The bird who can't fly

34 54
Avatar for DennMarc
2 years ago

The world's creation is indeed fantastic and amusing. There are varieties of species in animal kingdom, plants and flowers, humans and elements. Aside from this astonishing creations, we see ourselves the dominator of this world. As I thoroughly researching about my topic for today. I accidently clicked my saved videos on Facebook. In fact, I have saved many of movie links and posts. As I scrolled up and down, I saw an intersting video that it's worth to share.

This article is about a bird who can't fly. It cannot fly not because it doesn't have wings, it has two wings like other birds. It is also colorful and not defected. This bird is so fantastic. I know some of you have this bird in the same species. As I watched the whole video, I wonder how it survive in the land if it's not flying? We know that birds can easily be hunted because they are prey. Prey that can be eaten by snakes, owls, eagles, fox, and other predator known in the wild.

Let me introduce you the bird who can't fly even it has wings. This bird is what we called Kakapos. Kakapos are the world's only flightless parrots in the world. They cannot fly. Why? It is because their feather are so soft unlike other birds that is stiff and strong which cannot support them to fly. Basically, Kakapos only used their wings to balance and to support rather than to flap it. Kákápō means night parrot. Meaning they only go outside their nest at night. They are so prone to be hunted during daylight since they cannot run and fly.

Courtesy: wired.com

The latin name of Kakapos is Strigops Habroptilus meaning owl-face feather. Since this bird is so unique. They are not only in danger because of predators, but for humans as well. Many people are so interested in this bird and they hunt it. In fact, some of the island in New Zealand eat these birds. These birds can only be found in New Zealand alone. You cannot find these birds in any country at all. New Zealand declared these birds to be "national critical". Meaning they are endangered species. In fact, there are only 199 Kakapos who lived today.

Unlike other birds, Kakapos has high egg infertility. Meaning, 40% of their eggs are infertile and cannot be hatched. This is one of the causes why their number decreased significantly over the years. In 1990, New Zealand started the project called Kakapo Recovery Programs which aims to protect, preserve and prolong the lives of Kakapos. Surprisingly, they are one of the world's longest-living birds that can have a lifespan of 90 to 100 years.

So if they have that long lifespan why they are so few? In fact, in 1990's the predatory animals were introduced in New Zealand. Since their number is few, it became fewer because they are hunted by cats, rats and stoats. In 1995, there are only 51 Kakapos left known. Imagine that small number of these birds and in addition, there are 40% egg infertility as well. This means that their species are struggling in the wild. Thankfully, the New Zealand government started to take care and protect them.

We can see the huge difference of their number from 51 to 199 today. Although it is a small number, but gradually they are recovering. We cannot blame the predators since that is their nature. Animals in the wild needs to hunt to live. But unfortunately, for Kakapos who cannot fly is one of best meal and easiest target for them. Truly a sad definition of prey and predator cycle.

Courtesy: nature.com

One of the amazing fact that I was surprised to know about Kakapos is that they smell sweet like honey. Yes, this is a unique characteristic of this bird and they use it to recognize their kind. I wonder what they really are when you hold them. Based on the videos I watched, their feathers are so soft and I think that's the best nest for the new birds. Additionally, Kakapos are the world's heaviest parrots with 25 inches height and 90 pounds in weight.

I can concur that sometimes although we are all humans, but there will be a unique characteristic that can only be found in you. Kakapos are in great danger, but thanks for the help of good-hearted people who shared their kindness to these birds. I want you to love your pets dearly. They may be a dog, cat, bird, and rabbit. They still deserved to be loved and cared by you. Remember the first day you have and them. The unconditional smile and care you exert to them. Always remember that and above all, don't hurt them without a reason.

Thank you for reading!

I will renew my sponsorship later. 
Thus, I will sponsor new users as
Well. Thanks so much! 

15
$ 5.45
$ 5.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @MichaelBCH
$ 0.04 from @Ellawrites
+ 6
Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DennMarc
2 years ago

Comments

I really don't had any idea about this topic.But after read your article I know about it enough. Thanks for writing about this dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well that's my job. My job is to write something purposeful and educational so that it will be worth to read..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Medyo unfair lang sa kanila no na di sila nakaka lipad. Para san pa yang wings nila. 🤔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup. Its quite unfair sakanila ate pero that's how they made for. Like us, although some of us have ears but cannot hear, have eyes but cannot see, have mouth but cannot speak.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's totally right 🤔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sincerely I'm just learning about this, I never knew birds that don't fly existed. I was about asking where they stayed until I read on and saw that they only exist in New Zealand. Thank God for the government over there; preserving the lives of the kakapos. I learnt this today, yeeeey 💃💃

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you learn something from my article today. I really appreciated you and others who left a good comment. Anyway, Kakapos are increasing in number today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This my first time to hear that kind of bird that can't fly. It's just sad to know how few are them today because of natural cycle, plus some people hunt them pa. I just hope that New Zealand government will still protect and preserve their kind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah they are. Like Philippine Eagle which endangered as well and there are about 700 left. Wellwe cannot blame the ecosystem since that's how they are made.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang green talaga ng utak ko. Pagkabasa ko ng title natawa ko 🤣

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Ayy haha. Hindi ko yon naisip ate. Ikaw ha. Hindi talaga yon nakakalipad eh.. Charr.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never pa ko nakakita nito akala ko kasing laki lang talaga ng parrot. Akala ko nga owl eh based sa defenition mo na parnag night birds pala sila. Pero don sa last pic parang kasing laki na din ng manok ah.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Almost 8 times size sila ng ordinary parrot na nakikita dito sa pinas ate. Yup ate kasing height lang ng manok. Haha. Ang laki talaga nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

grabe no now lang talaga ako nakakita nyan di pa sa personal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's my first time to hear this one Marc. Thank you for this information. May natutunan na naman ako sa araw na to. Another na naman. First time ko marinig yung Kakapos and most especially they can't fly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Something worth to remember noh ate? I like this bird a lot although it's becoming extinct. They are such an inspiration in terms of incapability.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some people can be likened to kakapus.. They have wings but they can't fly. Like humans, they also have limitations.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have limitations indeed. But there are some impossible things we can do. Only our body has limitation, but our action doesn't.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would relate this bird into human, as what above stated this animal belongs to bird but it cannot fly as like bird, so means we as human even we are the same human it doesn't mean we have the same ability too. We have different characteristics and has a unique talents too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's awesome! That is why we should not envy and get jealous to others. We are keep learning and developing. What a great reflection ate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truee. We should embrace of our ability.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really looks like an owl. Birds are good pets. They can also be our friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. They are very similar. There are many beautiful birds we can found and tame.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought only the angry birds can't fly 😅Just kidding ,anyway thank you for this information ,its my first time to hear this about some birds.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. You made me laugh ate. Angry birds can't fly because they are heavy and circle. Hehe. Anways, I'm glad you appreciated this ate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Big bird can't fly too😂 by the way thanks for this informative article about kakapos. I wish they can stay on earth a lot longer so the new generation can still see them, even I myself haven't encountered them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ate. This is one of a kind. There are big birds that can fly like eagles. But this one has soft wings. Mas soft pa sa chicken wings haha. I would love to see this in person. I bet that's a fantastic experience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am talking about big bird sa sesame street. Naku mukhang di mo naabutan panahon pa kasi ni kupong kupong yun hahaha! Yeah I have seen an eagle sa QC wildlife and ang laki nya talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's bird seems to be interesting , This very informative content thanks for sharing about that thoughts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. If you look closely to Kakapos. It looked like an owl, but it's not. Thanks so much that you find this article informative.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, This is quite astounding, I have never heard of birds that can't fly. I guess, Kakapos is one of a kind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed. When I learned about them. I was astonished and surprised. The world's creation is indeed great and many things are kept hidden from us such as this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That bird was beautiful, and I learned so much about that bird friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oho, thanks so much. Yeah, I agree that this bird is truly beautiful. Actually I like its color. Plus, it's quite big and heavy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago