to eat or cannot eat?

I have the least favorite food to eat because I didn't like it at all. It is a lady's finger (okra), carrots, corned beef, and some processed food in the cans. My teacher in elementary told me how they processed it and what are the ingredients. From that day, I told myself not to eat anything related to them. It makes me puke.

I choose not to eat foods when I am not in the mood of eating them. We are picky about eating foods when we have mood changes and mood swings. I know this commonly happens to girls, but boys do have one too. It happens when something bothering the situation happens.

At your home, are there food items that some people eat while others do not? If so, how does this affect meal preparations?

As I said, my father doesn't eat vegetables and my mother wants one. So my mother prepared separately from the ingredients she will use. Usually, we have one vegetable viands in the morning and it will last until dinner. Just reheat it over and over again. In that way, we can save money too.

My mother sometimes prepares meals that we don't usually eat and when that happens, for sure, our viands will last long. She commonly does it when she has limited money and wants to preserve the food longer. I hate it actually because I cannot eat much rice as I want. Eating seafood every day is not healthy too. Too many fats and cholesterol.

Sponsors of Dennnis
empty
empty
empty

You are so welcome to become my sponsor. I would love to see you there in that block. Thank you po!

I am grateful you read this!

10
$ 0.82
$ 0.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.04 from @DennMarc
+ 7
Sponsors of Dennnis
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Dennnis
1 year ago

Comments

It takes a discipline to start something especially changing diet. Whatever you do, it's best to start gradually.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayaw ko din nung okra huhu. Nasusuka ako sa lasa huhuh. Once in a while, tina try ko maging vegetarian pero ayaw talaga eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Eldest son ko is vegetarian tlga since lil boy pa lng sya. Pinipilit ko sya kumain ng karne pero nagagalit sya hahaha. Sabi ko kahit konti lng nmn eh talagang ayaw nya. Sabaw na lng sa knya pg may adobong baboy or baka.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

nasanay na siguro sa pagkain ng gulay kaya ayaw na po ng mga karne ngayon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm a vegetarian, and I really love eating vegetables even if it's every day. I'd rather choose vegetables over meats.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

isn't hard or tempting to eat meat? i think it's hard to resist the smell and urge.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't why also, I'm not tempted to eat meat over vegetables. I'm into vegetables always.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I grew up eating vegetables and I prefer it over any kind of meat

$ 0.00
1 year ago

that's awesome! what specific kind of dish you like the most for vegetables po?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am okay with any veggies

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm, I can be a vegetarian for 2 days but not for long. I love eating meat, hehe. I am also building muscles so that is why high intake of protein.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

that's true. it's hard not too meat especially if its have a good cook. hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've been a vegetarian for two years but there was a time when my family had a lot of special occasions, I was tempted to eat lechon, so my goal was break, and now I'm back to eating meat. But, when I choose to eat veges only, my health is better than having meat on my diet.

My kids didn't like to eat vegetables, that's why it takes time to cook two dishes every meal.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

when we eat too much veges and fruits, it creates more fats than meat. thus, veges have poor protein.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay Ganon ba, so we really need balance diet rather than skipping the other food groups.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha.. Akala mo talaga, makakapag vegans ka eh. Nako po, sa bahay nga hindi ka makakain ng mga gulay. Asus! Whaahah.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

lutong ampalaya naman kasi na may itlog ang pagkain ng araw na yon. hindi naman ako nakain ng ampalaya eh. hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's been a long time since I didn't eat meat not because I don't like it but because I am here in the middle east country. I only eat vegetables and sometimes Chicken nuggets.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

is meat not popular there? i think only turkey right?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love vegetable so much and I eat it a lot but that doesn't prevent me from eating meat and fish. To be honest, if I'm given vegetable and meat to choose, I'd choose meat. Meat is sweeter 😋

$ 0.00
1 year ago

me too. i love meat fish. but we still have to eat vegetables as part of our daily routine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago